Mystery Books & Novels

  • Murder in the Cotswolds Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9780749024284 - Rebecca Tope
    MRDR
    • £4.99
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £21.98Save 81%
    • Just £1.66 per book
    Three classic British mysteries set in the idyllic countryside from bestselling crime novelist Rebecca Tope.

    In Deception in the Cotswolds, Thea Osborne looks forward to her latest house-sitting job in the secluded village of Cranham. She is looking after Harriet Young's reptiles but soon discovers that the geckoes are not the only cold-blooded creatures at large in Cranham.

    Thea agrees to house-sit for Oliver Meadows in Shadows in the Cotswolds, but she is distracted by the news of her mother's sudden involvement with an old flame. As usual, she finds herself at the centre of a dark mystery when she discovers a dead body in the gardens of the house.

    Malice in the Cotswolds sees Thea in a new assignment for the mysterious Yvonne Parker. She arrives at the isolated village of Snowshill and is immediately on edge. A child in the unsettling village is found brutally strangled and Thea and her friends work together to uncover the sinister plot.

    Format: paperback
  • Matthew Hall Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781529025781 - Matthew Hall
    MHLL
    • £4.99
    • RRP £27.97
    • Save £22.98Save 82%
    • Just £1.66 per book
    When divorcee Jenny Cooper is appointed the Severn Vale District Coroner, she's hoping for a quiet life as she pieces her life back together. However, the office she inherits from the recently deceased Harry Marshall contains neglected files hiding disturbing secrets and a trail of buried evidence...

    Jenny finds herself investigating whether the death in custody of a young boy could be linked to the deaths of a teenage prostitute and Marshall himself; whether there's been a cover-up in the case of two missing students; and the shocking discovery of a man's body with a cross gouged into his flesh in an overgrown cemetery...

    For fans of authors like Lynda La Plante, Sophie Hannah, Val McDermid

    This collection includes books 1-3 in Matthew Hall's Coroner Jenny Cooper series
    Format: paperback
  • Emily Brightwell Collection - 5 Books - Collection - 9781472129550 - Emily Brightwell
    EMIB
    (2)
    • £6.99
    • RRP £39.95
    • Save £32.96Save 82%
    • Just £1.40 per book
    There's nothing better than a traditional mystery and Emily Brightwell's cosy crime novels following the intrepid sleuth Mrs Jeffries are addictive, charming and full of gentle surprises.

    Set in Victorian London, this five-book collection follows the quick-witted housekeeper Mrs Jeffries as she helps the mild-mannered Inspector Witherspoon solve a number of murder cases with subtle nods and nudges in the right direction.

    Full of period detail, quirky crimes and plenty of laughter, this is a delightful collection.

    For fans of authors like: Rebecca Tope, M.C. Beaton, Agatha Christie
  • Edmund Crispin Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9780007973286 - Edmund Crispin
    CRSP
    (1)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £20.98Save 77%
    • Just £2.00 per book
    Edmund Crispin's delightful detective novels are a tantalising combination of Agatha Christie-style mysery and P.G. Wodehouse-esque farce.

    Buried for Pleasure finds professor and amateur detective Gervase Fen taking a break from his books to run for parliament. At first, he thinks the village he's canvassing in is peaceful and quiet. However, someone in the village has discovered a dark secret and is using it as blackmail...

    Swan Song follows Fen as he tries to solve two murders while also getting to grips with the unpredictable temperament of a deeply unpleasant opera singer; and The Case of the Gilded Fly finds Fen investigating the murder of a pretty young actress who has a reputation for destroying men's lives.

    These are quirky reads from the Golden Age of crime fiction.
    For fans of authors like: P.G. Wodehouse, M.C. Beaton, Agatha Christie

    Format: paperback
  • Miss Seeton Mysteries Collection - 8 Books - Collection - 9781788420891 - Heron Carvic
    SEET
    (3)
    • £9.99
    • RRP £63.92
    • Save £53.93Save 84%
    • Just £1.25 per book
    Set in the town of Plummergen, these humorous mysteries find retired art teacher Miss Seeton investigating all kinds of quirky killings. Featuring 'a most beguiling protagonist' (New York Times), they follow on from our previous three-book collection that delighted so many cosy crime fans.

    Throughout these books, Miss Seeton looks into a crime wave that has taken over her peaceful home village; finds herself accused of being a thief's accomplice; and investigates a potential killer at a tennis tournament. Will it be a case of game, set and match?

    For fans of authors like M.C. Beaton, Rhys Bowen, L.C. Tyler.

    This collection includes books 4-12 in the Miss Seeton Mysteries series
    Format: paperback
  • Chris Ould Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781785659690 - Chris Ould
    OULD
    (5)
    • £5.49
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.48Save 77%
    • Just £1.83 per book
    This collection includes the first three novels in Chris Ould's Faroes series. These page-turning novels are full of atmospheric tension as native Faroese Detective Jan Reyna returns to the islands after a stint in Britain.

    The Blood Strand has Jan's father being found unconscious with a shotgun by his side and someone else's blood in his car. This prompts Jan to make his return home but then another man's body is found with a shotgun wound in his side. However, all the evidence points to him being suffocated...

    The Killing Bay has a group of activists arriving on the Islands in an attempt to stop the traditional whale hunts. A woman is found murdered but Jan and local detective Hjalti Hentze become aware that evidence is being hidden from them; and The Fire Pit has the skeletal remains of a child being unearthed at an isolated farm. The investigation turns to the commune that occupied the farm in the 1970s - and there's a link to Jan's mother's death.

    For fans of authors like Ann Cleeves, Peter May, Henning Mankell

    Format: paperback
    This collection includes books 1-3 in Chris Ould's Faroes series
  • Rachel Howzell Hall Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781785659683 - Rachel Howzell Hall
    HOWZ
    (1)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98Save 79%
    • Just £1.66 per book
    Rachel Howzell Hall's Detective Elouise Norton novels are set in Los Angeles and follow an intelligent and witty detective as she looks into various crimes and killings...

    Land of Shadows, the first book in the series has the body of a teenage girl being found on a construction site. Lou's partner insists it's suicide, but Lou has other ideas - especially as the site is owned by millionaire Napoleon Crase, the man she believes murdered her sister...

    Lou also investigates a tragic house fire that may be the work of a serial arsonist known as The Burning Man; and the death of a 13-year-old who lived in the same building where she grew up...

    For fans of authors like Lee Child, Kathy Reichs, Tess Gerritsen

    This collection includes books 1-3 in Rachel Howzell Hall's Detective Elouise Norton series

    Format: paperback
  • Mari Hannah Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781509897230 - Mari Hannah
    MRHN
    (4)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98Save 79%
    • Just £1.66 per book
    Three of award-winning author Mari Hannah's novels following the cases of DCI Kate Daniels.

    Deadly Deceit is a novel that reveals how pure evil can wear many disguises. It has Daniels and her partner DS Hank Gormley investigating one of the worst road traffic accidents in Northumberland's history. As the bodies build up, they come to realise not every death was accidental...

    Killing for Keeps has two brothers from a criminal family dying within hours of each other, just five hours apart; and Settled Blood centres on a murder investigation which exposes half-truths and lies with every new revelation.

    Format: paperback
    This collection includes books 2, 3 and 5 in Mari Hannah's DCI Kate Daniels series.
  • Rennie Airth Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781509897247
    RENN
    (3)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £17.98Save 74%
    • Just £2.00 per book
    Follow Detective Inspector John Madden as he attempts to solve a number of tricky cases in Rennie Airth's three novels inspired by the Golden Age of crime fiction.

    In River of Darkness, it's 1921 and there's been a terrible murder at a manor house in Surrey. The victims have all been stabbed and the lack of disturbance in the house suggests the attack was one of terrifying speed. While the police force are ready to put the murders down to robbery and violence, Madden sees things differently - he's sure this is the work of a psychopath...

    The Blood Dimmed Tide finds Madden on the trail of a killer who is a master of reinvention; and The Dead of Winter takes place in late 1944 when a young Polish girl who worked on Madden's farm winds up dead...

    This collection includes books 1-3 in Rennie Airth's John Madden Mystery series
    Format: paperback
  • Kate Morton Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781509858248 - Kate Morton
    KTMR
    • £4.99
    • RRP £24.97
    • Save £19.98Save 79%
    • Just £1.66 per book
    Kate Morton writes intelligent and thought-provoking fiction and this collection contains three of her best novels.

    The House at Riverton is both a thrilling mystery and a tender love story. Influenced by the likes of Atonement and Gosford Park, it finds events in the summer of 1924 and the winter of 1999 intertwining in almost unbelievable ways. In the middle of 1920s, a young port takes his life on the eve of a glittering society party. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again after this night. At the end of the 20th century, 98-year-old Grace Bradley, once a housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide and this opens all sorts of old wounds - including a terrible and shocking secret.

    The Secret Keeper is a heartbreaking story of mysteries and secrets that moves between the 1930s, the 1960s and the present day; and The Lake House is an enchanting book about a missing child, an abandoned house and an unsolved mystery...