Bestsellers

Top 10 Reads This Season

  • Man Booker Prize 2017 Shortlist - 6 Books - Collection - 9990000033195
    BPSV
    • £38.00
    • RRP £98.95
    • Save £60.95
    • Just £6.33 per book
    Once again, we've brought together all six books (in keepsake hardback) that make up the Man Booker Prize Shortlist - including George Saunders' winner, Lincoln in the Bardo. Do you agree with the judges' decision of awarding this prestigious award to a supernatural thriller that features Abraham Lincoln's son?

    Celebrating the best contemporary fiction of the past 12 months, this year's shortlist has something for everyone and with our brilliant value collection, you're bound to find something to love. This year's list has everything from thought-provoking novels from acclaimed authors including Paul Auster and Ali Smith to a simply stunning debut from Fiona Mozlet.

    Among these brilliant books are an atmospheric debut about violence in contemporary society; an intelligent read about relationships, time and ageing; a love story about two people bonding in a world that is falling apart; Paul Auster's account of four parallel lives; and a novel that asks 'how far would you go to belong?'
  • Murder On The Orient Express - Hardback - 9780008226664 - Agatha Christie
    MOOE
    Agatha Christie
    • £4.00
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £10.99
    With an all-star cast including Penelope Cruz, Judi Dench, Johnny Depp, Josh Gad and Willem Dafoe, Kenneth Branagh's (who also stars as Hercule Poirot) adaptation of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express has delighted audiences all around the world.

    This beautiful hardback makes a wonderful gift for any fan of the murder mystery and a fine addition to your bookshelf.

    It's just after midnight and snowdrift stops the surprisingly full Orient Express in its track. By morning, there is one passenger fewer as there is a murderer on board. Will Hercule Poirot, the world's greatest detective, be able to identify the killer before they strike again?

    Isolated and with a killer in their midst, this is a classic novel, full of tension.
  • MDHC
    Samantha Silva
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00
    Samantha Silva's debut novel Mr Dickens and his Carol follows Charles Dickens as he is forced by his publisher to write a festive tale...

    Dickens should be looking forward to Christmas but when Martin Chuzzlewit flops, his publisher issues an ultimatum - write a Christmas book or lose everything!

    Given just a month to complete a story, Dickens finds himself propelled by self-doubt but then meets Eleanor Lovejoy and her son, Timothy. This inspires a Scrooge-like journey through Christmases past and present.
  • Alan the Christmas Donkey - Hardback - 9781509839025 - Tracy Garton
    ATCD
    Tracy Garton
    • £3.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £6.00
    This is the true story of Alan the Christmas Donkey - a little animal who made a big difference.

    Tracy Garton had over twenty years' experience running the Radcliffe Donkey Sanctuary but after a devastatingly difficult winter full of sky high bills, she wasn't sure if she had the finances - or physical strength - to carry on. But then she received a phone call in the first week of January. A donkey has been abandoned 130 miles away and left to die in a supermarket car park.

    When Tracy saw Alan for the first time, he was forlorn, balding and shivering. She whispered to him: 'Don't worry boy, I won't give up on you'. The duo had a very eventful year; grappling with attacks from vandals and perilous flash while trying to raise money. As the festive season rolled around, Alan managed to give her the greatest gift of all.

    This is a funny, warm and inspiring read for animal lovers.
  • Christmas on Primrose Hill - Hardback - 9781509815067 - Karen Swan
    COPH
    Karen Swan
    (3)
    • £2.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £10.00
    A Book People favourite after the success of previous Christmas books The Perfect Present and Christmas at Tiffany's, international bestseller Karen Swan presents here a spellbindingly beautiful story in Christmas on Primrose Hill.

    Nettie wants nothing more than to spend Christmas nestled in her flat in the famous are of London. But one crazy event, and a new celebrity follower, is about to change everything as she's forced to take on a host of hilarious challenges in the lead-up to Christmas.

    A story to bring some sparkle to your festive reading.
  • CRLS
    Andrew Gant
    • £3.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £6.00
    Everyone loves a good Christmas carol, and Christmas Carols: From Village Green to Church Choir by Andrew Gant is filled with 20 festive favourites alongside little-known histories, great anecdotes and heart-warming stories about each of the best-loved Christmas songs.

    Carols have the power to evoke a special kind of winter ambience - but how do they do it? In the book, Andrew Gant unravels the captivating - and sometimes surprising - tales of great musicians, thinkers, saints, monks and drunks, helping readers to discover the stories of how their favourite Christmas carols came to be.

    Brimming with expert knowledge, charming tales and all of the lyrics and melodic scores you will need to perform the best-loved yuletide classics, Christmas Carols is a fittingly festive and joyous account of the time-honoured tradition of Christmas caroling.
  • Mrs Scrooge - Hardback - 9781447228660 - Carol Ann Duffy
    MSCR
    Carol Ann Duffy
    (5)
    • £2.99
    • RRP £10.99
    • Save £8.00
    Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy's modern retelling of Dickens' classic A Christmas Carol is the perfect festive read.

    On the coldest Christmas Eve on record, Mrs Scrooge finds herself outside the local supermarket, protesting against consumerism and waste. Just like her husband Ebenezer before her, Mrs Scrooge has a lot to learn from the ghosts of Christmas past, Christmas present and Christmas yet to come...

    Filled with bright illustrations by the talented Posy Simmonds, this modern take the timeless story makes for a perfect Christmas gift that will be enjoyed time and time again.
  • TCLC
    Carole Matthews
    (2)
    • £2.99
    • RRP £19.99
    • Save £17.00
    A perfectly sweet and warming read for a cold night, Sunday Times bestselling author Carole Matthews' The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas finds the women of the club with far more to worry about than just shopping for presents.

    Lucy hasn't spent any time with her boyfriend in the last few weeks as she's been so busy running Chocolate Heaven. She loves her job, but something has to give... And when her ex-fiance shows up, things get even more complicated.

    Swearing off men for a while, Nadia can't help but get close to Jacob and wonders if he'll be her last chance for a happy ending. Chantal and her husband are besotted with their baby daughter but she worries this isn't enough to base their marriage on, while Autumn has had to deal with a personal tragedy and is receiving no support from her fiance. Will she look elsewhere?

    A festive celebration of friendship, this book will appeal to fans of Katie Fforde, Jenny Colgan and Sheila Roberts.
  • Philippa Gregory Collection - 6 Books - Collection - 9781471155185 - Philippa Gregory
    PPAG
    Philippa Gregory
    (4)
    • £5.00
    • RRP £47.94
    • Save £42.94
    • Just 83.00p per book
    Six historical novels for one unbelievable Book People price, this is the entire collection of Philippa Gregory's bestselling Cousins' War series. Certain to transport you back in time to England during the War of the Roses, the books' settings have been richly researched and the plots are completely compelling.

    Although not released in this order, it's widely thought that reading the books in chronological order (The Lady of the Rivers, The Red Queen, The White Queen, The Kingmaker's Daughter, The White Princess, The King's Curse) offers the best experience. Covering Henry VIII's predecessors and Elizabeth Woodville's rise to the throne, the books are full of shocks, scandals, murders and have some healthy romance added for good measure.

    By reading all the books in the series, you'll see why Philippa Gregory is heralded as the queen of historical fiction - and how her Cousins' War books inspired the hit BBC show The White Queen.

    This collection contains books 1-6 in Philippa Gregory's Cousins' War series.
  • The Christmas Secret - Hardback - 9781509881376 - Karen Swan
    CSKS
    Karen Swan
    • £4.00
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.99
    Karen Swan's frothy festive tales are always a huge hit with romantic fiction fans and this year's The Christmas Secret is no exception.

    The new novel from the author of Christmas Under the Stars is set on the island of Islay and follows Alex Hyde, an executive coach who believes she can change the way companies operate. Her waiting list is months long but she can't turn down a unorthodox and highly lucrative crisis call that comes her way just before Christmas...

    She finds herself heading off to help a whisky company in Scotland and ends up fascinated by their darkly charismatic CEO, Lochlan Farquhar. However, her usual methods are not working and she soon learns that nothing and no-one is as it first seemed...