5-Star Children's Books

  • Catherine Wilkins Collection - 4 Books - Collection - 9781788005319 - Catherine Wilkins
    CTHW 11 years +
    11 years +
    (1)
    • £6.99
    • RRP £27.96
    • Save £20.97Save 74%
    • Just £1.75 per book
    Comedian Catherine Wilkins' hilarious books perfectly capture the trials and tribulations of pre-teen friendship. They follow the likeable best buds Jessica and Natalie as they fall out and become worst enemies when the snooty Amelia shows up...

    Jessica is 11 years old and loves drawing cartoons and making dinosaur cookies. Amelia is the new girl at school and quickly forms a bond with Natalie. Jessica feels left out and things get even worse when the others form a secret club that deliberately excludes her... To get revenge, Jessica forms a gang of her own and calls it the ACE club. Soon she's made an unlikely friend in one of the school's toughest girls and has the chance to stop Amelia's bullying for good.

    Jessica also finds herself paired up with arch-enemy Amelia in the school musical; and has to deal with the jealousy of others when a local comic shop wants to use her cartoons in a campaign...

    Written with wisdom, sensitivity and a fine sense of humour, these books will strike a chord with young readers who are experiencing similar issues at school. They will appeal to readers of Jacqueline Wilson, Anne Fine and Cathy Cassidy.
    Format: paperback
  • ARCD 11 years +
    11 years +
    (3)
    • £13.99
    • RRP £60.00
    • Save £46.01Save 76%
    The Alex Rider books are packed with action and adventure and this audiobook collection contains the 14-year-old spy's first 10 missions.

    After being forcibly recruited into the deadly world of espionage following the death of his uncle in a car crash, Alex finds himself in ever-present mortal danger...

    Told at breakneck pace, these are awesome stories that will inspire children to pick up similar books.

    Ages 11 plus
    Please note this collection contains CDs that can only be played on MP3-accessible CD players, computers and laptops. The majority of post-2001 car model stereos are MP3 CD accessible. Please check your CD player is MP3 accessible before placing an order. Import into iTunes or any other media player, then transfer to your MP3 device or player. Suitable for smartphones, iPads and tablets
    Format: MP3 CD. Approximate listening time: 78 hours.
    Unabridged

    CDs in this collection:
    Stormbreaker, Point Blanc, Skeleton Key, Eagle Strike, Scorpia, Ark Angel, Snakehead, Crocodile Tears, Scorpia Rising and Russian Roulette.
  • FUL2 13 years +
    13 years +
    (7)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00Save 50%
    John Green, the author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns, is one of the most popular voices in contemporary young adult fiction and The Fault in Our Stars became an instant classic.

    You will probably have been in tears watching the big-screen adaptation that starred Shailene Woodley and Ansel Engort as the devoted teenage lovers Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters and the book is just as heart-wrenching and poignant, but keeps a fine line in self-depreciating humour - especially from the wise-beyond-her-years Hazel.

    After meeting at a cancer support group, the cynical sufferer Hazel unexpectedly finds herself falling for the charms of Augustus and the novel follows the two as their relationship develops - taking in a romantic trip to Amsterdam in the process.

    Full of wit, sensitivity and observations about life and illness, this profound book will make readers of any age (especially teens) laugh and cry in equal measure.
  • SKX2 11 years +
    11 years +
    (4)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00Save 50%
    Anthony Horowitz launched a phenomenal action-packed adventure series with Stormbreaker, the first book starring teenage superspy, Alex Rider.

    His teenage hero is cool, contemporary and brave - just the right sort of hero to entice reluctant readers aged 9 and over to get reading. As the book begins, Alex discovers that his uncle - who has looked after him since he was a baby - has been killed in a car crash.

    What's more... he was a spy not a banker - and now Alex is being recruited to help on a MI6 mission. Told at breakneck pace and with tons of suspense, this is an irresistible read.
  • LFH2 13 years +
    13 years +
    (4)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00Save 50%
    Not only winner of the Costa Children's Book Award 2015 but also the Costa Book of the Year, The Lie Tree is a brilliantly dark and mesmerising novel from Cuckoo Song author Frances Hardinge.

    Faith's father has been found dead under mysterious circumstances. As she searches through his belongings, she discovers a strange tree that only grows fruit if you whisper a lie to it. This fruit will then deliver a hidden truth to whoever eats it...

    The bigger the lie and the more people who believe it, the bigger the truth that is uncovered. Faith realises how good she is at lying and that this tree may just hold the key to her father's murder... As begins to spread untruths far and wide across her small island community, her tales begin to spiral out of control and she discovers that wherever lies seduce, truths shatter...

    The Lie Tree was shortlisted for 2016's Carnegie Medal.
  • 6DYG 11 years +
    11 years +
    (4)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00Save 50%
    Anne Frank's The Diary of a Young Girl is a haunting book that will stay with the reader for ever. Thirteen-year-old Anne spent two years in hiding during the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands. Her diary combines honesty and humour with typical teenage enthusiasm, but ultimately it's a harrowing and poignant read as it ends abruptly when she and her family are discovered by the Nazis and taken to a concentration camp. Suitable for readers from 11+.

    This children's book has been hand-picked for you by Red House.
  • RYE2 13 years +
    13 years +
    (1)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £4.00Save 44%
    The Catcher in the Rye has an enduring attraction that puts it at the top of a must-read list for young adults. The cynical observations of J. D. Salinger's central character, Holden Caulfield, condemn the phony posturing and hypocrisy of those around him.

    Holden is driven by vague, unspecified angst and unhappiness and manages to get caught up in a series of uncomfortable encounters with a prostitute, her pimp, an old girlfriend and a former teacher.

    The Catcher in the Rye is as thought-provoking and compulsive as the conflicts of its central character. Recommended for readers 14+.

    This children's book has been hand-picked for you by Red House.