New Titles

Star Wars: The Force Awakens trailer unveiled – buy Star Wars books!

‘Chewie, we’re home…’

Three simple words that have had Star Wars fans beaming from ear to ear after the release of the trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Pefectly capturing the look, style and essence of the original trilogy, the trailer took many back to their childhoods and also gave glimpses of what we can expect when the biggest film of the year is released around Christmas time.

However, with eight months to wait many will be rewatching the first six films (and some children watching them for the first time) and will need some accompanying reading material – or fun-filled activity books from a galaxy far, far away – that’s where the Book People comes in… Our range of Star Wars books is second to none. Whether you love the LEGO Star Wars Minifigures or have a young reader eager to learn the way of the Jedi, we have the right book – or collection!

With eight sticker books for just £7.99 (that’s £1 a book), the Star Wars Sticker Collection reveals all about the previous battles between the Jedis and the Sith. With all the characters we’ve come to love – including those from the Clone Wars – it’s a great set to give out at any Star Wars-themed parties that may be coming up.

We also have a Star Wars Reader Collection for sale at just £14.99. A massive 20 books, it’s designed in a way so that children as young as 5 can start learning all about life on Tattooine and the Millennium Falcon and then as their reading skills progress find out more about the more complex side of the Star Wars universe.

Among our LEGO Star Wars books are ones focusing on the Jedi master Yoda, an extensive Character Encyclopedia and a Visual Dictionary – and they all come with a free exclusive Minifigure, ranging from Luke Skywalker to Han Solo and a Stormtrooper!

Our videographer has also created his very own Star Wars spoof video. Tying in with our amazing R2-D2’s Droid Workshop: Make Your Own R2-D2 book and May the Fourth Be with You, it follows R2-D2 in his everyday life and the poor droid is feeling a little lonely (just where is C-3PO?)… As he goes about his morning routine, he heads into town and finds a bookshop – could he have found his soulmate in there?


Adult colouring books – the new craze for grown-ups!

The latest craze is here – and it’s not a playground one this time around. Colouring books for adults are becoming ever more popular and are appearing near the top of the book charts (and the Book People’s very own bestsellers). A great way to unwind and relax either at the end of a busy working day or on a day off, the trend has got adults all over the country colouring in.

Not only does colouring in put your mind at ease, it’s also a great way for you to sharpen up your cognitive development skills – and of course, there’s the sense of pride you’ll feel once finishing filling in your masterpiece. The Book People has an exciting selection of colouring books for grown-ups that can be complemented by our books about drawing (Draw People in 15 Minutes, Draw Cats in 15 Minutes, A Short Book About Drawing), exciting giant dot-to-dot books (The 1000 Dot-to-Dot Book: Animals, The 1000 Dot-to-Dot Book) and painting.

Millie Marotta’s Animal Kingdom is full of distinctive pictures of wildlife that are just waiting for your personal touch and a burst of colour and imagination, while Art Therapy: An Anti-stress Colouring Book is full of sophisticated pictures that will help you keep your fine motor skills up to scratch. We also have a two-book collection available for just £4.99 that gives adults the chance to colour in everything from patterns and swirls to geometric patterns – and they’re the right size to fit in your handbag or rucksack, too!

If you’re looking for a colouring book to help you get away from the stress of it all, make sure www.thebookpeople.co.uk is the first place you visit!


Alex Hollywood’s recipe for Best-ever Brownies from My Busy Kitchen

Many of you told us just how much you were enjoying the Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Recipe we posted from Alex Hollywood’s My Busy Kitchen earlier this week and now we have another delicious treat from the wife of Great British Bake Off judge Paul Hollywood – her Best-ever Brownies.

Rich in irresistible dark chocolate, they’re absolutely divine and will delight any chocoholic. You can find this recipe – and many, many more – in My Busy Kitchen, which is available from us for just £6.99 (a saving of £18 off the RRP).

With thanks to Hodder

 Best-ever Brownies recipes

Alex Hollywood recipe

Makes approximately 24

 

  • 100g unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 150g dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids)
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 75g light muscovado sugar
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100g plain flour
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • ½ tsp baking powder

Preheat the oven to 180ºC/Gas mark 4. Butter a shallow 20cm x 28cm brownie tin and line it with greaseproof paper.

Put the butter, chocolate, both sugars and the syrup into a saucepan and heat gently until blended. Set aside to cool.

Put the eggs and vanilla into a bowl and beat together until frothy. Gently whisk in the cooled chocolate mixture.

Sift the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder into the chocolate mixture and fold together very gently until well combined.

Pour the batter into the prepared tin and bake for 20–25 minutes, until it looks browned and starts to come away from the sides of the tin.

Allow to cool, then turn out and cut into small squares – trying your best not to eat the whole lot in one go!


My Busy Kitchen: Alex Hollywood’s Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle recipe

At the Book People, we’re not shy of indulging our sweet tooth from time to time and what better way to prepare for the choco-licious Easter weekend than with a scrumptiously chocolate dessert…

One of our best new baking books is My Busy Kitchen from Alex Hollywood – the wife of Great British Bake Off judge Paul – and in it she has recipes for all sorts of sweet treats inspired by her multi-cultural upbringing. Below you can find out how to make her Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle. Trust us when we say it’s delicious…

Available for just £6.99 (saving £18 off the RRP) from the Book People, you’ll find this alongside many other sumptuous recipes in the book. It’s sure to be a hit!

With thanks to Hodder.

Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle

Alex Hollywood recipe

Serves 6

  • 2 x 100g bars Green & Blacks ginger chocolate
  • 350ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt
  • 400g mascarpone cheese
  • 1 quantity of brownies, broken into bite-sized chunks
  • 1–2 tbsp ginger wine
  • 250g fresh blackberries
  • 50g good-quality dark chocolate (80% cocoa solids)
  • 50g toasted flaked almonds

 

Melt the ginger chocolate in a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of boiling water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water), then set aside to cool slightly.

Whip the cream into soft peaks, then fold in the yoghurt.

Beat the mascarpone into the cooled melted chocolate.

Arrange half the brownies in the bottom of a pretty bowl or glass jug. Sprinkle with a little of the ginger wine, then layer half the blackberries, half the chocolate mixture and half the cream on top.

Repeat these layers and use the back of a spoon to ‘peak up’ the top layer of cream.

Grate the dark chocolate over the surface and sprinkle with the almonds. Keep chilled until serving.


Buy the Still Alice book for just £2.99!

Julianne Moore won the Best Actress Oscar and the Best Actress in a Leading Role BAFTA for her central performance in the poignant and heartbreaking Still Alice – and now movie-goers across the UK will be able to see why with its recent cinema release. The harrowing tale of a Harvard psychology professor who starts to suffer from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, it’s a poignant and powerful watch about an important subject.

Co-starring Twilight’s Kristen Stewart and Alec Baldwin (Beetlejuice, 30 Rock), the film is based on a hugely popular bestselling novel by Lisa Genova. Alice Howland had it all – she was successful, intelligent and surrounded by a loving family… But then she starts to feel disorientated and after putting off a visit to the doctors for as long as she can, she receives a horrifying diagnosis. One that not only drastically changes her life, but all those around her as well. As Alice’s illness deteriorates, it becomes ever clearer what a remarkable person she is – and always will be…

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and John Green will all want to read Still Alice. It’s a heart-wrenching account of the suffering, pain and pride that a family feel when they try to hold onto someone they dearly love.

You can buy Still Alice from the Book People for just £2.99.


  • Recent Comments

  • Copyright © 2013 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.
    iDream theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress