Tag: Wolf Hall

Top 10 Booker Prize winners

Launched in 1969, The Man Booker Prize has long been regarded as one of the most important awards in the literary calendar. With its aim to promote the finest fiction written in English, the winner not only receives £52,500 and a designer-bound copy of their book, but also a sharp increase in sales.

With excitement building around the unveiling of 2015’s Man Booker Shortlist on Tuesday 15 September, here at Book People we thought it would be a good time to look back over 10 of our favourite previous Man Booker Prize winners.


Salman RushdieMidnight’s Children

Salman Rushdie Midnight's Children Man Booker Prize winner 1981


Thomas KeneallySchindler’s Ark

Thomas Keneally Schindler's Ark Man Booker Prize winner 1983


Penelope LivelyMoon Tiger

Penelope Lively Moon Tiger Man Booker Prize winner 1987


Kazuo IshiguroThe Remains of the Day

Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day Man Booker Prize winner 1989

1992 (shared)

Michael OndaatjeThe English Patient

Michael Ondaatje The English Patient Man Booker Prize winner 1992


Pat BarkerThe Ghost Road

Pat Barker The Ghost Road Man Booker Prize winner 1995


Margaret AtwoodThe Blind Assassin

Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin Man Booker Prize winner 2000


Yann MartelLife of Pi

Yann Martel Life of Pi Man Booker Prize winner 2002


Hilary MantelWolf Hall

Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall Man Booker Prize winner 2009


Julian BarnesThe Sense of an Ending

Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending Man Booker Prize winner 2011

Hilary Mantel wins the Man Booker Prize 2012

Hilary Mantel has been named the winner of The Man Booker Prize 2012 for Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning sequel to Wolf Hall, which also won the prize in 2009. Hilary Mantel is the first ever Briton to win the prize twice, and also the first author to win the award for a sequel. Bring Up the Bodies beat off stiff competition from the likes of Will Self’s Umbrella and Deborah Levy’s Swimming Home to claim the prize, which consists of £50,000 and a designer-bound copy of their book.

Judged by chair Sir Peter Stohard, Dinah Birch, Amanda Foreman, Dan Stevens and Bharat Tandon, Bring Up the Bodies is a book that tells the story of Thomas Cromwell, an advisor to Henry VIII, and charts the downfall of Anne Boleyn. Sir Peter Stohard told the BBC: “This double accolade is uniquely deserved” and that Bring Up the Bodies is “a very remarkable piece of English prose that transcends the work already written by a great English prose writer”.

One of the objectives of the Man Booker Prize is to encourage the widest possible readership for the best in literary fiction and the Book People has all six of 2012’s shortlisted titles available in the Man Booker Prize Collection for just £29.99. To celebrate Hilary Mantel’s achievement, you can also get an extra 10% off until Midnight Friday (19 October) by entering Promotion Code MAN12 at the checkout when ordering this collection!

Man Booker Shortlist

  • Recent Comments

    • Copyright © 2015 The Book People blog. All rights reserved.