Top 10 Reads This Season

  • How to Train Your Dragon Collection - 10 Books - Collection - 9781444941944 - Cressida Cowell
    DRGO 7 years +
    7 years +
    (5)
    • £17.99
    • RRP £69.90
    • Save £51.91Save 74.000000000000003410605131648480892181396484375%
    • Just £1.80 per book
    Cressida Cowell's How to Train Your Dragon series is hugely popular all over the world and has already spawned two massive Dreamworks films. Now, your children can get their hands on the first 10 books following the adventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III and the ever-faithful Toothless for an unbelievable Book People price.

    Hiccup may well have grown up to be the greatest Viking hero who ever lived but it wasn't always like that. When he was young, he wouldn't speak up to his father, Stock the Voist, and he certainly couldn't beat his chief rival, Snotlout, at Bashyball. All that changes when he decides to go into a cave full of dragons to find a pet. It's here where he finds Toothless and the duo begin an incredible journey.

    These appealing stories combine action, drama and a real warmth as they focus on Hiccup and his family as they grow up and enjoy all sorts of incredible adventures, battling evil enemies along the way. Your children will laugh, cry and be eagerly reaching for the next book as they work their way through this fantastic collection.

    Format: Paperback
  • Louise Penny Collection - 4 Books - Collection - 9780751574524 - Louise Penny
    LOUP
    (1)
    • £6.99
    • RRP £35.95
    • Save £28.96Save 80.00000000000000227373675443232059478759765625%
    • Just £1.75 per book
    This collection includes the first four novels in Louise Penny's SWA Dagger-winning Inspector Armand Gamache series. These captivating and clever page-turners are set in Quebec and follow the detective as he attempts to solve some puzzling mysteries.

    The series starts with Still Life, a page-turner that finds a dead body being discovered in the woods on Thanksgiving weekend. The victim is a beloved artist and none of the residents in the nearby Three Pines - a place that is so safe it doesn't even have its own police force - have any motive for murder. But Gamache knows evil is lurking... He just needs to wait to discover who's responsible...

    A Fatal Grace finds someone being brutally murdered at an annual Boxing Day curling match; The Cruellest Month finds a glorious spring day being ruined by a seance that went horribly wrong; and A Rule Against Murder has old secrets and bitter rivalries beginning to surface at the wake of a wealthy family's father.

    For fans of: Caroline Graham, Ann Cleeves, Kate Ellis

    Format: paperback
  • BDSR 4 years +
    4 years +
    (12)
    • £4.99
    The winner of Book People's Bedtime Story Competition 2017, Frasier Cox's There's a Boy Just Like Me is a heart-warming tale of friendship between the author and a refugee who shares the same interests and childhood hopes and dreams.

    In 2017, we asked children aged 5 to 11 to write a bedtime story between 200 and 800 words on the theme of friendship. The response was astounding and out of over 1,300 entries, Frasier's story was selected as the winner by a panel of judges that included TV favourite Claudia Winkleman and radio DJ and Radio Boy author Christian O'Connell. Frasier's story was chosen for his focus on important issues and beautiful storytelling.

    At least 35% of the price of the book will be donated to Save the Children, a charity that fights every single day for children's futures. Sold exclusively through us at BookPeople.co.uk, Frasier's book features illustrations from top children's book illustrator Alison Brown and published by Little Tiger.

    Please note that this book is exempt from all promotions due to its charitable donation.
  • Mark Billingham Collection - 5 Books - Collection - 9780751574258 - Mark Billingham
    MRKB
    (1)
    • £8.99
    • RRP £43.95
    • Save £34.96Save 78.9999999999999971578290569595992565155029296875%
    • Just £1.80 per book
    Mark Billingham writes intelligent contemporary thrillers and this collection contains three of his bestsellers following the cases of DI Tom Thorne.

    Good as Dead is a fast-paced read that finds Thorne and Helen Weeks looking into a year-old case that could save a young mother's life; The Dying Hours finds Thorne investigating a series of suicides among the elderly; and The Bones Beneath has Thorne escorting a dangerous psychopath to the site of a body he'd buried a quarter of a century before.

    Time of Death will keep you guessing as Thorne looks into the abduction of two missing schoolgirls; and Love Like Blood is an intense read that finds Thorne taking the biggest risk of his career...

    For fans of: Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson, Val McDermid

    This collection contains books 10-14 in Mark Billingham's DI Tom Thorne series
  • Red Queen Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781407251158 - Victoria Aveyard
    VICA 13 years +
    13 years +
    • £5.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £17.98Save 73.9999999999999982946974341757595539093017578125%
    • Just £2.00 per book
    Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen series is a young adult fantasy that will appeal to teens (and older readers!) who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Divergent.

    The world is divided by those who have red blood and those who have silver. Living under the leadership of the Silver elite (who have extreme powers), the Reds are commoners and Mare Barrow doesn't believe this way of life will ever change. This changes when she lands a job working in the Silver Palace. She's surrounded by people she hates and soon learns that she also has a deadly power of her own...

    With a rich world and compelling characters, this is a page-turning series of novels that are intelligent, full of surprises and sure to leave you eager to find out more.

    This collection contains books 1-3 in Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen series
    Format: paperback
  • DMBI
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61.00000000000000085265128291212022304534912109375%
    A.J. Pearce's debut novel Dear Mrs Bird is a funny and warming read that will take you back to London in 1940.

    Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are trying to stay cheerful despite the Luftwaffe making life annoying for everyone. Emmy wants to become a Lady War Correspondent and seizes her chance when she spots a job advertisement. But after some crossed wires, she actually ends up typing letters for Henrietta Bird, the notorious agony aunt of Woman's Friend magazine.

    Mrs Bird has very clear rules: letters containing any form of unpleasantness are to be binned immediately. Emmy starts off by dismissing the problems of lovelorn readers, but eventually the thought of desperate women's questions and pleas going unanswered is too much and she decides it's the right thing to secretly write back...

    Praised by the likes of John Boyne, Marian Keyes and Annie Barrows, this charming read will warm your heart. It's a tribute to the strength of female friendship, the kindness of strangers and the art of letter writing. The time it's set in also makes it a celebration of the incredible Blitz spirit.
  • HBNF
    (2)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £19.99
    • Save £14.00Save 70.00%
    Following the death of her husband, Clare Hills is struggling to find purpose. When her former university friend Dr David Barbrook asks her to help him sift through the artefacts of deceased archaeologist Gerald Hart, she thinks it will be a welcome distraction from her grieving.

    During her search, Clare stumbles across unpublished journals that capture the details of Gerald's most famous digs. These journals were supposedly destroyed in an arson attack and contain some very disturbing notes...

    This discovery puts both Clare and David in the midst of a murder inquiry and on the radar of an extremely dangerous killer who wants to bury the truth forever...

    For fans of Elly Griffiths, Kate Ellis, Ann Cleeves
  • RJP2 11 years +
    RJ Palacio
    11 years +
    (13)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.00Save 50.00%
    A poignant book that made all of us laugh and cry in equal measure, R.J. Palacio's Wonder is told using different voices but at its centre is the honest and courageous character of 10-year-old August, a boy who was born with a severe facial disfigurement.

    August is about to start middle school after being home-schooled by his mum for years. The challenge is a tough one for someone like August and he has to tackle bullies and childish cruelty in his journey. But August's resilience, humour and bravery really shine through, making this an uplifting novel that will linger in the reader's thoughts for a long time to come.
  • Dr. Seuss: Classic Collection - 20 Books - Collection - 9780007967421 - Dr Seuss
    DSCC 5 years +
    5 years +
    (6)
    • £21.99
    • RRP £119.80
    • Save £97.81Save 80.9999999999999948840923025272786617279052734375%
    • Just £1.10 per book
    From Horton Hears a Who to The Cat in the Hat and The Lorax, Dr. Seuss's stories are timeless, zany and will be enjoyed on countless occasions.

    This slipcased collection contains 20 of his classic stories. Told in rhyme and with eye-catching artwork throughout, you'll be enjoying these crazy and funny tales just as much as the kids.

    Who will be your children's favourite characters?
    Format: paperback
  • Liz Fenwick Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781407251165 - Liz Fenwick
    LIZF
    (2)
    • £5.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £17.98Save 73.9999999999999982946974341757595539093017578125%
    • Just £2.00 per book
    Liz Fenwick is an exceptionally talented author who writes intelligent and emotional novels. All three of these stand-alone tales are set in the stunning surroundings of Cornwall and will make for brilliant summer reads.

    Under a Cornish Sky follows Demi as she desperately hopes her luck will change. She's lost her job and been dumped by her boyfriend so heads to her grandfather's cottage for a fresh start. Meanwhile, Victoria's husband has died suddenly and and after years of a loveless marriage and secret affairs, she's ready to embrace widowhood - especially as Boscawen, the gorgeous Cornish estate owned by her other half's family, is now rightfully hers. However, both women are in for a big shock...

    The Returning Tide is a glorious story of love, loss and families; and One Cornish Summer is a tale full of intrigue as two women come to terms with their pasts...

    For fans of Erica James, Rachel Hore, Carole Matthews

    Format: paperback