Alistair MacLean Collection - 15 Books (Collection)

Alistair MacLean


Including 15 arresting novels from a truly great author of war fiction, this Alistair MacLean Collection features some of his most spectacular thrillers, such as HMS Ulysses and Ice Station Zebra.

Packed with action from start to finish, every one of these 15 stories tells of men who rose to heroism against the vividly portrayed backdrop of World War II.

Filled with espionage, murder and betrayal, these are hugely rewarding reads from a very talented writer.

Titles in this collection (1-10 of 15)
  • Ice Station Zebra
  • Force 10 from Navorone
  • Fear is the Key
  • Partisans
  • South by Java Head
  • San Andreas
  • HMS Ulysses
  • Puppet on a Chain
  • The Last Frontier
  • Circus

Product Details

  • Product code: MACL
  • ISBN: 9780007892457
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Format: Collection
  • Dimensions: 17.7cm x 35.5cm
  • Pages: Varies
  • Book points: 8

Customer Ratings


Customer Reviews

Rate & Review
"Good collection" -

All the reviewers seem, like me, to be on their second (or more) read of these books. Yes, they are rather dated, and yes, Alistair Maclean has a distinctive format (and does repeat his favourite phrases a bit too often). However, I can't deny that I enjoyed reading them all and that I looked forward to the next out of the pack. This is the reason that he was such a successful author, after all. I hope some younger readers will be tempted to buy these - at this price they are at charity shop prices!

Paul Tucker, 13/04/2011

"The earliest and the best" -

I first read all fifteen books (apart from the Lonely Sea collection) when I was at college over 40 years ago. Amazingly they are still as good now as they were then, although there is no doubt that the earlier books far surpass the later ones such as Circus and Partisans (by which time he was rather writing to a formula).

I had forgotten how idiosyncratic his writing style was, I admit but the books are none the worse for this. As the other reviewers have said this is a great value package and anyone who has not had a chance to enjoy these early Macleans should snap them up.

Nick Poole, 11/04/2011

"Some of the best thrillers from one of the best thriller writers" -

HMS Ullysses is the finest thriller written about war at sea you will ever read. Other top notch books not already mentioned by the other reviewer include When Eight Bells Toll. Some of his later stuff Partisans, San Andreas are a bit weaker but still well worth £1 a book.

Gary, 24/03/2011

"As good as it gets" -

If you haven't read these you must buy this set. Some of these books will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end...Ice Station Zebra, Where Eagles Dare, HMS Ulyesses, Night Without End are all sensational - I wish I was reading them for the first time.

Leonard Lorenc, 16/02/2011