Children's Books

Children's Must-Read Lists

  • PYM2 11 years +
    John Boyne
    11 years +
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00
    Nine-year-old Bruno knows nothing of the Final Solution and the Holocaust. He is oblivious to the appalling cruelties being inflicted on the people of Europe by his own country, his own father. All he knows is that he has been moved from a comfortable home in Berlin to a house in a desolate area where there is nothing to do and no one to play with. Until he meets Shmuel, a boy who lives a strange parallel existence on the other side of the adjoining wire fence and who, like the other people there, wears a uniform of striped pyjamas.

    Bruno's friendship with Shmuel will take him from innocence to revelation. And in exploring what he is unwittingly a part of, he will inevitably become subsumed by the terrible process.

    John Boyne's The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is poignant, heart-warming and illustrates how friendship knows no boundaries - a beautiful book!
  • RJP2 11 years +
    RJ Palacio
    11 years +
    (13)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00
    A poignant book that made all of us laugh and cry in equal measure, R.J. Palacio's Wonder is told using different voices but at its centre is the honest and courageous character of ten-year-old August, a boy who was born with a severe facial disfigurement.

    August is about to start middle school after being home-schooled by his mum for years. The challenge is a tough one for someone like August and he has to tackle bullies and childish cruelty in his journey. But August's resilience, humour and bravery really shine through, making this an uplifting novel that will linger in the reader's thoughts for a long time to come.
  • AAAWZ 11 years +
    Neil Gaiman
    11 years +
    (2)
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60

    When a baby escapes a murderer intent on killing the entire family, who would have thought it would find safety and security in the local graveyard? Brought up by the resident ghosts, ghouls and spectres, Bod has an eccentric childhood learning about life from the dead. But for Bod there is also the danger of the murderer still looking for him - after all, he is the last remaining member of the family. A stunningly original novel deftly constructed over eight chapters, featuring every second year of Bod's life, from babyhood to adolescence. Will Bod survive to be a man?

  • 6DYG 11 years +
    Anne Frank
    11 years +
    (4)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00
    Anne Frank's The Diary of a Young Girl is a haunting book that will stay with the reader for ever. Thirteen-year-old Anne spent two years in hiding during the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands. Her diary combines honesty and humour with typical teenage enthusiasm, but ultimately it's a harrowing and poignant read as it ends abruptly when she and her family are discovered by the Nazis and taken to a concentration camp. Suitable for readers from 11+.

    This children's book has been hand-picked for you by Red House.
  • DAM2 11 years +
    Sue Townsend
    11 years +
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    For a pimples-and-all look at teenage life, The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4 has it covered. Spots, embarrassing parents, unrequited love, bullies and bad poetry feature in abundance in Sue Townsend's modern classic.

    Loveable outsider Adrian Mole's pseudo-intellectual observations on all aspects of teenage life will have young adult readers in stitches, but there are some thoughtful and sensitive observations that will strike a chord, too.

    A simply fantastic and very funny book from the much-missed Sue Townsend that introduced one of the most-loved characters of recent times.
  • AWI2 11 years +
    Madeleine L'Engle
    11 years +
    • £3.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £3.00
    With her book A Wrinkle in Time, gifted children's author Madeleine L'Engle has created an absorbing science fiction novel that revolves around the likeable, misfit characters of Meg and her brother, Charles.

    Criticised by her teachers for doing badly at school and worried about her missing father, Meg is struggling with how wrong her life is when events take a mysterious turn. Together with Charles and her friend Calvin, she stumbles upon a gap in time through which the children embark on an amazing and dangerous adventure.

    A gripping read for any young adult fiction fan aged 11+ who have ever felt like the odd one out!
  • Tallulah Casey Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9780007940578 - Louise Rennison
    TCAS 11 years +
    Louise Rennison
    11 years +
    • £3.89
    • RRP £20.97
    • Save £17.08
    • Just £1.30 per book
    Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Louise Rennison is a much-loved and sadly missed author who brought teen readers the bestselling Confessions of Georgia Nicolson stories, which in turn inspired the hit film Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging.

    This three-book collection follows the life and times of Georgia's cousin, Tallulah Casey, as she enjoys her life at the Dother Hall performing arts college.

    With boys, snogging and bad acting guaranteed, the laugh-out-loud books find Tallulah and her mates trying to find fame, but love and relationships soon get in the way... will Tallulah choose bad boy Cain or nice guy Charlie?

    Hilariously witty and full of perfect observations about early teenage life and growing up, these books will delight and entertain fans (aged 11 and over) of Grace Dent and Cathy Cassidy.

    Please note these books contain mature content that some parents may feel is unsuitable for children aged under 12.
  • FDR2 11 years +
    Jenny McLachlan
    11 years +
    • £2.99
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £4.00
    Friendship, love and dancing collide in Jenny McLachlan's Flirty Dancing - a book that will appeal to fans of Louise Rennison and Holly Smale's Geek Girl series.

    Shy but fiery Bea Hogg wants to sign up to the national dance competition Starwars when it comes to her school, but her best friend has agreed to enter with school bully Pearl Harris... Meanwhile, Pearl's boyfriend, the school hottie Ollie Matthews, decides to enter the competition with Bea. This couldn't possibly go wrong, could it?

    Very funny and full of Jenny's bubbly personality and highly observational style, the book's dancing theme means it may inspire reluctant readers, while the strong characters make it a great book for those who already love books.