Elizbethan Mystery Collection - 3 Books (Collection)

Edward Marston


A favourite with Book People customers, this well-crafted trilogy brings together three of Edward Marston's Elizabethan mysteries, all based around an esteemed theatrical company.

In the books, the bestselling author of the Railway Detective series offers plenty of murder and mayhem that is sure to delight his legion of fans. Set in the 1500s against the background of the Spanish Armada, the tales star Nicholas Bracewell, a resourceful manager who is unafraid to rise to the challenges that the fast-paced and danger-filled times throw at him.

Titles in this collection (3)
  • The Trip To Jerusalem
  • The Queen's Head
  • The Merry Mystery

Product Details

  • Product code: EMEZ
  • ISBN: 9780749011260
  • Publisher: Little Brown & Company
  • Format: Collection
  • Dimensions: 19.7cm x 12.9cm
  • Pages: Varies
  • Book points: 0

Customer Ratings


Customer Reviews

Rate & Review
Wonderful -

I bought these last year but have just got around to reading them. Really enjoyable stories, nice characters and an interesting insight into life in the 1500s. I am going to read more of these. They are not challenging but an easy read and very interesting. Bracewell as the hero is a bit too good to be true but I want more please...

Jackie, 02/07/2014

Disappointed -

Sadly disappointed, I read a great deal of historical novels, and while the story plot line was interesting; I gave up reading the books as I did not enjoy the writing style. This was because it read like a play script a lot of the time which I found very irritating!

Georgie, 25/06/2014

Marston historical crime -

Having read all the Railway Detective Series I felt quite nervous about Elizabethan-type crime writing... but Marston brings his unique and very readable, well-researched style to each era. Very well worth a read

Jackie, 24/03/2013

"Elizabethen Mayhem" -

Edward Marston has done it again, written a set of exciting historical novels. I came to these books via the 'Kings Evil' collection. I'd enjoyed those so much I thought I'd give these a try and I wasn't disappointed. The mainstay of these books is Nicholas Bracewell. He is the bookholder for a company of actors. In truth he holds the company together. Through this collection of novels we're lead through the hard times for the players of an Elizabethen theatre group and we're given a real feel of the streets of London at this time. Murder and mystery abound... three really good reads. I've given them four stars as I think 'The Kings Evil' collection are superior but these are certainly well worth the money.

Christine, 02/09/2012