Authors and Illustrators

Super books starring Comic Book Superheroes!

For many comic book fans, excitement is gathering around the next release from the Marvel Cinematic Universe – Guardians of the Galaxy, which will be in cinemas from 31 July. Starring Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Glenn Close in her first ever superhero movie and the voices of Vin Diesel as a sapling alien tree that can only speak three words – ‘I am Groot’ – and Bradley Cooper as the pyrotechnic loving Rocket Raccoon, it’s sure to be different and has already been touted as the true heir to Star Wars’ crown as the ultimate space opera – but with plenty of humour as well.

Ever since the Golden Age of Comics in the 1940s, when the ever-youthful Stan Lee first brought superheroes like Captain America, The Destroyer and Jack Frost to the pages of Marvel Comics, superheroes have been popular with all ages. At the Book People, we’re huge fans too and have books featuring all your favourite Marvel and DC characters – from the Avengers like Iron Man and the Incredible Hulk to the world-renowned Superman and Batman. From the screenplays of Christopher Nolan’s trilogy (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises) to sticker and activity books, there really is something for every age.

Our eight-book Marvel Sticker Book Collection contains over 490 stickers to stick throughout the pages, with four of the books focusing on Thor, Hawkeye and friends, while four of them cover your friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man. Fans of Superman and Batman need not worry either, the eight-book DC Comics Sticker Collection has lots of familiar faces and foes from Metropolis and Gotham City. We also have a two-book set dedicated solely to the Man of Steel, a character so memorably brought to life by Christopher Reeve and Henry Cavill in big-screen outings.

Superheroes are the ideal characters to present awesome activities and keep your children happily busy and occupied over the summer holidays. The Marvel Activity Collection has scenes to colour in and plenty of stickers starring Spider-Man and various Avengers, while the Superfriends Bumper Action Activities book is aimed at a slightly younger audience who still love Batman, Superman, the Flash and the Green Lantern. Child-friendly illustrations accompany the fun mazes, puzzles, colouring-in activities and more, while the bold text is also appealing.

For those who want a more in-depth look at their heroes, Batman: The World of the Dark Knight is an informative hardback which follows the origins of Bruce Wayne as he developed his vigilante alter-ego. It even covers his enemies including the Joker, Two-Face and Bane. From the first time Peter Parker was bitten by a radioactive spider to his development into Spider-Man and the friends, loves and foes he has met along the way, Spider-Man: Inside the World of your Friendly Neighbourhood Hero tells you everything you need to know about New York City’s most famous red-and-blue costumed superhero!


#SummerReads with the Book People: the books to read this summer (part VII)

“What books should I read?” we hear you cry! At the Book People we are passionate about reading and we want to help you find your perfect book for summer, so we’re back with part VII of our #SummerReads book reviews and recommendations. Whether you’re looking for the best books to take on holiday, the best books to take to the beach, the newest bestselling titles, classic fiction, summer cookery books, or even if you’re looking for children’s activity books for the summer, the staff at the Book People have picked out books to read for the sunny summer months so that you can create your own 2014 summer book list.

Summer Reads | The Book People

Claire, the Book People’s Online Acquisition Manager, has chosen the Book People’s Jo Nesbo Collection as her #SummerReads book recommendation. Read on to find out more about Claire’s reasons for choosing the Jo Nesbo Collection as one of her book recommendations for summer:

“Clever, thrilling and just the right side of terrifying, the Jo Nesbo Collection brings together some of his most fantastic titles. 
I read both Nemesis and The Snowman whilst on a holiday to Dubai earlier this year, and although I couldn’t have been further from the chilly Nordic backdrops of these crime novels I was completely engrossed from page one.

If you’re bored of the average crime-thriller protagonist, then Detective Harry Hole (pronounced Hoola) is a wonderfully maverick anti-hero whose personal life is just as captivating as the dark crimes he sets out to investigate. I cannot recommend this book collection enough!

There is nothing quite like an affirming book recommendation from someone who has read and fallen in love with a fantastic story, craft or recipe book. So, if you have any recommended recipe books which you would like to suggest as one of the best books to read this summer to fellow bookworms, why not take your own #BookShelfie and post it on InstagramTwitter or Facebook? Together we can create an online book club where people all over the world can share their own personal book reviews.

Or if you’re not into the whole social media thing, take a peak at the books our Summer Reads category on the Book People’s new website. You’re sure to find some fantastic books to read in summer 2014.


#SummerReads with the Book People: the books to read this summer (part VI)

At the Book People we are passionate about books and we want to help you find your perfect book for summer, so here we are with part VI of our summer book recommendations for you. Whether you’re looking for the best books to take on holiday, the best books to take to the beach, the newest bestselling titles, classic fiction, summer cookery books, or even if you’re looking for children’s activity books for the summer, the staff at the Book People have picked out books to read for the summer months that lie ahead so that you can create your own summer book list.

Summer Reads | The Book People

Oliver, the Book People’s Online Marketing Videographer, has chosen A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth L. Ozeki as his #SummerReads book recommendation. Read on to find out more about Oliver’s reasons for choosing A Tale for the Time Being as one of his book recommendations for summer:

“The book opens with a novelist discovering a collection of old letters from a teenage girl’s diary washed up on the beach. We learn about her cruel bullying at the hands of her classmates at a school in Tokyo. However, her great-grandmother (a Buddhist nun) offers her a great deal of help, advise and support. The novelist desperately attempts to solve the mystery of where the letters came from and whether she has the power to change the girl’s tragic fate. This book is so well written and completely original. The use of letters and diary entries gives you a highly personal insight into the life of this teenage girl. Definitely one for your suitcase!”

There is nothing quite like an affirming book recommendation from someone who has read and loved a fantastic story. So, if you have any recommended books which you would like to suggest as one of the best books to read this summer to fellow bookworms, why not take your own #BookShelfie and post it on InstagramTwitter or Facebook? Together we can create an online book club where people all over the world can share their own personal book reviews. “What books should I read?” we hear you cry – well, not any more!!!

Or if you’re not into the whole social media thing, take a peak at the books our Summer Reads category on the Book People’s new website. You’re sure to find some fantastic books to read in summer 2014.


Winner of Queen of Teen 2014 – James Dawson

Now the dust has settled, the pink champagne drunk, the pink nibbles eaten, the Book People are delighted to be able to join the legions of fans, publishing professionals and young adult authors in celebrating the reign of newly crowned Queen of Teen 2014James Dawson, the award’s first male winner (or #BoyQueen on Twitter).

James Dawson - Queen of Teen 2014 | The Book People

Part of a hugely talented group of very high profile YA authors (and slightly intimidating competition, I’m sure you’d agree!), in James Dawson Queen of Teen certainly has a worthy award winner and reputable advocate for teenage readers, teen writing and UK-based children’s authors.

With stiff competition for the award including S. C. Ransom, Beth Reekles, Holly Smale, John Green, Cathy Cassidy, Tonya Hurley, Cassandra Clare, Natasha Farrant and Veronica Roth standing in his way, teen fiction fans voted in their thousands to ensure the Hollow Pike, Cruel Summer and Say Her Name author could take his rightful place on the Queen of Teen throne. With the huge success of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska in recent years – we’ll be honest – we thought this year’s award was John Green’s for the taking. The fact that the 2014 award has gone to James Dawson is not only testament to James’s talent as an author of teen thrillers, but the loyalty and hard work of his dedicated fans!

In recent years teen books have had a resurgence, with a number adapted (or currently being adapted) into very successful YA films including Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games, The Giver by Lois Lowry and Queen of Teen nominee Veronica Roth’s Divergent. The success of these films has paved the way for an insurgence of interest in the gifted writing talent represented at this year’s Queen of Teen award. Teens, now more than ever, are engrossed and engaged by the magic of books: the stories they tell, the immersive worlds they create, the characters they introduce and the teen issues these characters confront and address.

And long may it continue!

If you weren’t fortunate enough to attend the Queen of Teen coronation ceremony this year, take a look at the glamorous photos on the Book People Facebook page or watch the video highlights of the event on the Book People YouTube channel.

Hail to the Queen!


The Catteshall Stroll 2014 raises money for Shooting Star Chase

The publishing world came together in the beautiful surroundings of the Book People Manor and the Surrey Hills on Saturday 5 July for the fifth annual Peter Bowron Catteshall Stroll, in aid of the children’s hospice charity Shooting Star Chase. With a walk of either 11 miles or a family stroll of 3 miles, fundraisers had the chance to get some exercise, enjoy some gorgeous views and raise money for a brilliant and important cause.

Catteshall Stroll

After the walk, teams from many different publishers and the Book People were encouraged to take part in the Catteshall Games, with canoeing (won by the Book People for the third year running…), zorbing, inflatable Gladiator-style games and a quiz all taking place. While the Games were in full swing, there was plenty of delicious food to indulge in including pizza, paella and a hog roast, while the cake tent was also busy, with hand-made treats raising plenty of money for the hospice. The Great British Bake Off’s Frances Quinn even delivered an icing master class!

A raffle took place with many one-of-a-kind prizes up for grabs and there was also fun to be had with arts, crafts and LEGO, meaning the entire family were kept entertained. There were also some very special surprise guests in the form of Peppa Pig and the Gruffalo, both of whom were happy to pose for photos with happy children (and parents) throughout the day…

Peppa Pig Catteshall Stroll

A fun day in aid of a worthy cause, the Catteshall Stroll 2014 once again raised thousands of pounds for Shooting Star Chase. To make a donation, please visit www.catteshallstroll.co.uk


Copyright © 2013 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.
iDream theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress