What's New in Fiction

  • KLEV
    • £6.99
    • RRP £18.99
    • Save £12.00Save 63%
    Acclaimed historian Alison Weir presents the fourth novel in her bestselling Six Tudor Queens Series - Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets.

    King Henry has fallen for Anna's portrait even though she has none of the accomplishments he seeks in a new bride. She wants to please him as the balance of power in Europe rests on their marriage, but her chequered past could cause issues...

    This powerful page-turner finds the author drawing on new evidence to reveal Anna to be a charming and spirited woman who was loved by all who knew her - and by the King who rejected her.
  • DLLF
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Praised by The Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins and a Radio 2 Book Club choice, Elizabeth Macneal's debut novel The Doll Factory is a provocative and tantalising tale of art, obsession and possession in Victorian London.

    It's 1850 and Iris wants nothing more than to be an artist. The greatest spectacle London has ever seen is being built in Hyde Park and it's while in the crowd that she meets Silas, a collector entranced by anything strange and beautiful.

    Soon after, Iris is asked to model for pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost and she agrees on the condition that he teach her to paint. This opens a world of opportunities for her, but Silas is also becoming dangerously obsessed with everything Iris does...

    We couldn't put this expertly crafted historical mystery down and would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed The Miniaturist.
  • TIKY
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Jules and Holly have been best friends since they met at university. They know everything about each other and have navigated the trials and tribulations of adulthood together.

    Holly is the only person who knows about Jules' affair and Jules was there for Holly when her husband died. Their children were born just three years apart and have also grown up together. But now Jules' daughter Saffie has made a serious allegation against Holly's son Saul - and it's tearing their friendship apart...

    appeal to fans of He Said/She Said and Anatomy of a Scandal.
  • SCLT
    C.L. Taylor
    (1)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Seven strangers. Seven secrets. One deadly lie... C.L. Taylor's Sleep is a creepy and atmospheric psychological thriller that will keep you awake long into the night.

    All Anna wants is to be able to sleep but guilt-ridden night terrors and crushing insomnia are making this impossible. In a bid to escape her past, Anna takes a job at a hotel on a remote Scottish island.

    When she welcomes seven guests, what starts as a retreat becomes a deadly nightmare. Each guest has a secret but one of them is lying about why they're on the island - and it soon becomes clear a murderer has their sights on Anna...

    For fans of authors like Karin Slaughter, Paula Hawkins, Tess Gerritsen
  • TRTG
    (2)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £9.00Save 60%
    This touching novel is the captivating prequel to James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries series, which has been adapted into ITV's prime-time show starring James Norton and Robson Green.

    Fans of William Boyd and Sebastian Faulks will enjoy this surprising origin story that follows the life, loves and losses of 18-year-old Sidney Chambers in post-war London. After gaining a Military Cross and losing his best friend on the battlefields of Italy, Sidney's carefree youth has been blown apart and he must now decide what to do with the rest of his life.

    But he has heard a call: constant, quiet and growing ever more persistent. Despite the incredulity of his family and the derision of his friends, Sidney must negotiate his path to God - the course of which never runs smooth...

    Why should you buy this book? It's the first full-length novel in the popular series of short stories. It reveals how Sidney found God and will delight fans of the adaptation, too!
  • STNE
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Erin Kelly follows up the bestselling He Said/She Said with Stone Mothers - a clever and captivating novel about a woman whose past catches up with her...

    Marianne grew up in the shadow of the old asylum and it's a place that still haunts her to this day. She fled the town at 17, leaving her boyfriend Jesse with the body they buried together. Now she's forced to return and Jesse is threatening to expose the truth...

    To protect her current 'perfect' life, Marianne will have to turn to her worst enemy for help...

    This page-turner will appeal to anyone who enjoys authors like Paula Hawkins and Tana French.
  • BBAD
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Fans of The Girl Before and The Perfect Girlfriend will find themselves absorbed by this powerful psychological thriller by debut author Annie Ward.

    Maddie and Ian have been happily together for 16 years and are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America with their beautiful son. When Maddie has an accident, she starts attending therapy as part of the healing process and gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their child; and the couple's tumultuous past with Jo.

    Eventually, all the years of love, fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in the Day of the Killing... And a frantic 911 call finds the police attending the scene of a shocking crime.

    Why should you buy this book? It's an absorbing and twisted page-turner about a perfect love story leading to the perfect crime...
  • HNTG
    (4)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Bristling with tension, bitter rivalries and toxic friendships, Lucy Foley's The Hunting Party is a riveting murder mystery that can count Sophie Hannah and Adele Parks amongst its fans.

    In a remote hunting lodge deep in the Scottish wilderness, old friends gather round to celebrate the New Year. There's the beautiful one, the golden couple, the volatile one, the new parents, the quiet one, the city boy, the outsider and the victim.

    And then a murder occurs... This whodunnit is packed with intrigue and and suspense.
  • FMLR
    (6)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Stacey Halls' debut novel The Familiars is all about how being a woman in a time of suspicion and accusation could put you at risk.

    17-year-old Fleetwood Shuttleworth finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth and discovers she would not survive another pregnancy.

    She crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, the young midwife who helped her give birth to a healthy baby - and together they decide to prove the physician wrong... Set during the Pendle witch trials of 1612, this is a powerful, important and bewitching read for anyone who loves historical fiction.
  • BAWR
    (1)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £9.00Save 60%
    Sonia Velton's debut novel Blackberry & Wild Rose is a compelling and intelligent piece of historical fiction that will delight fans of The Miniaturist and The Goldfinch.

    Set amongst the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields in the late 18th century, it follows Esther Thorel as she rescues Sara Kemp from working in a brothel. Sara is not convinced being a maid is much better than a hooker but could not turn down the chance to escape her grasping 'madam'...

    The two women go on to forge an uneasy relationship, with Sara despising how her mistress is blind to the hypocrisy of her household and Esther so self-obsessed that she only sees Sara as a charitable cause.

    Esther is a keen painter and has dreams that her husband will once weave these into reality. However, he's constantly putting her down and eventually she sets in motion events that will change the fate of the entire Thorel household; the price a piece of silk may prove more than either Esther or Sara is able to pay...
  • BLDO
    (1)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Harriet Tyce's debut thriller Blood Orange is a dark and addictive novel for readers who enjoyed Apple Tree Yard, The Nightingale and The Girl on the Train.

    Alison has it all: a doting husband, beloved daughter and career on the up. But nothing is quite what it seems. Alison drinks too much and she's having an affair with a colleague who likes to push boundaries. And it's all getting too much.

    Alison is representing a client who wants to plead guilty to stabbing her husband, but something about her story is amiss. However, if Alison saves this woman, she believes she can save herself. But someone knows all of Alison's secrets - and wants to make her pay for what she's done...
  • ANON
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61%
    Described as 'a clever thriller with masterful twists' by Karin Slaughter, The Wife Between Us authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's An Anonymous Girl is a thrilling read about the deadly nature of obsession.

    Jessica Farris signs up for an anonymous psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr Shields, thinking it will be a case of answering a few questions, collecting her money and then leaving. But then the questions become more intense and invasive and she is told what to wear and how to act...

    Jessica starts to believe that Dr Shields knows all her secrets and realises she can't trust what is real in her life and what might be one of his manipulative experiments. She's caught up in a web of deceit and jealousy. Will she be able to untangle herself out of it?