User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Chapter Books for Kids

  • CLEARANCE

    Harry Potter Books 1-3: Audio Collection - 25 CDs

    JK Rowling

    Product Code: HPCD
    Audio 9 years +
    (12)
    Hand-picked favourites
    This set contains unabridged audio versions of the first three Harry Potter books - the perfect gift for young witches and wizards. They might not be on the Hogwarts Express but they can still enjoy the magic of these timeless tales.

    Narrated by Stephen Fry, these Harry Potter audio books follow the young wizard Harry as he heads off to Hogwarts and battles with the evil Lord Voldemort. Everyone will be on tenterhooks as they listen to these gripping and timeless stories by J.K. Rowling.

    Running time: approx 35 hours
    Format: CD
    Unabridged

    CDs in this collection:
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Disc 1-7, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets - Disc 1-8, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - Disc 1-10.
    • £15.00
    • RRP £95.00
    • Save £80.00
    (12) More info
  • CLEARANCE

    Complete Anne of Green Gables Collection - 8 Books

    L.M. Montgomery

    Product Code: CAGG
    Collection 10 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables is a classic series of children's books that has recently been adapted into a popular Netflix series.

    In Anne of Green Gables, the scrawny, freckled girl with bright red hair arrives on Prince Edward Island and takes Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert by surprise. They were expecting a quiet boy to help them with their farm work, but instead they welcomed a chatty girl full of hope and wonder.

    Anne of Avonlea takes place five years later and finds Anne starting a job as a teacher at her old school. She's not much older than the pupils and has so much to prove. Can she inspire a love of learning?

    In Anne of the Island, Anne leaves Green Gables for university. She's always dreamt of this moment but her feelings are bittersweet - she's excited to see the world and broaden her horizons but also anxious about leaving her home, family and friends behind... This is the complete series of charming books for your little reader to enjoy and cherish.

    Format: paperback
    • £7.00
    • RRP £55.92
    • Save £48.92
    Just £0.88 per book
    More info
  • CLEARANCE

    Judy Blume's Fudge Collection - 5 Books

    Judy Blume

    Product Code: BLUM
    Collection 7 years +
    (4)
    Hand-picked favourites
    In worldwide-bestselling author Judy Blume's laugh-out-loud series for younger readers, Peter thinks he has the world's biggest problem - a naughty little brother called Fudge...

    Freshly illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medal-winning Emily Gravett, the Fudge books are very funny and perfect for bridging the gap between picture books and longer chapter stories.

    Throughout the books, Fudge's long-suffering brother has to put up with Fudge trying to sell their baby sister, Fudge's excitement about going on holiday and his attempts to steal Andrew's new turtle, Dribble!

    Format: paperback
    • £5.00
    • RRP £29.95
    • Save £24.95
    Just £1.00 per book
    (4) More info
  • CLEARANCE

    Me and Mister P Collection - 3 Books

    Maria Farrer and Daniel Rieley

    Product Code: MMRP
    Collection 8 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Joe has moved to a new country with his family and things are starting to get a little bit strange!

    His suitcase has disappeared and seems to have been replaced by a polar bear. He had plans to blend in, but now he's going to have a huge bear with him at all times. At least Mister P is funny, caring and helpful(-ish)...

    These illustrated chapter books are packed with drama, heart and laughter and will encourage young readers to celebrate their individuality and learn about the importance of empathy. Mister P is there for Joe and his friends as she sits back and listens to his common worries and troubles and helps him tackle them in a positive (and subtle) way.
    Format: paperback
    • £3.00
    • RRP £20.97
    • Save £17.97
    Just £1.00 per book
    More info
  • CLEARANCE

    Teacup House Collection - 3 Books

    Hayley Scott

    Product Code: TCPH
    Collection 7 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Come and visit The Twitches of Teacup House: a magical miniature doll's house where visitors are always welcome - especially if they have cake or bring a puppy!

    Written by Hayley Scott and illustrated by Pippa Curnick, these full-colour animal stories offer an enchanting and contemporary combination of Beatrix Potter and The Borrowers.

    These stories follow a young heroine called Stevie and her mum as they enjoy meeting charming characters and go on incredible adventures.
    Format: paperback
    • £2.00
    • RRP £17.97
    • Save £15.97
    Just £0.67 per book
    More info
  • CLEARANCE

    The Incredible Dadventure Collection - 3 Books

    Dave Lowe

    Product Code: TIDV
    Collection 8 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Prepare for an incredible adventure with Holly and her taskmaster dad! These pacy, illustrated chapter books are full of excitement and their joyful tone will appeal to children who wouldn't normally pick up a book.

    The Incredible Dadventure kicks off this series of funny stories about trying your best and bonding with your family. Holly is bored of being stuck at home with her mum while her dad has amazing adventures all over the world. Luckily for her, he's now planned a special treasure hunt where she has to complete ten tasks in ten days... Some are silly, some are tricky and some are dangerous!

    In The Mumbelievable Challenge, Holly is faced with a task that would challenge any modern child: five days in the woods without any technology. The Spectacular Holly-Day follows Holly all the way to Malaysia. She wants to explore the sights, sounds and smells of Asia but Dad would rather spend time in the free spa...

    For fans of The Treehouse Series, David Baddiel, Pamela Butchart

    This collection contains books 1-3 in Dave Lowe's The Incredible Dadventure series.
    Format: paperback
    • £3.00
    • RRP £17.97
    • Save £14.97
    Just £1.00 per book
    More info
  • CLEARANCE

    Megan Rix Collection - 3 Books

    Megan Rix

    Product Code: MRIX
    Collection 7 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Fans of Dick King-Smith and Michael Morpurgo will love this fascinating series full of adventure and super-cute animals! All of the books feature historical figures.

    Florence and the Mischievous Kitten is the perfect introduction to Florence Nightingale for children. It tells a warm and humorous story about her missing kitten, Scamp, and the unlikely friendship that is formed after a penniless orphan named Beth finds him in the middle of the city.

    Shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award 2015, Emmeline and the Plucky Pup teaches children about the mark in history when women gained the right to vote in 1918. Leader of the suffragettes Emmeline Pankhurst get a helping hand from her ward's new pup, Rascal, in this brave tale.

    When 9-year-old animal rescue worker Harry is asked to take a very special birthday present to Winston Churchill's home, he can't wait for learn all about the Prime Minister's much-loved pets. But will he ever live out his dream of owning his own?
    Format: paperback
    • £2.00
    • RRP £17.97
    • Save £15.97
    Just £0.67 per book
    More info
  • CLEARANCE

    A Pony Called Secret Collection - 3 Books

    Olivia Tuffin

    Product Code: APCS
    Collection 9 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    From the author of The Palomino Pony series, this exciting collection features three perfect pony stories and is filled with adventure and a genuine love of horses!

    Using funny antics from her own ponies, Olivia Tuffin writes with real heart and knowledge of the equestrian world. And in this heartwarming series, readers see Alice follow her dream of achieving success with her young strawberry roan pony, Secret.

    After struggling with Secret's training, a chance encounter with the mysterious Finn changes everything. And when Alice finally joins pony club, she is thrilled to be invited to super-popular Hannah's party. But as snow begins to fall and a pony escapes, Alice and Finn rush to the rescue...Can their friendship survive the storm?

    Alice finally reaches the Olympia Horse Show with Secret, but she soon runs into trouble with the competition - a suspicious girl named Leah. On the night before the big day, Secret is stolen and Alice's dream turns into a nightmare. It must be impossible for Alice and Finn to track him down!

    Format: paperback
    • £3.00
    • RRP £20.97
    • Save £17.97
    Just £1.00 per book
    More info
  • CLEARANCE

    Daisy and the Trouble with Zoos

    Kes Gray

    Product Code: ZOS2
    Paperback 7 years +
    (2)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Kes Gray struck a chord with his toddler picture book Eat Your Peas, and he now introduces Daisy to an older readership In Daisy and the Trouble with Zoos. Illustrated by Nick Sharratt and Garry Parsons, Daisy's adventures with penguins will have newly independent readers laughing uproariously. This brilliant book was a winner of a Red House Children's Book Award and will delight readers from 7+.
    • £2.00
    • RRP £5.99
    • Save £3.99
    (2) More info

Kids' chapter books teach your child reading skills as they stay focused and entertained guessing what could happen next in the story.

Build your own storyteller

Chapter books for children transport kids to an absorbing land of make-believe whereby the exciting tales they read about help inspire their own storytelling abilities in school. Designed for ages four and above, our wide range boasts popular titles from well-known collections such as Horrid Henry and Spy Dog, as well as lesser-known but just as great standalone books.

Great for development

Longer by nature, chapter books for kids progress your child’s vocabulary as well as their ability to pause, reflect and wonder what might be about to happen midway through a story. This form of self-reading is a fundamental skill in their overall development.

Find a top chapter book

Take a look at our comprehensive selection of chapter books for children above - the perfect gift for any intermediate reader.

The Book People's best chapter books for kids

  • Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
  • Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  • The Children of Noisy Village by Astrid Lindgren
  • Fudge by Judy Biume
  • A Pony Called Secret by Olivia Tuffin
  • Horrid Henry by Francesca Simon
  • Streaker by Jeremy Strong
  • Minikid by Michael Morpurgo
  • Teacup House by Hayley Scott
  • Gracie La Roo by Marsha Qualey