User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

Read more

In Book People's hand-picked range of contemporary books for children, you'll find novels that have become modern favourites. With unforgettable storylines, incredible characters and so much more, these are new reads that belong on your bookshelf.

Read less

Contemporary Books for Children

  • We Were Liars

    E. Lockhart

    Product Code: AKSVI
    Paperback 14 years +
    (4)
    "E. Lockhart is one of our most important novelists, and she has given us her best book yet. Thrilling, beautiful, and blisteringly smart, We were Liars is utterly unforgettable". (John Green, number 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fault In Our Stars). "Irresistible." (The New York Times Book Review). "Haunting, sophisticated." (The Wall Street Journal). "Bowl-you-over." (Cosmopolitan). "So freaking good." (Sarah Dessen). "Such beautiful writing." (Libba Bray). "Beautiful and disturbing." (Justine Larbalestier). "Better than the hype." (Lauren Oliver). We are the Liars. We are beautiful, privileged and live a life of carefree luxury. We are cracked and broken. It is a story of love and romance. It is a tale of tragedy. Which are lies? Which is truth?
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    (4) More info More info
  • The Tattooist of Auschwitz

    Heather Morris

    Product Code: BXIEU
    Paperback 14 years +
    The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Diary of Anne Frank Heart-breaking - a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz Human - the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust - the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms Inspirational - the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances Unforgettable - a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared Life-affirming - one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved Fully verified - Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence The Story The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. When Lale, given the job of tattooing the prisoners, saw Gita waiting in line, it was love at first sight. In that moment he determined to keep them both alive. This is a story of hope and of courage.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info More info
  • Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?

    Holly Bourne

    Product Code: BROCK
    Paperback 14 years +
    Welcome to Camp Reset, a summer camp with a difference. A place offering a shot at "normality" for Olive, a girl on the edge, and for her new friends, who are all dealing with their own battles. But as Olive settles in, she starts to wonder - maybe it's this messed up world that needs fixing, and not them. And so she comes up with a plan. Because together, snowflakes can form avalanches... A trailblazing and painfully honest novel about mental health, friendship and making this crazy world a kinder place.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info More info
  • Throne of Glass

    Sarah J. Maas

    Product Code: AGIUB
    Paperback 15 years +
    (1)
    Meet Celaena Sardothien. Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness. In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught. Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament - fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin's heart be melted?
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    (1) More info More info
  • Paper Butterflies

    Lisa Heathfield

    Product Code: AUHBQ
    Paperback 14 years +
    Stand By Me meets We Were Liars - a heartbreaking and stunning breakout novel for teenagers from the award-nominated author of Seed. June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one - and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She's trapped like a butterfly in a net. But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom ...but at what price? Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson's The Art of Being Normal, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan and Louise O'Neill. Lisa Heathfield launched her writing career with Seed, her stunning YA debut about a cult. Before becoming a mum to her three sons, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. Paper Butterflies is her beautiful and heart-breaking second novel. Lisa lives in Brighton.

    This title has been shortlisted for 2017's YA Book Award.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info More info
  • Things a Bright Girl Can Do

    Sally Nicholls

    Product Code: BMVQP
    Paperback 14 years +
    Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote. Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women's freedom. May is fifteen, and already sworn to the cause, though she and her fellow Suffragists refuse violence. When she meets Nell, a girl who's grown up in hardship, she sees a kindred spirit. Together and in love, the two girls start to dream of a world where all kinds of women have their place. But the fight for freedom will challenge Evelyn, May and Nell more than they ever could believe. As war looms, just how much are they willing to sacrifice?

    This title has been shortlisted for 2019's CILIP Carnegie Medal.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info More info

Our wide range of contemporary books features treasured modern favourites, poignant coming-of-age tales, exciting books by YouTube stars, gripping novels by highly-acclaimed authors, and contemporary classics for kids of all ages.

Modern must-haves

Many of our contemporary titles are hugely popular and mustn’t be missed. Check out some of our best-loved books, including Noughts and Crosses, The Story of Tracy Beaker, The Fault in Our Stars and many more.

Inspirational authors and thrilling books

Our range features titles from celebrated authors including Jacqueline Wilson, James Patterson and Louise Rennison, as well as exciting modern books from YouTube stars including Zoe Sugg and John Green. Kids are guaranteed to love these brilliant authors’ funny, poignant and captivating books.

Contemporary themes, perfect for modern kids

Contemporary books often highlight important issues in modern society, introducing children to tricky topics with sensitivity and humour. Children will learn about loss, love, bereavement, mental health difficulties, growing up and the increasingly pervasive online world in these illuminating titles.

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.