Tag: Ansel Engort

Veronica Roth’s Insurgent – just £3.99 from the Book People

Veronica Roth’s Divergent series has taken the young adult fiction world by storm over the last few years. The first instalment – Divergent – was adapted into a smash-hit Hollywood film in 2014 and the follow-up, Insurgent, had its premiere in London last week and is set to hit cinemas this Friday. With the arrival of the Hollywood adaptation imminent, now could be the perfect time to get stuck into the book that inspired it – which you can pick up right here at the Book People.

Priced at just £3.99 – a £4 saving on the recommended retail price – from the Book People, Insurgent picks up the story shortly after the events that took place in Divergent. Set three days after the previous instalment, Insurgent follows Beatrice ‘Tris’ Prior and Tobias ‘Four’ Eaton as they try to evade the hostile takeover of Jeanine and Erudite. The dystopian Chicago in which the story is set has seen the fragile balance of power between its competing factions collapse, forcing the various groups into open confrontation with one another.

This dark slice of teen fiction – sure to appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Blood Red Road and The 5th Wave – also finds Tris faced with the prospect difficult choices and painful sacrifices as she tries to make sense of the bleak world around her.

Insurgent book

Author Veronica Roth was previously shortlisted for the Book People’s Queen of Teen award, and this second instalment in the Insurgent series is sure to enthral younger readers. So why not grab a copy and get acquainted with the story in anticipation of the film?


The Book People on YouTube – The Fault in Our Stars review

The adaptation of John Green’s bestselling novel The Fault in Our Stars is set to hit cinemas this weekend and after supporting the book since its publication in 2012, all of us at the Book People cannot wait to see it on the big screen. The story of two teenage cancer sufferers – Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters – who fall in love against the odds, the book had us sobbing throughout and it seems like the movie will have us reaching for those tissues once more.

Currently the number one film in the United States, our resident BookTuber Sophie was lucky enough to see a fan screening last week. Did the film live up to her expectations? Has she finished crying yet? How were the cast, which includes Divergent’s Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, veteran Willem Dafoe, Jurassic Park’s Laura Dern and hotly tipped Nat Wolff? Watch the video above to find out Sophie’s thoughts.

 

The Fault in Our Stars book

 

Sophie also talks about two books from Faber & Faber that are on her reading list – Erin Lange’s Dead Ends and Butter. Compared in style to John Green and Wonder author R. J. Palacio, these are poignant books about challenging and important subjects that will leave their mark…

Keep up to date with the Book People’s YouTube channel for more new, views, reviews and insider information.

Buy The Fault in Our Stars from the Book People for just £3.99 – a saving of £4 off the RRP!


  • Recent Comments

    • Copyright © 2015 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.