User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Topics : Primary School Aztecs & Incas Books

  • Aztecs

    Catriona Clarke

    Product Code: AOYDB
    Hardback 5 years +
    Who were the Aztecs? Where did they live, what did they wear and what gods did they worship? Discover the answers to these questions and more in this straightforward introduction to this fascinating ancient civilisation. Also includes information about everyday life, trade, sport, food and drink and conflict. A glossary explains more unusual words.
    • £5.39
    • RRP £5.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info More info
  • Daily Life in the Maya Civilization

    Nick Hunter

    Product Code: ARGMG
    Paperback 9 years +
    This book explores what life was really like for everyday people in the Maya Civilization. Using primary sources and information from archeological discoveries, it uncovers some fascinating insights and explodes some myths. Supported by timelines, maps and references to important events and people, children will really feel they are on a time-travelling journey when reading this book.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info More info
  • Mayan Civilization

    Clare Hibbert

    Product Code: APYYZ
    Paperback 9 years +
    Who were the Maya? Why did the Maya build temples? What was Mayan writing like? How did the Maya dress? This book helps children at Key Stage 2 discover the answers to these and other fascinating questions. It also recommends sites on the Internet and sources in your local library where you can find out more about Mayan civilisation. The detective shows readers how to make a pictorial timeline of important Mayan kings, construct your own model pyramid, based on a real Mayan one and find ways to make delicious Mayan meals. Packed with fascinating information, The History Detective Investigates series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014.
  • Hands-on History! Aztec & Maya

    Fiona MacDonald

    Product Code: AGSLA
    Hardback 7 years +
    This title helps you rediscover the lost world of ancient Central America, with 450 exciting pictures and 15 step-by-step projects. You can step back in time to Central America before the Spanish conquest and discover fascinating facts about the people who lived there. You can explore the cultures and beliefs of the Olmecs, Maya, Toltecs and Aztecs - the great cities they constructed, their astronomical knowledge, their use of medicine, and their insatiable drive for human sacrifice. It features 15 step-by-step projects that actively involve the reader in bringing the past to life - use a fan fit for an emperor, make a Maya backstrap loom, wear a mosaic mask, and create the amazing Aztec sun stone. More than 450 photographs and illustrations include diagrams, historical maps and a pictorial timeline. It is ideal for home or school use for 8- to 12-year-olds. History records the Aztecs and Maya as bloodthirsty warriors and priests who committed brutal acts of human sacrifice, yet this is not the whole story. Ancient Mesoamericans also formed close-knit family groups, made beautiful masks from jade and built breathtaking pyramids that are still standing today. A variety of easy-to-make projects enable you to recreate the past. You can build a Maya house or a pyramid temple, eat Aztec-style tortillas, wear a bat brooch, and enjoy the Mesoamerican board game of patolli.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info More info
  • The Maya

    Tracey Kelly

    Product Code: APVWE
    Paperback 9 years +
    Each book in Great Civilisations approaches its subject through a scene-setting spread Who/where were the...then introduces the achievements of the chosen civilisation through 12 structures or objects, each of which illustrates a key aspect or theme. Writing, architecture, industry, warfare, transport and learning are all covered in the same simple, colourful and engaging way. Fact boxes and panels present incidental information and point the reader to the importance of parallel developments in other parts of the world. Mayans looks at one of the most fascinating and advanced ancient civilisations. Through structures as imposing as a sacrificial pyramid or objects as beautiful and complex as the Mayan calendar, readers gain a picture of who was whom in ancient central America and how the civilisation in which they lived really worked.
  • Hands-on History! Incas

    Philip Steele

    Product Code: AGSLK
    Hardback 7 years +
    This title helps you step into the spectacular world of ancient South America, with 340 exciting pictures and 15 step-by-step projects. You can journey back through the centuries to a time before Europeans arrived in search of gold and land. You can explore the Inca way of life high up in the Andes Mountains, including their study of the stars, their burial rituals, and the intricate rope bridges they wove. It features 15 easy-to-do projects actively involve the reader in understanding the past - make a reed boat that really floats, eat a delicious Inca bean stew, sculpt a Tiwanaku pottery jaguar, and design a dazzling sun god mask. It contains fascinating fact boxes that provide extra insights and highlight links with the present. It is packed with over 340 photographs and illustrations, including historical maps and a pictorial timeline, this is perfect for school or home use by children aged 8 to 12. Successors to the Chimu gold workers and the Tiwanaku lake people, the Incas ruled the most spectacular empire South America has ever seen. The so-called Land of the Sun God was bright with treasure houses of precious metals, the most fabulous clothes and huge stone buildings. A variety of step-by-step projects enable you to bring this past age to life - beat on an Inca drum, make a model granary, and recreate a Chimu ceremonial knife. This is the ideal introduction to South American history, for study, reference and practical learning.
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info More info
  • Sumer and Ancient Mesopotamia

    Charlie Samuels

    Product Code: APWQZ
    Hardback 9 years +
    From building techniques and making textiles to creating accurate calendars and understanding the human body. Six books that show how each civilisation gradually developed their knowledge and applied it, making advances that would dramatically and permanently change how people lived.
  • Daily Life in the Maya Civilization

    Nick Hunter

    Product Code: ARJDU
    Hardback
    This book explores what life was really like for everyday people in the Maya Civilization. Using primary sources and information from archeological discoveries, it uncovers some fascinating insights and explodes some myths. Supported by timelines, maps and references to important events and people, children will really feel they are on a time-travelling journey when reading this book.
    • £13.89
    • RRP £13.99
    More info More info
  • Aztec Attack

    Chris Blake

    Product Code: AJWBK
    Paperback
    Join Tom on an incredible treasure hunt through time and battle history's mightiest warriors. The twelfth book in an action-packed, time-travelling series - perfect for fans of Beast Quest. Travel through time with Tom as he battles the mightiest warriors of the past! When Tom bangs on a drum in a museum he releases an ancient curse. Now he must go back in time and track down six golden coins...On this adventure, Tom travels back to the ancient Aztec Empire where he must face the rain god Tlaloc! Can Tom outsmart a god and snatch the missing treasure before it's too late?
    • £5.89
    • RRP £5.99
    More info More info

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.