Authors and Illustrators

The Book People’s latest Debut Fiction Choice: Seni Glaister – The Museum of Things Left Behind

We’ve always supported debut authors here at the Book People so we’re delighted to bring you the first book from a very special new author –our very own CEO, Seni Glaister.

Submitted anonymously to publisher Fourth Estate and already praised by Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction-nominated author Laline Paull, The Museum of Things Left Behind is a cleverly constructed novel about life in the idyllic European country of Vallerosa.

Seemingly perfect on the outside, cracks are starting to show in the country’s exterior as politics and policies begin to take on more of an influence… However, an unlikely visitor is set to arrive and could provide the Vallerosian people with the change they desire. There is also a hostile group of Americans who realise the country may well be the perfect holiday destination and they’re making plans of their own…

Full of wit and charm – in a style that recalls The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, A Man Called Over or a Wes Anderson film – this beautifully written book covers the issues that affect us all, from politics to religion and economics to the value of a good cup of tea…

Buy the hardback edition from the Book People for just £5.99 – saving £7 off the RRP.


My Busy Kitchen: Alex Hollywood’s Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle recipe

At the Book People, we’re not shy of indulging our sweet tooth from time to time and what better way to prepare for the choco-licious Easter weekend than with a scrumptiously chocolate dessert…

One of our best new baking books is My Busy Kitchen from Alex Hollywood – the wife of Great British Bake Off judge Paul – and in it she has recipes for all sorts of sweet treats inspired by her multi-cultural upbringing. Below you can find out how to make her Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle. Trust us when we say it’s delicious…

Available for just £6.99 (saving £18 off the RRP) from the Book People, you’ll find this alongside many other sumptuous recipes in the book. It’s sure to be a hit!

With thanks to Hodder.

Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle

Alex Hollywood recipe

Serves 6

  • 2 x 100g bars Green & Blacks ginger chocolate
  • 350ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt
  • 400g mascarpone cheese
  • 1 quantity of brownies, broken into bite-sized chunks
  • 1–2 tbsp ginger wine
  • 250g fresh blackberries
  • 50g good-quality dark chocolate (80% cocoa solids)
  • 50g toasted flaked almonds

 

Melt the ginger chocolate in a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of boiling water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water), then set aside to cool slightly.

Whip the cream into soft peaks, then fold in the yoghurt.

Beat the mascarpone into the cooled melted chocolate.

Arrange half the brownies in the bottom of a pretty bowl or glass jug. Sprinkle with a little of the ginger wine, then layer half the blackberries, half the chocolate mixture and half the cream on top.

Repeat these layers and use the back of a spoon to ‘peak up’ the top layer of cream.

Grate the dark chocolate over the surface and sprinkle with the almonds. Keep chilled until serving.


Veronica Roth’s Insurgent – just £3.99 from the Book People

Veronica Roth’s Divergent series has taken the young adult fiction world by storm over the last few years. The first instalment – Divergent – was adapted into a smash-hit Hollywood film in 2014 and the follow-up, Insurgent, had its premiere in London last week and is set to hit cinemas this Friday. With the arrival of the Hollywood adaptation imminent, now could be the perfect time to get stuck into the book that inspired it – which you can pick up right here at the Book People.

Priced at just £3.99 – a £4 saving on the recommended retail price – from the Book People, Insurgent picks up the story shortly after the events that took place in Divergent. Set three days after the previous instalment, Insurgent follows Beatrice ‘Tris’ Prior and Tobias ‘Four’ Eaton as they try to evade the hostile takeover of Jeanine and Erudite. The dystopian Chicago in which the story is set has seen the fragile balance of power between its competing factions collapse, forcing the various groups into open confrontation with one another.

This dark slice of teen fiction – sure to appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Blood Red Road and The 5th Wave – also finds Tris faced with the prospect difficult choices and painful sacrifices as she tries to make sense of the bleak world around her.

Insurgent book

Author Veronica Roth was previously shortlisted for the Book People’s Queen of Teen award, and this second instalment in the Insurgent series is sure to enthral younger readers. So why not grab a copy and get acquainted with the story in anticipation of the film?


Buy the Still Alice book for just £2.99!

Julianne Moore won the Best Actress Oscar and the Best Actress in a Leading Role BAFTA for her central performance in the poignant and heartbreaking Still Alice – and now movie-goers across the UK will be able to see why with its recent cinema release. The harrowing tale of a Harvard psychology professor who starts to suffer from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, it’s a poignant and powerful watch about an important subject.

Co-starring Twilight’s Kristen Stewart and Alec Baldwin (Beetlejuice, 30 Rock), the film is based on a hugely popular bestselling novel by Lisa Genova. Alice Howland had it all – she was successful, intelligent and surrounded by a loving family… But then she starts to feel disorientated and after putting off a visit to the doctors for as long as she can, she receives a horrifying diagnosis. One that not only drastically changes her life, but all those around her as well. As Alice’s illness deteriorates, it becomes ever clearer what a remarkable person she is – and always will be…

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and John Green will all want to read Still Alice. It’s a heart-wrenching account of the suffering, pain and pride that a family feel when they try to hold onto someone they dearly love.

You can buy Still Alice from the Book People for just £2.99.


Top 10 YA must-reads and YA fiction quiz!

How well do you know YA fiction? Check out our must-read YA books video and try your hand at our YA books quiz to test your YA book knowledge and see how much you know about teen fiction books.



  • Recent Comments

  • Copyright © 2013 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.
    iDream theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress