null

Fiction

Fantasy & Science Fiction : 1-9 of 9

Showing 9 items

    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98
    KNTZ
    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98
    A worldwide bestselling author whose work will appeal to fans of Stephen King and Clive Barker, we just can't get enough of Dean Koontz - and with our introductory three-book set to his famous Odd Thomas series, you'll become a huge fan too!

    A page-turning, paranormal series that has already seen the first novel - Odd Thomas - adapted into a film starring Anton Yelchin, the books introduce you to a character who is 'Odd by name, a hero by nature'. Odd lives happily in a desert town with his girlfriend Storm, but this idyllic life is destroyed when he starts to see strange hyena-like shadows wherever he goes... Odd soon realises he knows things he shouldn't - and murder is on its way!

    Deliciously dark and delightfully twisted, evil personified itself comes to visit in Forever Odd while Odd makes friends with a white dog named Boo and the ghost of Elvis in Brother Odd.

    This collection contains books 1-3 in Dean Koontz's Odd Thomas series.

    • £4.99
    • RRP £24.97
    • Save £19.98
    GEOM

    George R. R. Martin Collection - 3 Books (Collection)

    George R. R. Martin

    • £4.99
    • RRP £24.97
    • Save £19.98
    From international bestseller George R.R. Martin, author of the hugely successful fantasy saga and gripping television series A Game of Thrones, this hand-picked set of masterful page-turners is sure to have readers gripped.

    Predating the enormously popular A Song of Ice and Fire, this assortment of 3 classic paperbacks covers every genre where this talented author has stamped his tale-telling authority: fantasy, science fiction and horror. With stories of music and magic, redneck vampires and intergalactic space trading, this must-own set of novels is essential reading for any fan of George R.R. Martin, the world's bestselling and multi-award-winning fiction writer.
    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98
    MICH

    Michael Crichton Set - 3 Books (Collection)

    Michael Crichton

    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98
    During his life, Jurassic Park and Congo author Michael Crichton was widely regarded as one of the finest science fiction writers around. This collection brings together three of his electrifying stories that you may not yet have discovered. Always inventive, you are sure to be wowed - and perhaps a little scared - by every adventure.

    Micro, a collaboration with Richard Preston, finds a host of microbots that have been designed to reproduce and learn reprogramming themselves as predators, while Next covers a favourite theme of Crichton's - the world of genetic engineering... Prey finds a group of students overwhelmed by the power of a stunning new technology.

    • £5.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £7.00
    TBON

    The Bone Season (Hardback)

    Samantha Shannon

    (1)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £7.00
    The Bone Season is a compelling debut novel from Samantha Shannon. The first in a seven-book series set in a dystopian future, it follows the life of 19-year-old Paige Mahoney as she finds herself attacked, drugged and kidnapped before being transported to Oxford in 2059 - a city that has been kept secret for 200 years.

    A dreamwalker and a clairvoyant, Paige has been working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, scouting for information by breaking into people's minds - but she is committing treason by simply breathing. Oxford is controlled by a powerful and otherworldly race and Paige finds herself assigned to Warden, a Rephaite master, trainer and natural enemy that has mysterious motives...

    If Paige is to break free, she will have to allow herself to be nurtured in a prison where she is meant to die.

    A tense and page-turning sci-fi novel book that will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Twilight and other young adult books that also appeal to older readers.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £13.00
    SHAD

    Shadow of Night (Hardback)

    Deborah Harkness

    (2)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £13.00

    The sequel to A Discovery of Witches, Deborah Harkness's Shadow of Night continues the story of historian Diana Bishop, a woman descended from a line of powerful witches, who along with long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont has broken the law of dividing creatures. The fragile coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans has been dangerously threatened. Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven... This is a book that will appeal to fans of fantasy and romance and fans of the original are sure to fall for Diana and Matthew once more in this stunning, richly imagined, epic tale.

    Please note that this hardback has 580 pages and not 336 as advertised in our recent catalogue.

    • £11.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £3.00
    ACOUE

    Ragnarok (Hardback)

    A. S. Byatt

    • £11.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £3.00
    Recently evacuated to the British countryside and with World War Two raging around her, one young girl is struggling to make sense of her life. Then she is given a book of ancient Norse legends and her inner and outer worlds are transformed. Intensely autobigraphical and linguistically stunning, this book is a landmark work of fiction from one of Britain's truly great writers. Intensely timely it is a book about how stories can give us the courage to face our own demise. The Ragnarok myth, otherwise known as the Twilight of the Gods, plays out the endgame of Norse mythology. It is the myth in which the gods Odin, Freya and Thor die, the sun and moon are swallowed by the wolf Fenrir, the serpent Midgard eats his own tale as he crushes the world and the seas boil with poison. It is only after such monstrous death and destruction that the world can begin anew. This epic struggle provided the fitting climax to Wagner's Ring Cycle and just as Wagner was inspired by Norse myth so Byatt has taken this remarkable finale and used it as the underpinning of this highly personal and politically charged retelling
    • £11.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £3.00
    AGEVW

    Strange Bodies (Hardback)

    Marcel Theroux

    • £11.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £3.00
    Nicholas Slopen has been dead for months. So when a man claiming to be Nicholas turns up to visit an old girlfriend, deception seems the only possible motive. Yet nothing can make him change his story. From the secure unit of a notorious psychiatric hospital, he begins to tell his tale: an account of attempted forgery that draws the reader towards an extraordinary truth - a metaphysical conspiracy that lies on the other side of madness and death. "Strange Bodies" takes the reader on a dizzying speculative journey that poses questions about identity, authenticity, and what it means to be truly human.
    • £4.79
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £3.20
    AAMFH

    Kiss of Crimson (Paperback)

    Lara Adrian

    • £4.79
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £3.20
    With one reckless, irresistible kiss, Dante binds Tess to himself for eternity...He comes to her more dead than alive, a huge black-clad stranger mortally wounded and rapidly losing blood. As she struggles to save him, vet Tess Culver is unaware that the man calling himself Dante is no man at all but one of the Breed, vampire warriors engaged in a desperate battle. But in a single erotically-charged moment Tess is plunged into his world - a shifting, shadowed place where bands of Rogue vampires stalk the night, cutting a swathe of terror. Haunted by visions of a dark future, Dante lives and fights like there is no tomorrow. Tess is a complication he does not need - and yet his touch has awakened in her hidden gifts and desires and a hunger she never knew she possessed...and bonded by blood, Dante and Tess must work together to overcome the deadliest of enemies.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    AAKIW

    The Algebraist (Paperback)

    Iain M. Banks

    (1)
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    It is 4034 AD. Humanity has made it to the stars. Fassin Taak, a Slow Seer at the Court of the Nasqueron Dwellers, will be fortunate if he makes it to the end of the year. The Nasqueron Dwellers inhabit a gas giant on the outskirts of the galaxy, in a system awaiting its wormhole connection to the rest of civilisation. In the meantime, they are dismissed as decadents living in a state of highly developed barbarism, hoarding data without order, hunting their own young and fighting pointless formal wars. Seconded to a military-religious order he's barely heard of - part of the baroque hierarchy of the Mercatoria, the latest galactic hegemony - Fassin Taak has to travel again amongst the Dwellers. He is in search of a secret hidden for half a billion years. But with each day that passes a war draws closer - a war that threatens to overwhelm everything and everyone he's ever known. As complex, turbulent, flamboyant and spectacular as the gas giant on which it is set, the new science fiction novel from Iain M. Banks is space opera on a truly epic scale.