User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

Discover a world of courtship and romance from bygone times in our extensive range of historical romance novels. From old favourites to modern classics, you're sure to fall for these beautiful stories.

Read less

Historical Romance Novels

  • Christmas at Emmerdale

    Pamela Bell

    Product Code: CBQLU
    Paperback
    A wonderful Christmas gift for fans of ITV's Emmerdale and readers who love heartwarming and heartbreaking stories set in wartime. August 1914, and a terrible war begins, one that will affect the lives of everyone in the village of Beckindale. For Maggie Sugden, left to run Emmerdale Farm on her own while her husband, Joe, is at the front, it will bring grief and loss but also independence and the chance to find a place to belong - and perhaps even to love again. Christmas At Emmerdale is the first in a sweeping new saga series, exploring the lives of Emmerdale's much-loved families during the run up to the Great War. What readers are saying about Christmas at Emmerdale: 'An enjoyable read with well written and well-developed characters' 'Had a fantastic Christmas and Emmerdale feel to it. Really enjoyed it!' 'A fantastic book!'
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info More info
  • Sanditon

    Kate Riordan

    Product Code: CBIWO
    Paperback
    A novelisation of ITV's lavish period drama, Sanditon, adapted for television by Emmy and BAFTA-Award winning writer Andrew Davies and based on Jane Austen's unfinished novel. When a chance accident transports Charlotte Heywood to the seaside town of Sanditon, her life changes forever. And when she meets the charming and slightly wild Sidney Parker, she finds herself caught up in a whirlwind of romance, betrayal and changing alliances - nobody in Sanditon is quite as they seem. Discover the world Jane Austen left behind and meet the characters brought to the page by Kate Riordan. Every coastal town has its secrets - but Sanditon has more than most!
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info More info
  • Her Mother's Secret

    Rosanna Ley

    Product Code: BPWCP
    Paperback
    Set in the gorgeous surroundings of Brittany, Rosanna Ley's Her Mother's Secret is a heart-warming contemporary tale that will appeal to readers who enjoy Veronica Henry and Santa Montefiore.

    Colette is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and realises that the time has come for her to go home. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for her past mistakes?
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info More info
  • Snow on the Cobbles

    Maggie Sullivan

    Product Code: CBQTK
    Hardback
    The prefect seasonal gift full of nostalgia and charm, perfect for fans of Coronation Street and readers who love Fiction set in times past. When Lizzie moves with her mother and her brothers to No.13 Coronation Street at the end of the Second World War, it's a new start for all of them after the loses and heartache they've endured. Their new neighbour, Elsie Tanner, tells them that the house is said to have bad luck, but things look up for Lizzie when she lands a job as a barmaid in a local pub, the Pride of Weatherfield. There she makes friends with the young and giddy Hilda Ogden, still waiting for her wayward husband, Stan, to come home from the war. It isn't long before they realize that the place isn't quite it seems, but Lizzie has been keeping secrets too and as winter draws in, there are a few surprises in store for Coronation Street ...
    • £10.39
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £2.60
    More info More info
  • The Last Letter from Juliet

    Melanie Hudson

    Product Code: CBQSY
    Paperback
    For fans of Soraya M. Lane, Heather Morris, Lorna Cook and Pam Jenoff. Me Before You meets The English Patient in this stunning romantic historical novel from award-winning author Melanie Hudson. This is a note to yourself, Juliet. You must keep the memories alive, because once upon a time you told a man called Edward Nancarrow that you would, and it's important to keep that promise. A daring WWII pilot who grew up among the clouds, Juliet Caron's life was one of courage, adventure - and a love torn apart by war. Every nook of her Cornish cottage is alive with memories just waiting to be discovered. Katherine Henderson has escaped to Cornwall for Christmas but she soon finds there is more to her holiday cottage than meets the eye. And on the eve of Juliet's 100th birthday, Katherine is enlisted to make an old lady's final Christmas wish come true... Inspired by the brave women of the Second World War, this is a moving and powerful novel of friendship, love and resilience. Readers ADORE Melanie Hudson's last book Dear Rosie Hughes... `This book is going to be spoken about everywhere...I really really loved it' Karen Whittard, Reviewer `I loved this story of friendship...emotional and memorable' Jessica Bryson, Reviewer `Definitely a book I would read over and over again...Highly recommend' 5 stars, Ginger Book Geek Blog `You'll laugh, you'll cry, but most of all it will make you treasure the friends you have as who knows what each day may bring' Book Lovers Anonymous
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info More info
  • Christmas for the District Nurses

    Annie Groves

    Product Code: CBQSX
    Paperback
    A dramatic and heart-warming new novel set in the Blitz, from the bestselling author Annie Groves. The East End of London has been devastated by the Blitz and the people are struggling to come to terms with their ravaged city. Rationing bites ever deeper and and everything that makes life better is in short supply. For the district nurses, the challenges are tougher than ever. Gladys loves her work in the Civil Nursing Reserve, but just when she needs to rely on her sister at home to help out with the chores, she turns into a handful of trouble. Edith is learning to cope with her boyfriend's injuries after Dunkirk but will she have to choose between her love for him and her career? With no end in sight, the war reaches its darkest moment ... Can the nurses - and the families and patients that rely on them - find the strength to carry on?
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info More info
  • The Copperettes at War

    Sue Wilsher

    Product Code: CBQNA
    Hardback
    Essex, 1918 Aggie has tasted freedom working at the local munitions factory. But the Great War is coming to an end, and the men are coming home. Aggie can't bear the idea of going back into service. She wants more from her life - and becoming a Copperette - a member of the Women's Police Service - might help her move up in the world. Mim just wants to do her bit for her country. She's prepared to work hard to help her fellow women and keep up morale. She even takes Aggie in to her house to help with her training. Mim and Aggie face shocking loss even in the last days of the war. But will they find a way to work together?
    • £16.79
    • RRP £20.99
    • Save £4.20
    More info More info
  • Frontline Nurses On Duty

    Holly Green

    Product Code: CBPWF
    Paperback
    Can they do their bit for the war effort? A gripping historical saga based on a true story, following wartime nurses during the First World War. Perfect for fans of Lizzie Page's The War Nurses, Donna Douglas's The Nightingale Nurses and Margaret Dickinson's The Poppy Girls. When war is declared in 1914, Leonora Malham Brown and her best friend Victoria, head to Calais to volunteer with the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry. But Leonora is torn between doing her duty and love. Determined to see her sweetheart, Colonel Malkovic, again she soon decides to return to the Front. Leonora quickly loses hope of ever finding Sasha as she gets caught up in the chaos of the battlefields. Finding herself alone and in danger, she must use all her nursing training if she is to return home safely... A moving emotional wartime saga about brave nurses on the battlefield, based on an amazing true story. ________________________________ Make sure you've read all the books in the Frontline Nurses series: 1. Frontline Nurses 2. Frontline Nurses On Duty 3. Secrets of the Frontline Nurses And don't miss Holly Green's new series set in a Liverpool Workhouse: 1. Workhouse Orphans 2. Workhouse Angel 3. Workhouse Nightingale 4. Workhouse Girl
    • £5.59
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £1.40
    More info More info
  • The Women at Hitler's Table

    Rosella Postorino

    Product Code: BZPXQ
    Hardback
    The International Bestseller Inspired by the powerful true story of Margot Woelk, this is a heartbreaking and gripping historical novel for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison. Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front line. Alone and scared, she faces the SS with nothing but the knowledge every bite might be her last. Caught on the wrong side of history, how far is Rosa willing to go to survive?
    • £10.39
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £2.60
    More info More info

Get swept up in these vivid and moving historical romance novels. Our range covers books from across a wide variety of time periods and many types of historical romance fiction, from sweet tales of courtship to gripping racy tales of the past.

Experience the past

Explore a time gone by in one of our enthralling historical romance books. Relive the most dramatic moments of history or feel the reality of daily life in past centuries.

Get absorbed in the romance

We have an extensive range of historical romance books so whatever type of romance you are searching for you will find what is right for you. As you meet and follow the casts of funny, interesting or enigmatic characters you’ll find yourself falling in love with the love stories!

Discover some of the best historical romance authors

Check out some of the best historical romance novels by some of the genre’s most popular authors, such as Margaret Dickinson and Joanna Courtney, as well as some of books by classic authors of historical romance fiction, such as Jane Austen and Margaret Mitchell.

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.