Guest blog

Jamie Oliver’s Christmas Cookbook Recipe: Turkey Sloppy Joes

The sloppy Joe is so much more than a sandwich or a burger, and giving it the Christmas treatment means we’re taking that bun filled with delicious pulled meat and exciting crunchy veg. served with gravy for dunking, to the next level.

Jamie Oliver Turkey Sloppy Joe Recipe

Serves 4, 20 minutes

200g leftover cooked turkey meat

200ml leftover turkey gravy

1 carrot

1 apple

1/2 red onion

2 sprigs of fresh mint

2 gherkins

1 fresh red chilli

4 seeded wholemeal buns

 

BBQ Sauce

2 tablespoons tomato ketchup

1 tablespoon HP sauce

1 teaspoon English mustard

1/2 teaspoon chipotle Tabasco sauce

1 splash Worcestershire sauce

 

Shred and pull apart your leftover turkey meat and place in a small pan with a splash of water and 3 tablespoons of gravy. Pop a lid on and place on the lowest heat for 190 minutes to warm it through. Warm the rest of the gravy in a separate pan on a low heat, ready to use it for dunking later.

Meanwhile, peel and finely shred the carrot, matchstick the apple, peel and finely slice the red onion, and pick and slice the mint leaves. Place is all in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of pickling liquor from your gherkin jar. Finely slice the gherkins, using a crinkle-cut knife if you’ve got one, and the chilli, add to the bowl, mix well, lightly season and put aside. Mix all the BBQ sauce ingredients together.

Split and toast your buns, then spread the BBQ sauce inside them, top and bottom. Pile your pulled turkey on the bun bases, drizzle with a little gravy and top with some of that tasty slaw. Pop the bun lids on, and you’re away./ Serve the rest of the gravy on the side for a naughty dunk, along with any leftover slaw.

DP_Main_637x319_XmasShop_Open_GOGG_HPSS_RIJS

Jamie Oliver’s Christmas Cookbook by Jamie Oliver is published by Penguin Random House ⓒ Jamie Oliver Enterprises Limited (2016 Jamie Oliver’s Christmas Cookbook) Photographer: David Loftus


Veronica Roth’s Insurgent – just £3.99 from the Book People

Veronica Roth’s Divergent series has taken the young adult fiction world by storm over the last few years. The first instalment – Divergent – was adapted into a smash-hit Hollywood film in 2014 and the follow-up, Insurgent, had its premiere in London last week and is set to hit cinemas this Friday. With the arrival of the Hollywood adaptation imminent, now could be the perfect time to get stuck into the book that inspired it – which you can pick up right here at the Book People.

Priced at just £3.99 – a £4 saving on the recommended retail price – from the Book People, Insurgent picks up the story shortly after the events that took place in Divergent. Set three days after the previous instalment, Insurgent follows Beatrice ‘Tris’ Prior and Tobias ‘Four’ Eaton as they try to evade the hostile takeover of Jeanine and Erudite. The dystopian Chicago in which the story is set has seen the fragile balance of power between its competing factions collapse, forcing the various groups into open confrontation with one another.

This dark slice of teen fiction – sure to appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Blood Red Road and The 5th Wave – also finds Tris faced with the prospect difficult choices and painful sacrifices as she tries to make sense of the bleak world around her.

Insurgent book

Author Veronica Roth was previously shortlisted for the Book People’s Queen of Teen award, and this second instalment in the Insurgent series is sure to enthral younger readers. So why not grab a copy and get acquainted with the story in anticipation of the film?


Guest blog | Ella Woodward’s Sweet Potato Brownies – from Deliciously Ella

Recipe extracted from Deliciously Ella by Ella Woodward, published on 29th January by Yellow Kite © Ella Woodward 2015

To celebrate the United States’ National Cook a Sweet Potato Day, at the Book People we thought this would be the ideal time to share one of our favourite sugar-free recipes from one of our favourite new cookbooks, the Sweet Potato Brownie recipe from Ella Woodward’s Deliciously Ella. So, treat yourself without the guilt this National Sweet Potato Day… boy are you in for a treat!

Sweet Potato Brownies

Sweet Potato Brownie | Deliciously Ella | Ella Woodward Recipe

These brownies have consistently been the most popular recipe on my [Ella Woodward’s] blog. They’ve had more than double the amount of hits than the next most popular recipe and I’ve seen thousands of my readers’ photographs of them on Instagram! There’s a good reason for all this love, though – the brownies are divine. I know it sounds strange to put vegetables into sweet dishes, but sweet potatoes taste more like dessert anyway and they create the gooiest consistency!

Makes 10–12 brownies

2 medium-large sweet potatoes (600g)
14 Medjool dates, pitted
⅔ mug ground almonds (80g)
½ mug buckwheat or brown rice flour (100g)
4 tablespoons raw cacao powder
3 tablespoons maple syrup
pinch of salt

Preheat the oven to 180°C (fan 160°C).

Peel the sweet potatoes. Cut them into chunks and place into a steamer for about 20 minutes, until they become really soft.

Once they are perfectly soft and beginning to fall apart, remove them and add them to a food processor with the pitted dates. Blend until a smooth, creamy mix forms.

Put the remaining ingredients into a bowl, before mixing in the sweet potato and date combination. Stir well.

Place the mix into a lined baking dish and cook for about 20–30 minutes, until you can pierce the brownie cake with a fork and bring it out dry.

Remove the tray and allow it to cool for about 10 minutes. This is really important, as the brownies need this time to stick together!

Top tip
If you don’t have any raw cacao powder, then you can use conventional cocoa powder, but you’ll need to at least double the quantity.

 

Recipe extracted from Deliciously Ella by Ella Woodward, published on 29th January by Yellow Kite © Ella Woodward 2015


Blow away those winter blues with brilliant books

The Christmas festivities are but a distant memory now and those long winter nights are still dragging, but there are plenty of reasons to be cheerful right here at the Book People – because we’ve got a huge range of engrossing titles for you to choose from in our Fiction Everyone’s Talking About selection.

Among the fascinating fiction is Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl – subsequently adapted into a critically-acclaimed Hollywood blockbuster directed by David Fincher, starring Rosamund Pike and Ben Affleck – which is available for the bargain price of just £3.99 from the Book People. This gripping psychological thriller sees all manner of secrets crawl out of the woodwork following the sudden disappearance of Amy Dunne on the fifth anniversary of her wedding to husband Nick.

Also available for just £4.99 – a saving of £8 on the recommended retail price – is Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey, the winner of Costa’s First Novel Award for 2014. This remarkably accomplished debut novel focuses on narrator Maud, whose failing memory frustrates not only Maud herself but those around her. Maud knows that something has happened to her friend Elizabeth and suspects her sister Sukey may have been involved, and the book follows her as she attempts to piece the clues together and make sense of this apparent mystery.

There is, of course, plenty more besides on offer in our Fiction Everyone’s Talking About range. The debut novel from Irish writer Mary Costello, Academy Street – also nominated for the Costa First Novel Award – is available for £4.99, as is Howard Jacobson’s J. We’ve also got the Hilary Mantel Collection for just £16.99, which compiles six of the author’s works – including the Booker Prize winners Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies.


An introduction to Zoella

GIO2

Unless you’ve been living under a rock or on a desert island for the last few months, you surely can’t have failed to notice the YouTube sensation that is Zoe Sugg – better known to her legions of fans as Zoella. Not content with racking up six million YouTube subscribers, the 24-year-old vlogger has now branched out into books with the launch of her debut novel.

Never one to do things by halves, Zoella’s first novel – coming-of-age tale Girl Online – has been a runaway success. The book shifted some 78,000 copies in its first week of release, making it the fastest-selling novel ever from a debut author – including such literary luminaries as JK Rowling and EL James of 50 Shades of Grey fame.

There’s more to come, as well. Zoella has signed a two-book deal with Penguin, and the follow-up to Girl Online is scheduled to hit bookshelves next summer – so unless her fanbase disappears finds a new object for their affections (highly unlikely), the chances are that her second novel will sell like hot cakes as well.

If you’re older than Zoella’s (mostly teenage) target audience, you’re probably struggling to get your head around all this talk of vloggers. Here’s a brief overview of Zoella’s career so far. She first started vlogging in 2009 and since then has racked up millions of YouTube views as well as more than two-and-a-half million Twitter followers. She’s not alone, either – other big-name vloggers include Alfie Deyes (aka PointlessBlog), Tanya Burr, Caspar Lee and Zoella’s younger brother Joe Sugg (ThatcherJoe).

Zoella has also embarked on a tour to promote her new book, and so fervent is her fanbase that tickets for her in-store appearances ended up selling out within 24 hours.

So if you’re looking for a last-minute Christmas present for your daughter/younger sister/niece/etc you’ll no doubt be relieved to hear that Zoella’s Girl Online is available from the Book People. Better still, it’s available for the bargain price of just £6.50 – just under half the recommended retail price.

But remember, the last day for standard pre-Christmas deliveries is December 19th – so if you want your order to be with you before the big day, it’d probably be wise to get your skates on!


  • Recent Comments

    • Copyright © 2015 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.