New Titles

My Busy Kitchen: Alex Hollywood’s Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle recipe

At the Book People, we’re not shy of indulging our sweet tooth from time to time and what better way to prepare for the choco-licious Easter weekend than with a scrumptiously chocolate dessert…

One of our best new baking books is My Busy Kitchen from Alex Hollywood – the wife of Great British Bake Off judge Paul – and in it she has recipes for all sorts of sweet treats inspired by her multi-cultural upbringing. Below you can find out how to make her Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle. Trust us when we say it’s delicious…

Available for just £6.99 (saving £18 off the RRP) from the Book People, you’ll find this alongside many other sumptuous recipes in the book. It’s sure to be a hit!

With thanks to Hodder.

Ginger and Blackberry Chocolate Brownie Trifle

Alex Hollywood recipe

Serves 6

  • 2 x 100g bars Green & Blacks ginger chocolate
  • 350ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt
  • 400g mascarpone cheese
  • 1 quantity of brownies, broken into bite-sized chunks
  • 1–2 tbsp ginger wine
  • 250g fresh blackberries
  • 50g good-quality dark chocolate (80% cocoa solids)
  • 50g toasted flaked almonds

 

Melt the ginger chocolate in a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of boiling water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water), then set aside to cool slightly.

Whip the cream into soft peaks, then fold in the yoghurt.

Beat the mascarpone into the cooled melted chocolate.

Arrange half the brownies in the bottom of a pretty bowl or glass jug. Sprinkle with a little of the ginger wine, then layer half the blackberries, half the chocolate mixture and half the cream on top.

Repeat these layers and use the back of a spoon to ‘peak up’ the top layer of cream.

Grate the dark chocolate over the surface and sprinkle with the almonds. Keep chilled until serving.


Buy the Still Alice book for just £2.99!

Julianne Moore won the Best Actress Oscar and the Best Actress in a Leading Role BAFTA for her central performance in the poignant and heartbreaking Still Alice – and now movie-goers across the UK will be able to see why with its recent cinema release. The harrowing tale of a Harvard psychology professor who starts to suffer from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, it’s a poignant and powerful watch about an important subject.

Co-starring Twilight’s Kristen Stewart and Alec Baldwin (Beetlejuice, 30 Rock), the film is based on a hugely popular bestselling novel by Lisa Genova. Alice Howland had it all – she was successful, intelligent and surrounded by a loving family… But then she starts to feel disorientated and after putting off a visit to the doctors for as long as she can, she receives a horrifying diagnosis. One that not only drastically changes her life, but all those around her as well. As Alice’s illness deteriorates, it becomes ever clearer what a remarkable person she is – and always will be…

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and John Green will all want to read Still Alice. It’s a heart-wrenching account of the suffering, pain and pride that a family feel when they try to hold onto someone they dearly love.

You can buy Still Alice from the Book People for just £2.99.


Academy Awards 2015: Oscar-winning films based on books

The results are in – did your favourite win?

The most glamorous night on the Hollywood calendar, the Oscars ceremony is where the A-list stars of the silver screen gather to pay homage to the best films of the year. But this year, especially, we have noticed that some of the most prized, acclaimed and loved movies of 2015 are based on books. In this blog post we’re going to look at the winners at the 2015 Academy Awards – but we’re going to focus on the literary-inspired winners because, naturally, those are our favourites. We’d highly recommend you read the books!!!

Best Actor – Eddie Redmayne as Stephen Hawking in The Theory of Everything
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Actress (Felicity Jones as Jane Hawking), Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Original Score
Based on the book Travelling to Infinity by Jane Hawking

The Theory of Everything Oscar

Best Actress – Julianne Moore as Alice Howland in Still Alice
Based on the book Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still Alice Oscar

Best Adapted Screenplay – The Imitation Game
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Director (Morten Tyldum), Best Actor (Benedict Cumberbatch as Alan Turing), Best Actress (Keira Knightley as Joan Clarke), Best Film Editing, Best Original Score and Best Production Design
Based on the book Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges

The Imitation Game Oscar

Best Costume Design – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Film Editing, Best Make-Up & Hairstyling, Best Original Score and Best Production Design
Based on the writings of Stefan Zweig

Grand Budapest Hotel Oscar

Best Sound Editing – American Sniper
Also nominated for: Best Picture, Best Actor (Bradley Cooper as Chris Kyle), Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Film Editing and Best Sound Mixing
Based on the book American Sniper by Chris Kyle

American Sniper Oscar

Those who missed out

Lest we forget honourable mentions for the other great films that were inspired by books at the 2015 Oscars; there were some real doozies!

Best Actress Nominee – Rosamund Pike as Amy Dunne in Gone Girl
Based on the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Best Actress Nominee – Reese Witherspoon as Cheryl Strayed in Wild
Also nominated for: Best Supporting Actress (Laura Dern as Bobbi Strayed)
Based on the book Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Best Director Nominee – Bennett Miller for Foxcatcher
Also nominated for: Best Supporting Actor (Mark Ruffalo as Dave Schultz), Best Actor (Steve Carrell as John du Pont), Best Original Screenplay and Best Make-Up & Hairstyling
Based on the book Foxcatcher by Mark Schultz

Best Cinematography Nominee – Unbroken
Also nominated for: Best Sound Editing and Best Sound Mixing
Based on the book Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

You can find a host more movie, film, TV, DVD and Blu-ray reviews at www.mrpopcornmovies.com.


The Book People Outlet Store – buy discount books!

The Book People is proud to announce the opening of our Outlet Store – an online shop where you can find brilliant new books at bargain prices. We know our customers love the Book People’s amazing prices and now we’re bringing you even more at clearance prices – meaning you get extra savings on everything from cookbooks to children’s books and biographies, memoirs and first-class fiction. There really is something for everyone.

Buy discount books

With the books at these discount prices, they won’t be around long and stock is limited so place your order today – when it’s gone, it’s gone! Our Outlet Store offers great ideas for you to catch up on a book you have always been meaning to read, perfect party bag ideas and craft books to inspire a new hobby. As well as the Book People’s hand-picked range of books, eBooks and DVDs, our Outlet Store’s cheap books are sure to keep you reading for a long time to come!


Deliciously Ella book – only £7.99 at the Book People!

Ella Woodward cookbook

Ella Woodward has been the food blogger’s name on everyone’s lips over the past year or so. Her website – www.deliciouslyella.com – is packed full of plant-based, dairy-free and gluten-free recipes that simply taste amazing. And now you can have over 100 of her favourite recipes all together in one Deliciously Ella cookbook – a real must-have for all kitchens!

Perfect for those who have given up some of the more fatty foods for Lent, the book will inspire healthy living and a love of natural foods. You’ll soon be feeling the benefits of eating all this better food as part of your diet. With simple, easy-to-find ingredients and step-by-step instructions, you’ll find healthy highlights that can be the showstopper of a dinner party or perfect for a picnic.

Among the best Deliciously Ella recipes found in the book are Mexian Quinoa Bowl, Marinated Kale Salad and a rather tasty Key Lime Pie. You can buy the Deliciously Ella cookbook for just £7.99, saving over £12 on the RRP, from the Book People.


Copyright © 2013 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.
iDream theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress