User Heart Menu Basket

Read more

In Book People's hand-picked choice of baby books, you'll find a variety of classic books for babies – and they're all available at simply unbelievable prices. You'll find classic baby books alongside contemporary and modern favourites.

Read less

Classic Baby Books

In Book People's hand-picked choice of baby books, you'll find a variety of classic books for babies – and they're all available at simply unbelievable prices. You'll find classic baby books alongside contemporary and modern favourites.

  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar - Board Book

    Eric Carle

    Product Code: 8VHC
    Other Toddlers
    (5)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Well-loved by babies, toddlers and their parents, and used extensively by teachers, too, Eric Carle's The Very Hungry Caterpillar has enchanted generations of readers.

    Babies will love the interaction of poking their fingers through the holes in this sturdy board book and toddlers can learn the days of the week with its help. Bright and original illustrations, with an entertaining story, make this a fabulous book to share with babies and toddlers.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • Dear Zoo

    Rod Campbell

    Product Code: DZO2
    Other Toddlers
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Rod Campbell's Dear Zoo has been published in a sturdy board book format to suit very young children. The lively illustrations, simple story and engaging lift-the-flap fun guarantee the book's toddler appeal.

    With its repetition and appealing illustrations, this is bound to be a favourite choice at bedtime for toddlers from 1 and over.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • Guess How Much I Love You

    Sam McBratney

    Product Code: GUV2
    Other Toddlers
    (4)
    Hand-picked favourites
    The story of Little and Big Nutbrown Hare's efforts to express their love for each other has long been a favourite of ours at Red House - and with the book selling over 18 million copies worldwide, many generations of readers also love this touching tale.

    This beautiful 20th anniversary edition of Guess How Much I Love You comes in an enlarged board book format that little ones will cherish forever. The gorgeous story will be enjoyed time and time again - it's a true classic and this version is robust enough to withstand even the most terrible of toddler tantrums.

    Adored by children and adults alike, the simple story and endearing illustrations make this an unbeatable bedtime read 20 years on from first publication.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • Where the Wild Things Are

    Maurice Sendak

    Product Code: WWM2
    Paperback 3 years +
    (1)
    Hand-picked favourites
    One of the classic children's books, Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are is pretty much the perfect bedtime read.

    Max doesn't want to go to bed and finds himself travelling to a faraway, mystical land full of monsters who roar and gnash their terrible teeth. It's a little frightening but so much fun!

    Bold and stylish, funny and ultimately heart-warming, the book is full of toddler appeal and was memorably adapted into a hit film by Spike Jonze.

    This paperback edition of the Caldecott Medal-winning story will be returned to time and time again by toddlers who love mystery and adventure.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • Peepo! Board Book

    Janet and Allan Ahlberg

    Product Code: PEX2
    Other Babies
    (13)
    Hand-picked favourites
    The beautiful, nostalgic illustrations and gentle rhyming verses of Janet and Allan Ahlberg's Peepo! will charm babies and toddlers, not to mention parents, grandparents and babysitters, too.

    This sturdy board book version of the best-loved classic is ideal for introducing your young baby to games of 'peepo' and little ones will be entranced by the sing-song verses and cheeky baby peeping from the pages in the book.

    This is a lovely gift for parents and their babies and it's suitable for ages from 0+.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar - Paperback

    Eric Carle

    Product Code: VHC2
    Paperback Toddlers
    (3)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Eric Carle's classic book has enchanted generations of children with its colourful collage illustrations and simple story.

    With die-cut pages and finger-sized holes for little ones to explore, the story of the hungry green caterpillar with a very big appetite is simply one of the best children's books of all time.

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar is perfect for children from 1+ and good for talking with older toddlers about how caterpillars turn into beautiful butterflies.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • Dear Zoo Buggy Book

    Rod Campbell

    Product Code: DZB2
    Board Babies
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    One of Rod Campell's best loved children's picture books, Dear Zoo, has been adapted to win even more fans! A letter written to the zoo requesting a pet returns a series of large, scary and unsuitable pets until finally the perfect pet is despatched.

    Toddlers and babies will have great fun guessing the next crazy offering from the zoo and turning the chunky pages of this mini board book themselves. Suitable from 0+.
    • £2.99
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £2.00
    More info
  • Elmer

    David McKee

    Product Code: ELQ2
    Paperback 3 years +
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Elmer the patchwork elephant is the star of this gorgeous picture book.

    David McKee's stunning illustrations give Elmer lots of toddler appeal and this is a lovely book to read to youngsters to illustrate the message that it's OK to be different and not just one of the crowd!

    Elmer offers lots of fun and laughter for readers aged 3 and over.
    • £4.49
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £2.50
    More info
  • The Baby's Catalogue

    Janet and Allan Ahlberg

    Product Code: BCA2
    Other Toddlers
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Fans of The Jolly Postman, Peepo! and Each Peach Pear Plum by the Ahlbergs will adore the retro feel of Janet's illustrations and Allan's simple text in The Baby's Catalogue.

    A lovely book to share with little ones as it shows clever babies absorbed in an entertaining assortment of everyday activities, the book is full of tons of chuckle-worthy moments that will make Mum and Dad smile, too.

    If your baby is just starting to point and name familiar objects, then they'll love this gorgeous board book, which marks The Baby's Catalogue's 30th anniversary.
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info