Classic Fiction Books & Novels | Book People

Fiction

Classic Fiction : 1-15 of 15

Showing 15 items

  • ERNH

    Ernest Hemingway

    • £8.99
    • RRP £64.92
    • Save £55.93
    An influential, Nobel Prize-winning author, we are delighted to offer a fantastic eight-book collection from Ernest Hemingway - which features the much-loved classics For Whom the Bell Tolls and The Old Man and the Sea.

    Surely one of the most popular authors of all time, the books in this collection all have gorgeous vintage-style jackets and will work either as an introduction to Hemingway's writing or as a keepsake for those already familiar.

    A mixture of fiction and non-fiction which is endlessly fascinating, you'll get the chance to read about Hemingway's real-life experiences during the war in the autobiographical A Farewell to Arms, discover Robert Jordan's extraordinary story in the Spanish Civil War-set novel For Whom the Bell Tolls and read his extraordinary, exhaustive account of the Spanish Bullfight in Death in the Afternoon.

  • PGWH

    P.G. Wodehouse

    (1)
    • £7.99
    • RRP £71.94
    • Save £63.95
    Lord Emsworth is delightfully dotty and his bone-headed son the Hon is just as hilarious. They both live in Blandings Castle, where there is always an imposter or two on the premises.

    Brilliantly farcical, the books in this collection will have you laughing throughout and introduce you to some truly unforgettable characters. Nothing ever goes quite according to plan, but this is part of the joy of P.G. Wodehouse's writing.

    A nine-book collection to make you chuckle time and time again.

  • ALQLM

    Vera Brittain

    • £6.66
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £3.33
    In 1914 Vera Brittain was eighteen and, as war was declared, she was preparing to study at Oxford. Four years later her life - and the life of her whole generation - had changed in a way that was unimaginable in the tranquil pre-war era. TESTAMENT OF YOUTH, one of the most famous autobiographies of the First World War, is Brittain's account of how she survived the period; how she lost the man she loved; how she nursed the wounded and how she emerged into an altered world. A passionate record of a lost generation, it made Vera Brittain one of the best-loved writers of her time.
  • GHEY

    Georgette Heyer

    (3)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £47.94
    • Save £41.95
    Georgette Heyer, one of the finest historical fiction authors of all time, transports you back to Regency England with this six-book collection of romantic novels.

    Beautifully repackaged with stunning new jackets, the collection includes Faro's Daughter, Frederica, The Convenient Marriage, Regency Buck, Friday's Child and The Grand Sophy. Every book contains memorable characters, sumptuous period detail and are full of wit that brings the era to life.

    From unlikely relationships to class wars and family failures, these books are sure to appeal to fans of Philippa Gregory, Mary Balogh and Loretta Chase.

  • EDIW

    Edith Wharton

    • £4.99
    • RRP £29.97
    • Save £24.98
    Often acclaimed as one of America's finest novelists, delve into or rediscover the works of Edith Wharton with this great value three-book set. Featuring the masterpiece The Age of Innocence, later adapted into a hit film by Martin Scorsese, every novel is compelling and captivating from start to finish. The Age of Innocence is set during turn-of-the-century New York and finds Newland Archer torn between his respect for family traditions and his burgeoning attraction to his wife-to-be's cousin... The Children finds bachelor Martin Boyne befriending some precocious kids on a cruise ship between Algiers and Venice Martin Boyne, while The House of Mirth portrays the moral, social and economic restraints on a woman's attitude to marriage in the early 1900s.
  • VINP

    Authors vary

    (1)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £25.97
    • Save £20.98
    Featuring 'a visionary genius', 'the greatest poet since Shakespeare' and some of the best poetry from the Bard himself, this three-book collection offers up some of the best poetry from William Blake, W. B. Yeats and William Shakespeare.

    Shakespeare's sonnets were haunting, lyrical and often breathtakingly beautiful, and the anthology featured here showcases everything from his most famed work - 'Shall I compare three to a summer's day' - to his lesser-known poems that deserve more exposure. With an introduction from Germaine Greer, this is a must-have for anyone who appreciates one of the masters of the English language.

    Selected and introduced by Patti Smith, the eccentric William Blake is another genius who specialised in powerful and symbolic poetry, while the extensive W. B. Yeats collection reflects the turmoil, fervour, traditions and revolutions around the turn of the 20th century.

  • ECHB

    Samuel Beckett

    • £3.99
    • RRP £20.00
    • Save £16.01
    After a wait of 80 years, Echo's Bones, Samuel Beckett's intended end-piece to his debut collection of short stories, More Pricks than Kicks, is published for the first time.

    Originally requested - and subsequently rejected - by his editor, it continues the story of Belacqua, the protagonist of More Pricks than Kicks' ninth story Yellow, as he enters the afterlife. Covering themes of science, philosophy, religion and literature, the text offers a darkly humorous take on human nature.

    A gothic fairy tale that shows the development of Beckett as a writer, this hardback edition belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who wants to find out more about the evolution of Samuel Beckett's writing.
  • ETAY

    Elizabeth Taylor

    (1)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £28.97
    • Save £23.98
    Elizabeth Taylor is one of the most acclaimed novelists of her time and this three-book collection will introduce you to some of her best work. Angel is the story of a shy fifteen-year-old author on the cusp of becoming a publishing sensation, while Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont follows an unlikely friendship between the title's character and handsome young writer Ludo. A View of the Harbour is based around the faded coastal village of Newby, a place where everyone looks for - and in on - each other. These editions come with introductions from the likes of Hilary Mantel, Sarah Waters and Paul Bailey, the real-life inspiration for Ludo.
  • RYE2 13 years +

    J. D. Salinger

    13 years +
    • £4.49
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £4.50
    The Catcher in the Rye has an enduring attraction that puts it at the top of a must-read list for young adults. The cynical observations of J. D. Salinger's central character, Holden Caulfield, condemn the phony posturing and hypocrisy of those around him.

    Holden is driven by vague, unspecified angst and unhappiness and manages to get caught up in a series of uncomfortable encounters with a prostitute, her pimp, an old girlfriend and a former teacher.

    The Catcher in the Rye is as thought-provoking and compulsive as the conflicts of its central character. Recommended for readers 14+.

    This children's book has been hand-picked for you by Red House.
  • BARC

    Barbara Comyns

    • £4.99
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £21.98
    Barbara Comyns was a very talented author who lived an extraordinary life and wrote a number of unique and witty novels that will have fans of cosy crime and murder mysteries hooked. Having received acclaim from the likes of Sarah Waters and Graham Greene, the books are set in Edwardian London and are heaving with quirky characters, strange events, love affairs and mysteries to solve. We hope that this three-book set, featuring The Vet's Daughter, Sisters By A River and Our Spoons Came from Woolworths, will help bring her talent to a whole new audience.
  • KLM2 13 years +

    Harper Lee

    13 years +
    • £3.49
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.50
    Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird won a Pulitzer Prize after its publication in 1960 and is hugely influential in its exposure of racial prejudice.

    Set in the American Deep South, the story is seen through the eyes of six-year-old Scout, whose lawyer father Atticus Finch defends a young black man wrongly accused of raping a white woman.

    As Scout's family deals with the hostility and prejudice as a result of the case, there's a dawning realisation for Scout of all the inequality and injustice in her world.

    Powerful and moving, this Great American Novel is a must-have addition to every reader's bookshelf and with the publication of follow-up Go Set a Watchman confirmed for this July, now is the perfect time to rediscover the hugely important book.
  • RUME

    Rumer Godden

    (1)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £29.97
    • Save £23.98
    This three-book collection will act as the perfect introduction to the highly acclaimed author Rumer Godden. Including Black Narcissus, the novel that inspired an Academy Award-winning film in 1947, the books are all full of high emotion, intensity and drama. Black Narcissus is the story of a sisterhood of nuns on a mission in Himalayan India, while Breakfast with the Nikolides is a coming-of-age story set in post-colonial East Bengal and Kingfishers Catch Fire tells the story of a young English woman's dramatic and disturbing experiences in Himalayan Kashmir. Stories that will stay with you long after you've finished reading them, this is a collection not to be missed!
  • KEAN

    Molly Keane

    (1)
    • £4.00
    • RRP £44.95
    • Save £40.95
    Molly Keane was widely heralded as the mistress of wicked comedy as her observations were so deliciously accurate and her humour decidedly black. The five wickedly sharp stories in this collection are riveting and the elegant writing fits perfectly as sadness and pathos lie close to the glittering surface. The books include the likes of Time After Time and Devoted Ladies and contain some extremely cleverly conceived characters. Although the books will make you chuckle and laugh out loud, there are also genuine shocks and twists that were her trademarks throughout every story.
  • ALLDA

    A.L. Barker

    • £3.50
    Lost Journey
  • ALLEY

    Edith Wharton

    • £3.50
    The Eyes