User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Read more

Buy fiction books including contemporary and classic novels, crime thrillers, great value collections from The Book People. Our hand-picked selection of fiction novels are page-turners you'll soon be absorbed in. You can help a detective crack their next case, fall in love and do so much more.

Read less

Home : Fiction

  • A Monster Calls

    Patrick Ness

    Product Code: MCX2
    Paperback 11 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    The winner of both the Carnegie Medal and Kate Greenaway Medal in 2012, Chaos Walking author Patrick Ness' A Monster Calls is an extraordinarily moving novel about the difficult subject of terminal illness and coming to terms with loss.

    Based on an idea by the late Siobhan Dowd, this is an unforgettable read. 'The monster showed up just after midnight. As they do...' is how the book begins, but it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting. He's been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he's had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. This monster is something different - something ancient and something wild.

    Now an acclaimed film starring Felicity Jones, Sigourney Weaver and Liam Neeson, A Monster Calls is a heartbreakingly beautiful read.
    • £3.00
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.99
    More info
  • Noughts & Crosses

    Malorie Blackman

    Product Code: NOU2
    Paperback 12 years +
    (1)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Praised by Benjamin Zephaniah and widely regarded as one of the most inspiring and influential teen series of recent years, former Children's Laureate Malorie Blackman's Noughts and Crosses is a book that tackles prejudice, racism, distrust and terrorism.

    Sephy and Callum have been friends since they were both very young and despite their feelings for each other indicating they want something more, that's as far as it can go...

    However, romance cannot be stopped even in a world full of anger, division and separation. Their love story ends up leading them both into terrible danger...
    • £4.00
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £3.99
    (1) More info
  • Pride and Prejudice

    Jane Austen

    Product Code: JNP2
    Paperback 12 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    The book that introduced Mr. Darcy, Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice is one of the all-time classic novels and is presented here with cover artwork by Emily Sutton.

    'It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.' At least that's what Mrs Bennet thinks as she tries to push her five daughters into marriage. But things don't always go to plan...
    • £3.00
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.99
    More info
  • Tess of the d'Urbervilles

    Thomas Hardy

    Product Code: TDU2
    Paperback 12 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Thomas Hardy's Tess of the d'Urbervilles follows the starving Durbeyfields as they discover they have a connection to a wealthy family.

    They send their beautiful daughter Tess to the d'Urbervill mansion to claim kinship and restore their fortunes. But will she be able to convince her handsome 'cousin' Alec to help her?
    • £3.00
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £4.99
    More info
  • Flash

    The Disgrace of Kitty Grey

    Mary Hooper

    Product Code: ISG2
    Paperback 11 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Kitty is living a happy, carefree and fairly pampered life in the countryside. She feels the river man Will is very fond of her, as she is of him, and is just waiting for him to ask to marry her. But when he disappears to the city of London, Kitty is at first worried and then furious. Has he been leading her on all this time? When Kitty is asked to go to London to pick up a copy of Pride and Prejudice, the latest novel from the fashionable author Jane Austen, she leaps at the chance and decides to track down Will. But Kitty is shocked at how big and vast London is, and how careful she must be. Mugged by pickpockets within minutes of arriving, she has lost her only means of returning home and will have to steal to survive... Mary Hooper's The Disgrace of Kitty Grey will appeal to fans of Eva Ibbotson and Philippa Gregory.
    • £1.00
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £5.99
    More info

Explore our fantastic fiction books and discover your new favourite read. Whether you’re looking to curl up with a cosy crime novel, be gripped by an adrenaline-fuelled thriller, escape into a heart-warming romance or be whisked away on an enthralling adventure, you’ll find all the best fiction books here at unbelievable prices.

Unforgettable books from incredible authors

We offer an amazing range of much-loved adult fiction books to read from the world’s most celebrated authors. If you’re looking for good fiction books to read then you’ll find plenty of new releases and timeless classics in our range.Take a trip into outer space with our fantastic range of science fiction books or disappear into a magical realm with our brilliant fantasy books.

Bucket list books

Don’t miss out on all the wonderful titles that simply must be read. Discover stunning classics that never lose their appeal, including works by Charles Dickens, Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters, as well as acclaimed contemporary books that are sure to be bestsellers for years to come.

Fantastic collections

Our book collections allow you to fully immerse yourself in a genre or series, with no need to wait for a new book between reads. Discover collections of stunning romance novels, white-knuckle crime books, captivating mysteries and more. For keen readers, we also offer collections of books shortlisted for prestigious awards, including the Booker Prize and Costa First Novel Award.