User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

We have the best fiction bestsellers at unbelievable prices. From classic and contemporary fiction books to romance and mysteries, our novels are great to delve into and sure to inspire debate and discussion at your Book Club!

Read less

Bestselling Fiction Books & Novels

  • The Root of Evil

    Hakan Nesser

    Product Code: TROE
    Hardback
    Hand-picked favourites
    Hailed as the Godfather of Swedish Crime, Hakan Nesser's Inspector Barbarotti returns in The Root of Evil.

    In July, 2007 a letter arrived in the inspector's doorstep detailing a murder that was about to take place in his quiet hometown. By the time the police had tracked down the man mentioned in the letter, he was already dead...

    And then the letters kept coming. Meanwhile, an anonymous diary has been unearthed depicting the events of a two-week holiday in France that took place five years earlier - and the people populating the diary are the ones whose lives are now under threat...
    • £3.00
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £13.99
    More info More info
  • Mr Greedy Eats Clean to Get Lean

    Roger Hargreaves

    Product Code: MGEC
    Hardback
    (1)
    Hand-picked favourites
    From the Mr. Men for Grown-ups series, this humorous little book follows Mr. Greedy and his attempts to eat clean and get lean.

    The original Mr. Men books have tickled children for generations, and now they are all grown up! Join Mr. Greedy and his health and fitness journey, as he begins to realise that he needs to make some changes.

    Will he be able to do it with some little help from his friends?
    • £1.00
    • RRP £5.99
    • Save £4.99
    (1) More info
  • Mr Happy and the Office Party

    Roger Hargreaves

    Product Code: MHOP
    Hardback
    Hand-picked favourites
    From the Mr. Men for Grown-ups series, this humorous little book follows Mr. Happy and the office party, but this time he's not too happy.

    The original Mr. Men books have tickled children for generations, and now they are all grown up! It's the morning after the office party and Mr. Happy isn't smiling anymore.

    What could have happened that would make him turn into Mr. Unhappy? This little gift book combines Roger Hargreaves' iconic artwork with funny new text that captures the perils of an office party.
    • £1.00
    • RRP £5.99
    • Save £4.99
    More info
  • James MacManus Collection - 3 Books

    James MacManus

    Product Code: JMCM
    Collection
    Hand-picked favourites
    Can love overcome the threat of war?

    It's Berlin in 1938 and newly appointed military attache Noel Macrae and his extrovert wife Primrose have arrived at the British Embassy. Prime Minister Chamberlain is intent on placating Nazi Germany, but Macrae is less so...

    Convinced that Hitler can be stopped by means other than appeasement, he soon finds that he is not the only dissenting voice in the Embassy, and discovers senior officers in the German military are prepared to turn against the Fuhrer...

    From the beginnings of the Second World War to a dangerous affair set against the fiery nights of the Blitz and a vivid reimagining of General Eisenhower and Kay Summersby's love affair, James MacManus' gripping and atmospheric thrillers are inspired by real-life people and events that changed the course of history.

    For fans of authors like David Downing, Alan Furst, John Le Carre
    • £2.00
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £24.97
    Just £0.67 per book
    More info
  • The Tattooist of Auschwitz

    Heather Morris

    Product Code: BRYKH
    Paperback
    (2)
    This powerful book tells the heartbreaking love story between Lale Sokolov, the tattooist of Auschwitz, and the woman he tattooed, Gita. Readers of Schindler's List and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas will love this extraordinary story full of love, loyalty and friendship.

    In 1942, Lale arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau and was given the job of tattooing the prisoners. Little did he know that scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

    Waiting in line to be tattooed was a terrified young girl named Gita. And for Lale - a dandy, jack-the-lad, bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. He was determined to not only survive himself, but to ensure Gita did too.
    • £8.09
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.90
    (2) More info More info
  • The Testaments

    Margaret Atwood

    Product Code: BZKSM
    Hardback
    Shortlisted for The Booker Prize 2019. In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the questions that have tantalised readers for decades.

    When the van door slammed on Offred's future at the end of The Handmaid's Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead. With The Testaments, the wait is over. Margaret Atwood's sequel picks up the story 15 years after Offred stepped into the unknown, with the explosive testaments of three female narrators from Gilead. `Dear Readers: Everything you've ever asked me about Gilead and its inner workings is the inspiration for this book. Well, almost everything! The other inspiration is the world we've been living in.' Margaret Atwood

    `The literary event of the year.' Guardian

    'It's terrifying and exhilarating.' Peter Florence, chair of the Booker 2019 judges.

    The Testaments also appears in our Booker Prize 2019 Shortlist bundle along with the five other shortlisted novels. You can find this brilliant collection under product code NNBP. All six novels are presented in keepsake hardback format (Ducks, Newburyport an exclusive to The Book People).
    • £17.99
    • RRP £20.00
    • Save £2.01
    More info More info
  • The Handmaid's Tale

    Margaret Atwood

    Product Code: AADAM
    Paperback
    (1)
    The television adaptation of Margaret Atwood's modern classic The Handmaid's Tale has turned heads and earned so many awards, not least for Elisabeth Moss' stunning performance in the lead role as Offred. Now is the ideal time to read the novel that inspired the series...

    Offred finds herself a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead, a religious totalitarian site in what was the United States. She has been placed in the household of Commander Fred Waterford and has one function - to breed.

    If she refuses to do this horrific and degrading act, Offred will be hanged. But even this repressive and hideous state cannot eradicate hope... Offred remembers how life was before as she tries to find a way out.
    • £8.69
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.30
    (1) More info More info

From sumptuous historical romances to compelling crime thrillers, these tried-and-tested titles have proved hugely popular with readers, so don’t miss out. Browse our range of the very best fiction books and discover a new favourite amongst our bestselling novels.

Brilliant and beloved books

Immerse yourself in an engrossing story that’s sure to keep you gripped from first page to last. These bestselling fiction books have garnered huge fan bases for a reason: they’re brilliant!

Incredible authors

Discover the most incredible adventures, the most heart-warming romances, the most exciting historical fiction and the most enthralling thrillers in a range of books written by exceptional authors. These fiction bestsellers are sure to delight, thrill, inspire and ignite the imagination, making them the perfect books to lose yourself in.

The latest highly-anticipated books

Don’t miss the newest must-reads that simply cannot be missed! From the latest bestselling fiction books that everyone’s talking about, to the best fiction books for your bucket list, the titles in our range of bestselling fiction books are essential for any booklover’s bookshelves.

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.