User Heart Menu Basket

The 2017 Costa Book of the Year Award Winner

The winner of the 2017 Costa Book of the Year Award is the late Helen Dunmore for her beautiful poetry collection Inside the Wave. These moving poems are all about the space between life and death, likening the process of life to the movement of waves. Hauntingly lyrical, we think Helen Dunmore's poetry collection definitely deserves the title Costa Book of the Year.

Alt Text

On the 2nd January, Helen Dunmore's collection was announced as the winner of the Costa Poetry Award. Inside the Wave was then in the shortlist for the top prize alongside the four other category winners: Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine for First Novel; Jon McGregor's Reservoir 13 for Novel; Rebecca Stott's In the Days of Rain for Biography and Katherine Rundell's The Explorer for Children's Book. Inside the Wave was officially announced as the winning title of the 2017 Costa Book of the Year Award on the 30th January 2018.

Helen Dunmore sadly could not accept her award in person after she died of cancer just two months after the publication of Inside the Wave. In her lifetime she wrote 11 poetry collections and in 2007, her poem The Malarkey won the National Poetry Competition. Inside the Wave may be her last but it is far from her only work of astounding literature. Helen also wrote short story collections and adult and children's novels. She had a great many fans, old and young, and will be greatly missed by all who knew her and enjoyed her writing.

Inside the Wave is a must-read for everyone, whether you're a poetry fan, have enjoyed Helen Dunmore's writing before or are completely new to her lyrical style. Explore these poems yourself and become wrapped up in their haunting beauty.

  • Inside the Wave

    Helen Dunmore

    Product Code: CSSVA
    Hand-picked favourites
    Winner of the Costa Book of the Year 2017.

    'To be alive is to be inside the wave, always travelling until it breaks and is gone.'

    The late Helen Dunmore's Inside the Wave is an anthology of poems about the link between the living and the dead - and the underworld and mortal cause. These poems are exquisitely intense and possess a spare and eloquent lyricism as they explore the journey of life.

    This collection of poems includes Helen's final work, the poignant Hold Out Your Arms, which was written shortly before her death.
    • £4.99
    • RRP £9.95
    • Save £4.96
    More info