User Heart Menu Basket

Read more

If your dad loves reading, then why not treat him to some new action and adventure books this Father's Day. Whether he likes historical adventures or fancies himself as the next James Bond, you're sure to find something he'll enjoy.

Read less

The Action & Adventure Dad

If your dad loves reading, then why not treat him to some new action and adventure books this Father's Day. Whether he likes historical adventures or fancies himself as the next James Bond, you're sure to find something he'll enjoy.

  • James Bond 007 Audio Collection - 23 CDs

    Ian Fleming

    Product Code: JBAC
    Audio
    (1)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Narrated by big-name actors including Dan Stevens, Bill Nighy, Rory Kinnear and Damien Lewis, this audio collection contains the first four books in Ian Fleming's classic James Bond series.

    Featuring Casino Royale, Live and Let Die, Moonraker and Diamonds are Forever, these CDs (complete with original, unabridged text) follow the spy on his various missions and are sure to keep anyone who loves all things 007 happily entertained.

    Casino Royale follows Bond as he aims to neutralise the Russian operative Le Chiffre by ruining him at the baccarat table; Moonraker has him trying to stop a millionaire-backed project that could threaten Britain's defence system; Live and Let Die is a tale of terror, treachery and torture; and Diamonds are Forever finds diamonds being smuggled from Africa to America via Britain.

    Format: CD

    Unabridged

    Approximate running time: 26 hours
    • £14.99
    • RRP £72.99
    • Save £58.00
    More info
  • Mason Cross Collection- 3 Books

    Mason Cross

    Product Code: MASO
    Collection
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    They taught him to kill... Now they want him dead.

    It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with the government operation Winterlong. He agreed to keep quiet about all the things they have done - as long as they'd do the same. But now one of Blake's old allies is dead...

    Winterlong, now led by Emma Faraday, are after Blake. He's managed to avoid them for years but now they have a trace. They taught him everything he knows... That means it's time for Blake to up his game.

    For fans of authors like James Patterson, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham.

    Format: paperback
    This collection includes books 3-5 in Mason Cross' Carter Blake series
    • £5.99
    • RRP £24.97
    • Save £18.98
    Just £2.00 per book
    More info
  • Transcription

    Kate Atkinson

    Product Code: BUPPD
    Paperback
    Transcription is the number one Sunday Times bestseller from award-winning author Kate Atkinson. A work of rare depth and texture, it's a bravura modern novel of extraordinary power, wit and empathy.

    In 1940, 18-year-old Juliet Armstrong is reluctantly recruited into the world of espionage. Sent to an obscure department of MI5 tasked with monitoring the comings and goings of British Fascist sympathizers, she discovers the work to be tedious and terrifying.

    But after the war has ended, she presumes the events of those years have been relegated to the past forever. Ten years later, now a producer at the BBC, Juliet is unexpectedly confronted by figures from her past. A different war is being fought now, but Juliet finds herself once more under threat. A bill of reckoning is due, and she finally begins to realise that there is no action without consequence.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • Heads You Win

    Jeffrey Archer

    Product Code: BXLHZ
    Paperback
    (2)
    Jeffrey Archer's Heads You Win is a page-turner set in Leningrad in Russia in 1968.

    From an early age it is clear that Alexander Karpenko is destined to lead his countrymen. But when his father is assassinated by the KGB for defying the state, Alexander and his mother will have to escape Russia if they hope to survive...
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • Past Tense

    Lee Child

    Product Code: BWJTJ
    Paperback
    The 23rd book in Lee Child's Jack Reacher series finds our hero embarking on a quest into his father's past...

    Jack Reacher is planning on going on an epic road trip across America from Maine to California but he doesn't get very far. While driving through the New England woods, he sees a sign to the town where his father was born and detours into it...

    At the same time, a car breaks down close by... Two young Canadians are trying to get to New York City to sell a treasure and find themselves stranded at a lonely motel in a strange place in the middle of nowhere.

    Meanwhile, Jack searches for answers...
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • King of Kings

    Wilbur Smith

    Product Code: BWGGW
    Hardback
    King of Kings is an epic story of love, betrayal, courage and war that brings together two of Wilbur Smith's greatest families in this long-awaited sequel to his worldwide bestseller, The Triumph of the Sun.

    Cairo, 1887. It's a beautiful day in September. Penrod Ballantyne and his fiancee Amber stroll hand-in-hand. The future is theirs. But when Penrod's jealous former lover Lady Agatha plants doubt about his character, Amber leaves him to travel with her sister.

    On a mission to establish a silver mine, they make the dangerous journey to Addis Ababa. Back in Cairo, a devastated Penrod seeks oblivion in the city's opium dens. He is rescued by a friend and is offered the chance to join the military efforts. With storm cloouds gathering, can Penrod and Amber find their way back to one another?
    • £16.00
    • RRP £20.00
    • Save £4.00
    More info
  • Head Hunters

    Chris Ryan

    Product Code: BWKYJ
    Paperback
    A top-secret SAS kill team is assassinating high-value targets. It is bloody, violent, relentless work, suitable only for the Regiment's most skilled and ruthless head hunters. Like Danny Black.

    But when Danny joins the kill team, he learns that Taliban militants are not his only problem. There are elements within the British Army who want to bring the SAS to book. And there are elements within the SAS who have their crosshairs on Danny himself.

    Framed for a sickening war crime, Danny finds himself hunted in a brutal, dangerous terrain where his wits, training and strength may not be enough to survive. And in a world where his enemies are closer than he could have imagined, he must do whatever it takes to get to the truth. If he fails, it will mean the end not only of Danny Black, but of the SAS itself.
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • The Rising Sea

    Clive Cussler

    Product Code: BUSBL
    Paperback
    The Rising Sea is the 15th book in the NUMA Files series from bestselling author Clive Cussler.

    Kurt and his crew are in a deadly race against time to stop the sea rising. A mission deep inside the swirling Pacific. Their objective? To save the world. It's up to Kurt and the NUMA team to find out why before it's too late.

    From the high-tech streets of Tokyo, to a forbidden secret island, their search for answers sends them racing around the world. But it's in the East China Sea that they discover a secret underwater mining operation, and a plot more dangerous than they could have ever imagined...
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info
  • Private India

    James Patterson

    Product Code: ALZQG
    Paperback
    When Santosh Wagh isn't struggling out of a bottle of whisky he's head of Private India, the Mumbai branch of the world's finest PI agency. In a city of over thirteen million he has his work cut out at the best of times. But now someone is killing women - seemingly unconnected women murdered in a chilling ritual, with strange objects placed carefully at their death scenes. As Santosh and his team race to find the killer, an even greater danger faces Private India - a danger that could threaten the lives of thousands of innocent Mumbai citizens...
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info
  • Poseidon's Arrow

    Clive Cussler

    Product Code: AGULI
    Paperback
    Poseidon's Arrow by bestselling Clive Cussler is the next thrilling Dirk Pitt adventure. A man has developed the most revolutionary naval technology in decades: an attack submarine that can travel unimaginably fast. This man is dead. And part of his prototype is missing. Dirk Pitt and his NUMA team travel across the world in their search to retrieve the missing element, and as they close in, they discover that they are facing a much more dangerous threat than they had ever imagined. Poseidon's Arrow follows Artcic Drift, Crescent Dawn and Atlantis Found as the next in the enthralling Dirk Pitt adventures. Clive Cussler is on form as ever, fans of previous work in the Dirk Pitt series will love this as will anyone who has enjoyed work from his NUMA files series of indeed the Fargo adventures. Praise for Clive Cussler: "The Adventure King". (Sunday Express). "Cussler is hard to beat". (Daily Mail). "The guy I read". (Tom Clancy). Clive Cussler is the author or co-author of a great number of international bestsellers, including the famous Dirk Pitt[registered] adventures, such as Arctic Drift; the NUMA[registered] Files adventures, most recently Medusa; the Oregon Files, such as The Jungle; the Isaac Bell adventures, which began with The Chase; and the highly successful new series - the Fargo adventures. He lives in Arizona.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • Master and Commander

    Patrick O'Brian

    Product Code: AABAK
    Paperback
    Set sail for the read of your life ! Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Maturin tales are widely acknowledged to be the greatest series of historical novels ever written. To commemorate the 40th anniversary of their beginning, with Master and Commander, these evocative stories are being re-issued in paperback with smart new livery. Master and Commander is the first of Patrick O'Brian's now famous Aubrey/Maturin novels, regarded by many as the greatest series of historical novels ever written. It establishes the friendship between Captain Jack Aubrey RN and Stephen Maturin, who becomes his secretive ship's surgeon and an intelligence agent. It contains all the action and excitement which could possibly be hoped for in a historical novel, but it also displays the qualities which have put O'Brian far ahead of any of his competitors: his depiction of the detail of life aboard a Nelsonic man-of-war, of weapons, food, conversation and ambience, of the landscape and of the sea. O'Brian's portrayal of each of these is faultless and the sense of period throughout is acute. His power of characterisation is above all masterly. This brilliant historical novel marked the debut of a writer who grew into one of our greatest novelists ever, the author of what Alan Judd, writing in the Sunday Times, has described as 'the most significant extended story since Anthony Powell's A Dance to the Music of Time'.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • The Burning Land

    Bernard Cornwell

    Product Code: AAAMU
    Paperback

    Towards the end of the ninth century, King Alfred of Wessex is in failing health, and his heir is an untested youth. After so many failures to conquer Wessex, the Danes smell an opportunity. First comes Harald Bloodhair, a savage viking warrior encouraged by his woman, Skade. But Alfred still has the services of Uhtred, an unwilling warlord who leads Harald into a trap in Farnham, Surrey and inflicts one of the greatest defeats the vikings have ever had to suffer. The fifth entry into Bernard Cornwell's magnificent Alfred series, Burning Land tells of the final assaults on the kingdom of Wessex.

    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info