Top 10 Reads This Season

  • DMBI
    • £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.00Save 61.00000000000000085265128291212022304534912109375%
    A.J. Pearce's debut novel Dear Mrs Bird is a funny and warming read that will take you back to London in 1940.

    Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are trying to stay cheerful despite the Luftwaffe making life annoying for everyone. Emmy wants to become a Lady War Correspondent and seizes her chance when she spots a job advertisement. But after some crossed wires, she actually ends up typing letters for Henrietta Bird, the notorious agony aunt of Woman's Friend magazine.

    Mrs Bird has very clear rules: letters containing any form of unpleasantness are to be binned immediately. Emmy starts off by dismissing the problems of lovelorn readers, but eventually the thought of desperate women's questions and please going unanswered is too much and she decides it's the right thing to secretly write back...

    Praised by the likes of John Boyne, Marian Keyes and Annie Barrows, this charming read will warm your heart. It's a tribute to the strength of female friendship, the kindness of strangers and the art of letter writing. The time it's set in also makes it a celebration of the incredible Blitz spirit.
  • UMJT
    • £6.99
    • RRP £18.99
    • Save £12.00Save 63.000000000000003410605131648480892181396484375%
    Joanna Trollope's An Unsuitable Match is a wonderfully optimistic novel that expertly tackles a range of important subjects including love, family and second chances.

    Rose Woodrowe and Tyler Masson are head-over-heels in love, but after previous marriages their five grown-up children are not entirely happy about this... Her daughter Rose still remembers the pain of her parents divorce, while the twins Emmy and Nat don't trust Tyler. Tyler's children are equally unsure: Seth is too busy running his bakery in San Francisco to get to know Rose and Mallory is wrestling with some childhood issues.

    Rose and Tyler have to make a decision. Who should they listen to and who should they try to please and will they ever be truly happy if they spend all their time trying to please others?
  • A.A. Milne Collection - 5 Books - Collection - 9781509897292 - A.A. Milne
    AAMN
    • £7.99
    • RRP £39.95
    • Save £31.96Save 78.999999999999994315658113919198513031005859375%
    • Just £1.60 per book
    A.A. Milne may be best known as the author who brought Winnie-the-Pooh and Christopher Robin into the world but he was equally adept at writing charming adult tales and short stories. This collection will help you discover another side to this beloved and famous writer.

    Four Days' Wonder is a hilarious spoof on the detective novel in the vein of P.G. Wodehouse; Two People is a perceptive account of a marriage between a couple who realise they have nothing in common; and Mr Pim Passes By is a delightful comedy of manners.

    Chloe Marr is an entertaining novel about a young socialite; and A Table Near the Band is a collection of short stories about the foibles of everyday life. It takes in everything from a family reunion to a first dance and domestic disagreements.

    Format: paperback
  • The Shakespeare Stories Collection - 16 Books - Collection - 9781408313053 - Andrew Matthews & Tony Ross
    NSHK 7 years +
    7 years +
    (12)
    • £9.99
    • RRP £79.84
    • Save £69.85Save 86.99999999999999772626324556767940521240234375%
    • Just 62.00p per book
    It's now over 400 years since the Bard died and his work still remains just as relevant and compelling today. Boasting 16 of William Shakespeare's most popular and enduring plays, this collection contains rewritten versions of all his most well-known tales.

    From the tragedy of Macbeth to the humour of Much Ado About Nothing, this superb collection of paperbacks makes an excellent introduction to Shakespeare for younger readers.

    The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life, allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

    Format: paperback
    Please note that although these books are suitable for children aged 9 and over to enjoy independently, the themes they cover mean they may be considered more suitable for shared reading with children aged 7 plus.
  • DAEG
    • £5.99
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £11.00Save 64.0000000000000062527760746888816356658935546875%
    Celebrate 10 years of Dr. Ruth Galloway with the tenth book in Elly Griffiths' bestselling series. This series is highly acclaimed by Val McDermid and has become a real favourite with Book People customers over the years.

    The Italian archaeologist Dr. Angelo Morelli has asked Ruth for help and she's flattered. He's found some bones in a tiny hilltop village near Rome but doesn't know what to make of them. Ruth hasn't had a break for years, so even a working holiday to Italy is welcome...

    Accompanied by her daughter Kate and friend Shona, Ruth heads to solve this baffling Roman mystery. What she discovers is a dark secret that dates back to the war years and the Resistance... She also is surprised to come across Harry Nelson. And the duo must put their differences aside when these bones inspire a modern murder.
  • Geek Girl Collection - 6 Books - Collection - 9780007968039 - Holly Smale
    GKGI 11 years +
    11 years +
    (2)
    • £9.99
    • RRP £35.94
    • Save £25.95Save 72.0000000000000017053025658242404460906982421875%
    • Just £1.67 per book
    Partly inspired by her own experiences growing up in the fashion industry, former model Holly Smale's Geek Girl is a bestselling and award-winning series that will appeal to any child who is a proud geek that also appreciates the glitzier side of life.

    Harriet Manners is the font of all knowledge when it comes to facts. She knows a cat has 32 muscles in each ear and that the average person laughs 15 times a day, but boys remain a mystery.

    When she's spotted by a top modelling agent, her world is turned upside down. She believes this could be the start of something special, but her eyes are opened by just how cruel the fashion industry can be... Will she be able to hold everything together and stay true to herself?

    Funny, feisty, smart and sassy, this collection of books has a strong message at its heart and is very entertaining.
    Format: paperback
    This collection includes books 1-6 in Holly Smale's Geek Girl series.
  • Miss Seeton Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781911440840 - Heron Carvic
    MSST
    (3)
    • £4.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98Save 79.0000000000000017053025658242404460906982421875%
    • Just £1.66 per book
    Set in the town of Plummergen, these classic cosy crime novels find retired art teacher Miss Seeton investigating all kinds of quirky killings.

    Picture Miss Seeton is the first story in the series and it finds Miss Seeton witnessing a real-life street stabbing in London. All she can recall is a shadowy figure, but how was she to know that her latest sketch would be a picture-perfect portrait of the killer?

    Miss Seeton Draws the Line has the super sleuth drawing a clue to a series of child murders in rural England. Scotland Yard soon ask for her help. Finally, there's Witch Miss Seeton which finds the village developing a sudden interest in the occult.
  • Carole Matthews Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9780751573510 - Carole Matthews
    CRLM
    • £5.99
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £20.98Save 76.9999999999999971578290569595992565155029296875%
    • Just £2.00 per book
    This collection contains three books from Sunday Times bestselling author Carole Matthews that are bound to put a smile on your face. These romantic stories are uplifting, emotional and witty and will appeal to anyone who enjoys the likes of Marian Keyes and Katie Fforde.

    A Whiff of Scandal is a riotously funny romance of misunderstanding and mayhem about a woman who relocates to a cosy village that isn't as quiet as she'd hoped; The Chocolate Lovers' Diet finds the ladies of the club dealing with all kinds of relationship issues; and For Better, For Worse follows Josie Flynn as she heads to New York for a family wedding after just going through a rather messy divorce...
  • DOHM
    • £4.99
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £12.00Save 69.999999999999996589394868351519107818603515625%
    Sergeant Hamish Macbeth is back and he's investigating the death of a man who was brutally honest with every person he came across in Lochdubh. Having upset so many people, there is a long list of suspects but will Hamish be able to track down the real killer?

    Full of the charm, twists and wit Book People customers have come to expect from the inimitable M.C. Beaton, this is a fine addition to the series. Paul English was the honest man who told the minister Mr. Wellington that his sermons were boring, Mrs Wellington that she was too fat and even accused Hamish of having dyed his fiery red hair...

    After Paul is found dead, Hamish has a difficult job. And he has to do it without the services of his clumsy policeman, Charlie, who has resigned from the force following an 'incident'...
  • Erin Kelly Collection - 4 Books - Collection - 9781473685963 - Erin Kelly
    ERIN
    (1)
    • £6.99
    • RRP £35.96
    • Save £28.97Save 80.000000000000001136868377216160297393798828125%
    • Just £1.75 per book
    He Said, She Said author Erin Kelly is a bestselling writer of psychological thrillers who can count Stephen King, Sophie Hannah and Jeffery Deaver among her fans. This four-book collection is the perfect introduction to her work and includes her highly acclaimed debut novel, The Poison Tree.

    This novel is set in the red-hot summer of 1997 when the straight-laced student Karen meets Biba, a bohemian aspiring actress. The duo form a passionate bond, but by the end of the summer their love affair has to come to an end - and two people are dead...; The Burning Air follows the Macbrides as they attend a Bonfire Night celebration. Felix, the youngest of the family, has brought a new girlfriend with him but she's odd in a way no one can quite place. When she's left looking after Felix's sister's baby, they both end up missing...

    The Sick Rose is a claustrophobic read that finds Louisa and Paul forming a relationship, but both of them have violent pasts they are unable to escape; and The Ties That Bind is a twisty read about a true crime writer in search of a story who ends up interviewing a criminal-turned-philanthropist.

    Format: paperback