User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

Browse the books that have been shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book Award 2019 and enjoy savings off RRP with Book People.

Read less

Costa Children's Book Award 2019

  • Crossfire

    Malorie Blackman

    Product Code: BYYVW
    Paperback 13 years +
    Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power. 'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a Nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly. Life is seemingly very different now for Noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire. Praise for Noughts & Crosses: 'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah 'Blackman "gets" people . . . she "gets" humanity as a whole, too' Guardian 'Powerful' Sunday Times
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info More info
  • Asha & the Spirit Bird

    Jasbinder Bilan

    Product Code: BUIPO
    Paperback 9 years +
    'I was swept along by Asha's story from the first page.'SARAH DRIVER, author of The Huntress trilogy Asha lives in the foothills of the Himalayas. Money is tight and she misses her papa who works in the city. When he suddenly stops sending his wages, a ruthless moneylender ransacks their home andher mother talks of leaving. From her den in the mango tree, Asha makes a pact with her best friend, Jeevan, to find her father and make things right. But the journey is dangerous: they must cross the world's highest mountains and face hunger, tiredness - even snow leopards. And yet, Asha has the unshakeable sense that the spirit bird of her grandmother - her nanijee - will be watching over her.

    Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award 2019
    • £6.29
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £0.70
    More info More info
  • Furious Thing

    Jenny Downham

    Product Code: CAYCI
    Hardback
    (1)
    Anger was something to believe in when the world let her down. FURIOUS THING roars with justifiable anger at an unfair world, as one girl fights to claim back the spaces that belong to her and battles to be heard . . . Lexi's angry. And it's getting worse. If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her step-father would accept her, her mum would love her like she used to and her step-brother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly she determines to swallow her anger and make her family proud. But pushing fury down doesn't make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt. There'll be fireworks when it does.
    • £11.69
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £1.30
    (1) More info More info
  • In the Shadow of Heroes

    Nicholas Bowling

    Product Code: BXGIX
    Paperback
    The newest novel from the critically-acclaimed author of WITCHBORN ... Fourteen-year-old Cadmus has been scholar Tullus's slave since he was a baby - his master is the only family he knows. But when Tullus disappears and a taciturn slave called Tog - daughter of a British chieftain - arrives with a secret message, Cadmus's life is turned upside down. The pair follow a trail that leads to Emperor Nero himself, and his crazed determination to possess the Golden Fleece of Greek mythology. This quest will push Cadmus to the edge of the Roman Empire - and reveal unexpected truths about his past ...
    • £6.89
    • RRP £6.99
    More info More info

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.