A Guide to the Rainbow Magic Books

The Rainbow Magic books by Daisy Meadows have been filling young readers with wonder ever since they were first published in 2003. And, over the last 15 years over 200 Rainbow Magic books have been released! This means there are loads of fun and magical stories for your children to enjoy in the series, but, it may also make putting your kid's collection together seem a little bit tricky. So, we've put together a guide to the Rainbow Magic books to help you fill your children's lives with these magical stories without the stress of not knowing if they're right for your kids and where to start.  

https://d2tqgpgd22c5m.cloudfront.net/siteimages/tbp/articles/A-Guide-to-the-Rainbow-Magic-books-header.jpg

What is the Rainbow Magic series?

The Rainbow Magic series is a range of books written by several authors under the pseudonym "Daisy Meadows". Each book features a dedication to the author (using their real name) who wrote each story. All the books in the series are focused on two little girls, Kirsty and Rachel who meet and befriend fairies. There are several different Rainbow Fairy series that feature fairies and stories linked to different themes. 

So, what are the different series?

The Rainbow Magic books began in 2003 with 7 Rainbow Fairies, each one representing a different colour of the rainbow. The book titles are Ruby the Red Fairy, Amber the Orange Fairy, Saffron the Yellow Fairy, Fern the Green Fairy, Sky the Blue Fairy, Izzy the Indigo Fairy and Heather the Violet Fairy. After this several other fairy series appeared, including The Weather Fairies, The Party Fairies, The Jewel Fairies, The Pet Keeper Fairies and more. Although The Rainbow Fairies series came first, the different individual series can be read in any order so if your child loves animals, starting with the Pet Keeper Fairies may be a great way to introduce them to the Rainbow Magic world. 

https://d2tqgpgd22c5m.cloudfront.net/siteimages/tbp/articles/Rainbow-Fairies.jpg

Are all the books about fairies?

No, there is also a spin-off series called Magic Animal Friends all about various little creatures on their own magical adventures. The first four Magic Animal Friends books were published in 2014 but more have followed after. 

Are they right for your children?

These exciting books are well-loved by many children who can't get enough of magical and fantastical stories. They are perfect for fans of My Little Pony and Disney princesses and we've put them at reading age 5 years + so they are great for introducing to kids just transitioning into reading chapter books for the first time. There are, however, a range of Rainbow Magic books specifically designed for Early Readers so if you think they sound right for your little ones these may just be the best place to start. 

https://d2tqgpgd22c5m.cloudfront.net/siteimages/tbp/articles/More-Rainbow-Fairies.jpg

Now you know all there is to know about the amazingly fun (and quite extensive!) world of the Rainbow Magic books. With so many to choose from and each being one part of various short series, there are plenty of stories and characters for your kids to enjoy. So, what's our favourite of the many many Rainbow Magic Fairies? Why, it's Lydia the Reading Fairy, of course! 

  • ADUXT 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10Save 2.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such incredible adventures with the fairies await them! in this second book in the series, the girls must try to find Amber the Orange Fairy and reunite her with her sister, Ruby.
  • ADVAT 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10Save 2.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! in this exciting story, the girls need to find Sky before the naughty goblins track her down...
  • ADUWL 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10Save 2.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such incredible adventures with the fairies await them! in this third book in the series, Rachel and Kirsty follow the buzzing bees to try to find Saffron the Yellow Fairy.
  • AHMMV 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.69
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.30Save 6.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such incredible adventures with the fairies await them! in this first book in the series, Rachel and Kirsty meet Ruby the Red Fairy at the end of the rainbow...
  • AGUPF 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10Save 2.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.
  • AGUPD 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10Save 2.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! In the last exciting book in the series, the girls must find Heather the Violet Fairy and then go with the fairies to Fairyland to make sure that all the colours have returned to the magical kingdom!
  • AGUPE 5 years +
    5 years +
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10Save 2.00%
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! In this sixth book in the series, Rachel and Kirsty enter a magical world in order to find Izzy the Indigo Fairy...