User Heart Menu Basket

A Guide to the Rainbow Magic Books

The Rainbow Magic books by Daisy Meadows have been filling young readers with wonder ever since they were first published in 2003. And, over the last 15 years over 200 Rainbow Magic books have been released! This means there are loads of fun and magical stories for your children to enjoy in the series, but, it may also make putting your kid's collection together seem a little bit tricky. So, we've put together a guide to the Rainbow Magic books to help you fill your children's lives with these magical stories without the stress of not knowing if they're right for your kids and where to start.  

https://d2tqgpgd22c5m.cloudfront.net/siteimages/tbp/articles/A-Guide-to-the-Rainbow-Magic-books-header.jpg

What is the Rainbow Magic series? 


The Rainbow Magic series is a range of books written by several authors under the pseudonym "Daisy Meadows". Each book features a dedication to the author (using their real name) who wrote each story. All the books in the series are focused on two little girls, Kirsty and Rachel who meet and befriend fairies. There are several different Rainbow Fairy series that feature fairies and stories linked to different themes. 

So, what are the different series?

 

The Rainbow Magic books began in 2003 with 7 Rainbow Fairies, each one representing a different colour of the rainbow. The book titles are Ruby the Red Fairy, Amber the Orange Fairy, Saffron the Yellow Fairy, Fern the Green Fairy, Sky the Blue Fairy, Izzy the Indigo Fairy and Heather the Violet Fairy.


  • AHMMV 5 years +

    Ruby the Red Fairy (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such incredible adventures with the fairies await them! in this first book in the series, Rachel and Kirsty meet Ruby the Red Fairy at the end of the rainbow...
    • £4.69
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info

 

  • ADUXT 5 years +

    Amber the Orange Fairy (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows
    When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such incredible adventures with the fairies await them! in this second book in the series, the girls must try to find Amber the Orange Fairy and reunite her with her sister, Ruby.
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info



After this several other fairy series appeared, including The Weather Fairies, The Party Fairies, The Jewel Fairies, The Pet Keeper Fairies and more. Although The Rainbow Fairies series came first, the different individual series can be read in any order so if your child loves animals, starting with the Pet Keeper Fairies may be a great way to introduce them to the Rainbow Magic world.


 


  • AMXSH 5 years +

    The Weather Fairies (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows
    Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info

  

  • AWXRN 3 years +

    The Pet Keeper Fairies (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows
    Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info


Are all the books about fairies?

No, there is also a spin-off series called Magic Animal Friends all about various little creatures on their own magical adventures. The first four Magic Animal Friends books were published in 2014 but more have followed after. 

 

  • BOJBE

    Magic Animal Friends Early Reader: Poppy Muddlepup (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows
    The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour! Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me! Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical! Fluffy puppy Poppy Muddlepup needs help! Can the girls rescue Poppy's brother from Grizelda the witch?
    • £4.89
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info


  • CGD2 5 years +

    Magic Animal Friends: Matilda Fluffywing Helps Out (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows Hand-picked favourites
    Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me! Nasty witch Grizelda has used her horrid magic on the Kindness Tree and now all the animals in Friendship Forest are being mean! Can Lily, Jess and baby owl Matilda Fluffywing break Grizelda's spell and save the Heart Trees before it's too late?
    • £2.99
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £2.00
    More info

 


Are they right for your children?

These exciting books are well-loved by many children who can't get enough of magical and fantastical stories. They are perfect for fans of My Little Pony and Disney princesses and we've put them at reading age 5 years + so they are great for introducing to kids just transitioning into reading chapter books for the first time. There are, however, a range of Rainbow Magic books specifically designed for Early Readers so if you think they sound right for your little ones these may just be the best place to start!




  • BKGZI

    My A to Z of Fairies (Paperback)

    Daisy Meadows
    No Rainbow Magic fan should be without this sparkling compendium of fairy fun. From A to Z, this book is jam-packed with magical facts and figures from the world of the fairies and their friends! It's everything you need to be a true Rainbow Magic expert!
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info


  • ATBWF

    My Sparkling Fairies Collection (Hardback)

    Daisy Meadows
    Meet Destiny the Pop Star Fairy and her friends in the special Christmas collection of seven favourite Rainbow Magic stories! Including gorgeous new colour artwork for Holly the Christmas Fairy.
    • £11.29
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £1.70
    More info


  • AHWUQ 5 years +

    My Rainbow Fairies Collection (Hardback)

    Daisy Meadows
    Meet Ruby the Red Fairy and her friends in this wonderful collection of eight favourite Rainbow Magic stories to treasure forever! Including gorgeous new illustrations for Flora the Fancy Dress Fairy.
    • £11.79
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £1.20
    More info




Now you know all there is to know about the amazingly fun (and quite extensive!) world of the Rainbow Magic books. With so many to choose from and each being one part of various short series, there are plenty of stories and characters for your kids to enjoy. So, what's our favourite of the many many Rainbow Magic Fairies? Why, it's Lydia the Reading Fairy, of course!