User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

We have the best football biographies and autobiographies available at unbelievable prices. They follow the careers of the best football players of all time and modern superstars and give an insight into their lives - both on and off the pitch.

Read less

Football Autobiographies & Biographies

  • My Life in Football

    Kevin Keegan

    Product Code: KEVN
    Hardback
    Hand-picked favourites
    You will love it when you read Kevin Keegan's autobiography! Love it!

    Fifty years after making his professional debut, Kevin Keegan looks over a glittering football career that saw him win trophies galore while playing for Liverpool and Hamburg and be named as England captain. He also recalls the ups and downs of his managerial career - from being the man in charge of the Newcastle team known as 'The Entertainers' to his unhappy time in charge of the national team.

    For the first time, he also reveals the shattering truth about his return to St James Park during the Mike Ashley era. Honest, brave, bold and funny, this is a moving account of an incredible life in the constantly changing world of football.
    • £3.00
    • RRP £20.00
    • Save £17.00
    More info
  • Three Kings

    Leo Moynihan

    Product Code: THRK
    Hardback
    Hand-picked favourites
    Three great football clubs... Three fine managers.

    Written by Leo Moynihan and Jonny Owen, this book will appeal to fans of Celtic, Liverpool and Manchester United alike. It focuses on three legendary managers who were born within a 20-mile radius of each other in the central lowlands of Scotland: Jock Stein, Bill Shankly and Matt Busby.

    It explains how their early lives formed in this mining community went on to change the world of football in a way that still resonates today.
    • £2.00
    • RRP £20.00
    • Save £18.00
    More info More info
  • You Don't Remember Me, Do You?

    Terry Conroy

    Product Code: AOLKL
    Hardback
    Stoke City legend Terry Conroy lifts the lid on how the great Potters side of the early 70s took on the giants of the day in epic encounters, and often won. How they almost won the league, and proved worthy opponents of Europe's finest; and how the fans' favourite ginger winger scored one and created the other goal in Stoke's first major trophy win at Wembley. Terry's tales take in Hudson, Greenhoff and Banks, Best, Charlton and Redknapp. He talks about his rollercoaster international career with the Republic of Ireland, both as player and as assistant - and also reveals the cost of playing with cortisone injections, the impact of a drinking culture on the club's potential success, and how he won his own personal battles. A fabulous story of a life lived to the full - a delight for all Stoke City fans, lovers of 1970s culture and football supporters in general.
    • £18.89
    • RRP £18.99
    More info More info
  • Alex Ferguson My Autobiography

    Alex Ferguson

    Product Code: ALNDM
    Paperback
    Sir Alex Ferguson's compelling story is always honest and revealing he reflects on his managerial career that embraced unprecedented European success for Aberdeen and 26 triumphant seasons with Manchester United. Sir Alex Ferguson's best-selling autobiography has now been updated to offer reflections on events at Manchester United since his retirement as well as his teachings at the Harvard Business School, a night at the Oscars and a boat tour round the Hebrides, where he passed unrecognised. The extra material adds fresh insights and detail on his final years as United's manager. Both the psychology of management and the detail of football strategy at the top level can be complex matters but no-one has explained them in a more interesting and accessible way for the general reader than Sir Alex does here. MY AUTOBIOGRAPHY is revealing, endlessly entertaining and above all inspirational.
    • £11.69
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £1.30
    More info More info
  • I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic

    Zlatan Ibrahimovic

    Product Code: AHQZK
    Paperback
    I am Zlatan - is the explosive, critically-acclaimed memoir of Zlatan Ibrahimovich, one of the world's most gifted and controversial footballers. 'Why be a Fiat when you can be a Ferrari?' Welcome to planet Zlatan. This is the story of how a Swedish outsider rose from poverty to become a football genius. In his own inimitable style, Zlatan recalls every struggle, every goal, and every training ground bust-up on his journey to dominate the world's top clubs, including Ajax, Juventus, Internazionale, Barcelona, Milan and Paris Saint-Germain. Full of wicked one-liners and amazing stories, Zlatan lifts the lid on some of the biggest names in football, including Guardiola, Mourinho and Messi. Moving, funny and totally frank, I am Zlatan is a remarkable story of genuine hardship and unimaginable success. It is unlike any autobiography you have ever read. For fans of The Secret Footballer and Football Manager Stole My Life this no holds barred football memoir is every bit as dramatic and revealing as Roy Keane's classic autobiography. "The best footballer's autobiography of recent years is probably I Am Zlatan Ibrahimovic...". (Simon Kuper, author of Why England Always Lose). "Eagerly awaited, not least because Ibra seems to be spoiling for a fight on every other page. 'Dynamite' said one Swedish reporter". (Daily Mail on I am Zlatan).
    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info More info
  • Trautmann's Journey

    Catrine Clay

    Product Code: ABBKP
    Paperback
    'He was the best goalkeeper I ever played against' - Bobby Charlton. Every football fan knows the legend of Bert Trautmann. Fifteen minutes from the end of the 1956 FA Cup Final, Trautmann - the goalkeeper for Manchester City - falls spectacularly mid-tackle. He continues to play on to the end of the game, ensuring Manchester City win the cup. An X-ray later reveals a broken neck. But there is more to this legend than a plucky goalkeeper. Bert Trautmann was born Bernhardt Trautmann in Germany in 1923. Brought up in a country already in the grip of National Socialism, he joined the Hitler Youth at the age of ten and went to fight for the Vaterland when he was seventeen. Despite enduring inconceivable hardships in the name of war, Trautmann continued to believe wholeheartedly in the cause. Until one day he stumbled into enemy territory to be greeted by the words, 'Fancy a cup of tea, Fritz?'. What follows is an extraordinary story of transformation. Bernhardt - a Nazi living in a POW camp in Cheshire - becomes Bert. From an amateur footballer working on a bomb disposal unit in Liverpool, to celebrated Manchester City goalkeeper adored by thousands, Catrine Clay charts Trautmann's conversion from Hitler Youth star to all-England football hero, mirroring Europe's own journey through the horrors of war to a fragile post-war peace. Nominated for a British Sports Book Award.
    • £11.89
    • RRP £11.99
    More info More info
  • Gerrard

    Steven Gerrard

    Product Code: AAGIK
    Paperback
    Steven Gerrard is a hero to millions, not only as the inspirational captain of Liverpool FC, but as a key member of the England team. Here, for the first time, he tells the story of his lifelong obsession with football, in an honest and revealing book which captures the extraordinary camaraderie, the soul-destroying tensions and the high-octane thrills of the modern game as never before. Born in the Liverpool suburb of Huyton in 1980, Steven first joined Liverpool as a YTS trainee and played his first game for the first team aged just 18. His career has gone from strength to strength ever since and he is now the team's captain and its lynchpin. Liverpool's incredible comeback in the Champions' League final in Istanbul in May 2005, recovering from a 3-goal deficit against AC Milan to win on penalties, is testament to the amazing power Gerrard has over his team. His presence on the pitch is a force to be reckoned with and places him amongst the very first rank of players in the world. A relatively private figure, Steven has rarely spoken out in public. Now, his legions of fans will be allowed an intimate glimpse of what makes their hero tick. He speaks for the first time about the torturous will-he-won't-he Chelsea rumours and his undying passion for Liverpool. We experience first-hand the highs of winning in Istanbul and elsewhere, as well as the occasional lows of being parted from his much-loved family and friends. And of course, the book contains a full blow-by-blow account of England's world cup campaign in Germany 2006. Steven Gerrard's book is the definitive football autobiography. Like its subject, it's honest, passionate and exhilarating. If Steven Gerrard isn't your hero yet, by the time you've read this he will be...
    • £8.69
    • RRP £10.99
    • Save £2.30
    More info More info
  • The Damned Utd

    David Peace

    Product Code: AAGNA
    Paperback

    During the 1970s, Brian Clough was one of football's biggest personalities and most successful managers. In 1974, he took over at Leeds United, a club that was home to a generation of fiercely competitive but ageing players such as Billy Bremner. His time as manager would either make or break the club - or him. Author David Peace claims this novel is "fiction based on fact", and describes Clough's 44 tumultuous days in charge at Elland Road in extraordinarily inventive detail. The Damned Utd was released to tremendous critical acclaim and is often lauded as one of the best football novels of all time. In 2009, it was adapted into a film starring Michael Sheen as 'Old Big Head'.

    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info More info

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.