User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

Our crime novels can take you from the gritty underbelly of modern cities to picture-perfect places full of murder and curious cases in the sticks. We have crime fiction books for every taste.

Read less

Crime Fiction Books

  • Died and Gone to Devon

    TP Fielden

    Product Code: CBGFS
    Paperback
    `One of the best in the genre' THE SUN `A fabulously satisfying addition to the canon of vintage crime' DAILY EXPRESS `A delicious adventure' DAILY MAIL on The Riviera Express *** X marks the spot for murder... South-West England, the 1950s. In the seaside town of Temple Regis, seagulls are wheeling overhead and the holidays are getting close. And then the body of political candidate Odile Clifford is discovered on the balcony of the lighthouse. Fearless Riviera Express reporter Judy Dimont goes in search of the killer - but who is it? And where will they strike next? What's more, Judy's position as chief reporter is under threat when her editor takes on hot-shot journalist David Renishaw, whose work is just too good to be true. Life is busier than ever for Devon's most famous detective. Can Judy solve the mystery - and protect her position as Temple Regis's best reporter - before the murderer strikes again?
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info More info
  • Hangman's Holiday

    Dorothy L. Sayers

    Product Code: AUYFA
    Paperback
    The ninth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer David Mark - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Poisoned port ...Pet cats in peril ...Purloined pearls ...Lord Peter Wimsey solves the mysteries of the man who was blown into the fourth dimension and the murder in fancy dress. He pursues miscreants across several countries and into unexpected hiding places. Dorothy L. Sayers' other detective, Montague Egg, encounters a fugitive murderer and uncovers a killer in an Oxford cloister. The travelling salesman extraordinaire solves puzzles with a unique combination of matter-of-fact practicality and brilliant deduction. 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info More info
  • Tales of the Tattooed

    John Miller

    Product Code: CBPCV
    Paperback
    Uncovering the history of the tattoo in classic fiction for the first time, this original selection depicts the tattoo as a catalyst for scandal in society, as a symbol for an unknowable supernatural force, and as transcendent living art merging the spirits of a tattooer and his or her living canvas. Featuring previously hidden works from the pages of rare literary magazines such as "The Starfish Tattoo" alongside such classics of the genre as Tanizaki's "The Tattooer" and Saki's "The Background," this exploration of the tattoo in fiction is guaranteed to leave an indelible impression.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info More info
  • The Paris Mysteries

    Edgar Allan Poe

    Product Code: CBRFL
    Hardback
    An apartment on the rue Morgue turned into a charnel house; the corpse of a shopgirl dragged from the Seine; a high-stakes game of political blackmail-three mysteries that have enthralled the whole of Paris, and baffled the city's police. The brilliant Chevalier Auguste Dupin investigates - can he find the solution where so many others before him have failed? These three stories from the pen of Edgar Allan Poe are some of the most influential ever written, widely praised and credited with inventing the detective genre. This edition contains: 'The Murders in the Rue Morgue', 'The Mystery of Marie Roget' and 'The Purloined Letter'.
    • £8.79
    • RRP £10.99
    • Save £2.20
    More info More info
  • Mr Campion's Farewell

    Mike Ripley

    Product Code: CBRBW
    Paperback
    A Margery Allingham Campion mystery Strange things happen in the picture-postcard English village of Lindsay Carfax. When a young man falls into a quarry, it takes nine days to find the body. When rowdy hippies descend on the village, they're given nine days to leave. When an outspoken schoolmaster is kidnapped for nine days, he stays eerily quiet after his release. Now Albert Campion has come to town - and he means to investigate all this strangeness. But whoever is behind the unusual goings-on quickly makes it very clear that his nosing around is not welcome. Undeterred by threats, Campion is determined to expose the criminal masterminds hiding in this sleepy village.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info More info
  • Maigret and the Loner

    Georges Simenon

    Product Code: CBQVW
    Paperback
    When a socially isolated vagrant is found dead in the condemned building where he had been sleeping in Les Halles, Paris, Maigret must delve into the victim's mysterious past to discover who could have killed him.
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info More info
  • Sorry for the Dead

    Nicola Upson

    Product Code: CBQVM
    Hardback
    In the summer of 1915, the violent death of a young girl brings grief and notoriety to Charleston Farmhouse on the Sussex Downs. Years later, Josephine Tey returns to the same house - now much changed - and remembers the two women with whom she once lodged as a young teacher during the Great War. As past and present collide, with murders decades apart, Josephine is forced to face the possibility that the scandal which threatened to destroy those women's lives hid a much darker secret. Sorry for the Dead is the eighth book in the 'Josephine Tey' series, at once a compelling murder mystery and a moving exploration of love and grief
    • £10.39
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £2.60
    More info More info
  • The Nine Tailors

    Dorothy L. Sayers

    Product Code: ATZIO
    Paperback
    (1)
    The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there. The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later. 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James
    • £8.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £1.00
    (1) More info More info
  • Lord Peter Views the Body

    Dorothy L. Sayers

    Product Code: ATZZI
    Paperback
    The fourth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by thriller writer Christopher Fowler - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Lord Peter Wimsey - expert on subjects as diverse as crosswords and cats - displays his detective genius in some of the cleverest mysteries ever devised. One solution requires expertise in fine wines; another calls on his knowledge of fine art. Lord Peter has the knack of being on the spot at just the right time to spot a thief or blackmail a blackmailer. Or even prevent a murder...Whatever the occasion, the aristocratic detective uses his razor-sharp mind and unerring instincts to unmask the guilty and go to the aid of their victims. 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James
    • £9.59
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £0.40
    More info More info
  • Death of a Witch

    MC Beaton

    Product Code: AHDDR
    Paperback
    Returning from holiday Hamish becomes unaccountably worried - it's as if he senses a dark cloud of evil hanging over Lochdubh. He soon learns that there is a newcomer to the village, a woman called Catriona Beldame, and that the villagers have decided she is a witch. At first Hamish is charmed by her, but is dismayed when he finds out she's been supplying dangerous potions to certain local people. No one seems willing to listen to his warnings and when she is found murdered, poor Hamish is the prime suspect. Obviously, he must solve the murder to clear his own name and bring contentment back to his beloved Lochdubh. Praise for the "Hamish Macbeth" series: "First rate ...deft social comedy and wonderfully realized atmosphere". ("Booklist"). "It's always a special treat to return to Lochdubh". ("New York Times Book Review"). "The detective novels of M. C. Beaton, a master of outrageous black comedy, have reached cult status". (Anne Robinson, "The Times").
    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info More info

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.