User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Read more

If your dad loves historical accounts of heroic battles and adventure tales, then why not treat him this Father's Day to some of our historical fiction. Any history fanatics will get lost in these brilliant stories!

Read less

The Historical Fiction Dad

  • The Road to Grantchester

    James Runcie

    Product Code: TRTG
    Hardback
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    This touching novel is the captivating prequel to James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries series, which has been adapted into ITV's prime-time show starring James Norton and Robson Green.

    Fans of William Boyd and Sebastian Faulks will enjoy this surprising origin story that follows the life, loves and losses of 18-year-old Sidney Chambers in post-war London. After gaining a Military Cross and losing his best friend on the battlefields of Italy, Sidney's carefree youth has been blown apart and he must now decide what to do with the rest of his life.

    But he has heard a call: constant, quiet and growing ever more persistent. Despite the incredulity of his family and the derision of his friends, Sidney must negotiate his path to God - the course of which never runs smooth...

    Why should you buy this book? It's the first full-length novel in the popular series of short stories. It reveals how Sidney found God and will delight fans of the adaptation, too!
    • £4.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £10.00
    (2) More info
  • The Shakespeare Companion

    Product Code: SHCM
    Paperback
    (1)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Featuring summaries of the Bard's plays and characters, The Shakespeare Companion is the perfect read for anyone interested in his works, or those who are new to one of the most influential writers of all time.

    Complete with a foreword by Dame Judi Dench, this book will enlighten you about Shakespeare's writing and help you enjoy his plays even more. It provides synopses of plays and even a resume of each performance's history.

    There is also a look back at the history of Shakespearean theatre and those plays that he did not write that have been wrongly attributed to him.
    • £4.99
    • RRP £15.00
    • Save £10.01
    (1) More info
  • Gavin Scott Collection - 3 Books

    Gavin Scott

    Product Code: GSCT
    Collection
    Hand-picked favourites
    The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles writer Gavin Scott's post-World War II murder mysteries starring Duncan Forrester are pacy and page-turning. We'd recommend them for fans of Frederick Forsyth, John Buchan and Jack Higgins.

    The Age of Treachery is set in 1946 and finds former Special Operations Executive agent Duncan Forrester back at his Oxford college as a junior Ancient History Fellow. However, his peace is shattered when an unpopular Fellow is found dead. A don is suspected and arrested but Forrester is unsure the police have the right person. He soon finds himself on the hunt for a killer that involves lost Viking sagas and satanic rituals...

    The Age of Olympus finds Forrester's research on an Aegean island being interrupted by the murder of a British archaeologist and the outbreak of the Greek Civil War - and the worship of ancient gods may just provide a clue to the killer; and The Age of Exodus finds Britain's new Labour government struggling to cope with the break-up of the Empire in 1947 when a grisly murder takes place in the British museum and terrorists target the British foreign secretary...

    Format: paperback
    • £5.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £17.98
    Just £2.00 per book
    More info