Authors and Illustrators

My Busy Kitchen: Alex Hollywood’s Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle recipe

At the Book People, we’re not shy of indulging our sweet tooth from time to time and what better way to prepare for the choco-licious Easter weekend than with a scrumptiously chocolate dessert…

One of our best new baking books is My Busy Kitchen from Alex Hollywood – the wife of Great British Bake Off judge Paul – and in it she has recipes for all sorts of sweet treats inspired by her multi-cultural upbringing. Below you can find out how to make her Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle. Trust us when we say it’s delicious…

Available for just £6.99 (saving £18 off the RRP) from the Book People, you’ll find this alongside many other sumptuous recipes in the book. It’s sure to be a hit!

With thanks to Hodder.

Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle

Alex Hollywood recipe

Serves 6

  • 2 x 100g bars Green & Blacks ginger chocolate
  • 350ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt
  • 400g mascarpone cheese
  • 1 quantity of brownies, broken into bite-sized chunks
  • 1–2 tbsp ginger wine
  • 250g fresh blackberries
  • 50g good-quality dark chocolate (80% cocoa solids)
  • 50g toasted flaked almonds

 

Melt the ginger chocolate in a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of boiling water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water), then set aside to cool slightly.

Whip the cream into soft peaks, then fold in the yoghurt.

Beat the mascarpone into the cooled melted chocolate.

Arrange half the brownies in the bottom of a pretty bowl or glass jug. Sprinkle with a little of the ginger wine, then layer half the blackberries, half the chocolate mixture and half the cream on top.

Repeat these layers and use the back of a spoon to ‘peak up’ the top layer of cream.

Grate the dark chocolate over the surface and sprinkle with the almonds. Keep chilled until serving.


Veronica Roth’s Insurgent – just £3.99 from the Book People

Veronica Roth’s Divergent series has taken the young adult fiction world by storm over the last few years. The first instalment – Divergent – was adapted into a smash-hit Hollywood film in 2014 and the follow-up, Insurgent, had its premiere in London last week and is set to hit cinemas this Friday. With the arrival of the Hollywood adaptation imminent, now could be the perfect time to get stuck into the book that inspired it – which you can pick up right here at the Book People.

Priced at just £3.99 – a £4 saving on the recommended retail price – from the Book People, Insurgent picks up the story shortly after the events that took place in Divergent. Set three days after the previous instalment, Insurgent follows Beatrice ‘Tris’ Prior and Tobias ‘Four’ Eaton as they try to evade the hostile takeover of Jeanine and Erudite. The dystopian Chicago in which the story is set has seen the fragile balance of power between its competing factions collapse, forcing the various groups into open confrontation with one another.

This dark slice of teen fiction – sure to appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Blood Red Road and The 5th Wave – also finds Tris faced with the prospect difficult choices and painful sacrifices as she tries to make sense of the bleak world around her.

Insurgent book

Author Veronica Roth was previously shortlisted for the Book People’s Queen of Teen award, and this second instalment in the Insurgent series is sure to enthral younger readers. So why not grab a copy and get acquainted with the story in anticipation of the film?


Buy the Still Alice book for just £2.99!

Julianne Moore won the Best Actress Oscar and the Best Actress in a Leading Role BAFTA for her central performance in the poignant and heartbreaking Still Alice – and now movie-goers across the UK will be able to see why with its recent cinema release. The harrowing tale of a Harvard psychology professor who starts to suffer from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, it’s a poignant and powerful watch about an important subject.

Co-starring Twilight’s Kristen Stewart and Alec Baldwin (Beetlejuice, 30 Rock), the film is based on a hugely popular bestselling novel by Lisa Genova. Alice Howland had it all – she was successful, intelligent and surrounded by a loving family… But then she starts to feel disorientated and after putting off a visit to the doctors for as long as she can, she receives a horrifying diagnosis. One that not only drastically changes her life, but all those around her as well. As Alice’s illness deteriorates, it becomes ever clearer what a remarkable person she is – and always will be…

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and John Green will all want to read Still Alice. It’s a heart-wrenching account of the suffering, pain and pride that a family feel when they try to hold onto someone they dearly love.

You can buy Still Alice from the Book People for just £2.99.


Top 10 YA must-reads and YA fiction quiz!

How well do you know YA fiction? Check out our must-read YA books video and try your hand at our YA books quiz to test your YA book knowledge and see how much you know about teen fiction books.



Academy Awards 2015: Oscar-winning films based on books

The results are in – did your favourite win?

The most glamorous night on the Hollywood calendar, the Oscars ceremony is where the A-list stars of the silver screen gather to pay homage to the best films of the year. But this year, especially, we have noticed that some of the most prized, acclaimed and loved movies of 2015 are based on books. In this blog post we’re going to look at the winners at the 2015 Academy Awards – but we’re going to focus on the literary-inspired winners because, naturally, those are our favourites. We’d highly recommend you read the books!!!

Best Actor – Eddie Redmayne as Stephen Hawking in The Theory of Everything
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Actress (Felicity Jones as Jane Hawking), Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Original Score
Based on the book Travelling to Infinity by Jane Hawking

The Theory of Everything Oscar

Best Actress – Julianne Moore as Alice Howland in Still Alice
Based on the book Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still Alice Oscar

Best Adapted Screenplay – The Imitation Game
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Director (Morten Tyldum), Best Actor (Benedict Cumberbatch as Alan Turing), Best Actress (Keira Knightley as Joan Clarke), Best Film Editing, Best Original Score and Best Production Design
Based on the book Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges

The Imitation Game Oscar

Best Costume Design – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Film Editing, Best Make-Up & Hairstyling, Best Original Score and Best Production Design
Based on the writings of Stefan Zweig

Grand Budapest Hotel Oscar

Best Sound Editing – American Sniper
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Actor (Bradley Cooper as Chris Kyle), Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Film Editing and Best Sound Mixing
Based on the book American Sniper by Chris Kyle

American Sniper Oscar

Those who missed out

Lest we forget honourable mentions for the other great films that were inspired by books at the 2015 Oscars; there were some real doozies!

Best Actress Nominee – Rosamund Pike as Amy Dunne in Gone Girl
Based on the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Best Actress Nominee – Reese Witherspoon as Cheryl Strayed in Wild
Also nominated for: Best Supporting Actress (Laura Dern as Bobbi Strayed)
Based on the book Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Best Director Nominee – Bennett Miller for Foxcatcher
Also nominated for: Best Supporting Actor (Mark Ruffalo as Dave Schultz), Best Actor (Steve Carrell as John du Pont), Best Original Screenplay and Best Make-Up & Hairstyling
Based on the book Foxcatcher by Mark Schultz

Best Cinematography Nominee – Unbroken
Also nominated for: Best Sound Editing and Best Sound Mixing
Based on the book Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

You can find a host more movie, film, TV, DVD and Blu-ray reviews at www.mrpopcornmovies.com.


Copyright © 2013 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.
iDream theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress