User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

Explore the triumphs and tragedy of the Second World War with our extensive range of World War 2 fiction books. From high-flying combat to battles on the front line, the stories are compelling, gripping and completely fascinating.

Read less

WW2 Fiction

  • Freefall

    Robert Radcliffe

    Product Code: BQYDD
    Paperback
    Dreadfully injured in the Arnhem landings, paratrooper Theo Trickey was never expected to survive. In the aftermath of defeat, captured Medical Officer Captain Daniel Garland pulled Trickey's comatose body from a pile of copses, keeping him alive as they were shipped to a prisoner-of-war camp in Germany. Now, as Trickey slowly recovers, Garland is discovering that there's something quite unusual about his young charge. Trickey has had a remarkable war. Boy soldier, commando, paratrooper, intelligence officer - he has fought from the northern coast of France to the deserts of Africa. But that's not all. What was Trickey's connection with Germany's greatest general, the recently deceased Erwin Rommel? Why have the Desert Fox's loyalest officers tracked him down and just what is it that they want Garland to do? From the bestselling author of Under an English Heaven, Freefall is the second part of Radcliffe's Airborne trilogy which tells the extraordinary story of a young soldier, of a new regiment and how, together, they changed the course of a war.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info More info
  • A Winter Hope

    Sheila Newberry

    Product Code: CBQSL
    Paperback
    For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, A Winter Hope is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Nursemaid's Secret, Sheila Newberry. All they want for Christmas is a new home. Number five Kitchener Avenue heralds the start of a new life for the Hope family. For pregnant Miriam it is a warm, safe environment to bring up her child. For her sister, fourteen-year-old Barbara, it means independence . . . and boys. And for Fred it means the security he craves for his young family. In the lead up to Christmas, the Hopes settle in, and start to make happy memories in their new home. But World War II is round the corner, and this carefree life can't last. Soon the family are split up. Bar, wanting to do her bit for the war effort, joins the ATS, while Miriam and her children are evacuated to the countryside and away from her husband. As the country is thrown into turmoil, can the Hope family come back together and find the happiness they crave? 'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool 'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info More info

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.