Alan Furst Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Alan Furst. Book People

Alan Furst

Born 20 February, 1941 in New York, Alan Furst has worked as poet, novelist and journalist. He is most known for his historical spy fiction and Night Soldiers novels including Kingdom of Shadows, The World at Night and The Polish Officer.

Influenced by Graham Greene, many of Alan's novels are set around the Second World War and are New York Times bestsellers. He has lived in France and travelled as journalist in Eastern Europe and Russia.



Alan Furst Books

  • Alan Furst Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781407250359 - Alan Furst
    FURS
    Alan Furst
    • £4.99
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £21.98
    • Just £1.66 per book
    Three novels full of adventure and intrigue in wartime Europe, these books by Alan Furst will appeal to fans of John Le Carre, Henry Porter and John Lawton.

    Kingdom of Shadows follows former Hungarian cavalry officer Nicholas Morath as he returns home to his mistress in 1938. While away in Vienna, he has done a quiet favour for his diplomat uncle. Desperate for Hungary to stop drifting into alliance with Nazi Germany, his uncle has been trading in conspiracies - meaning Morath is edging closer to danger...

    Mission to Paris and The Foreign Correspondent are equally poignant and compelling, providing a remarkable insight into the frailties and fears of humanity when under pressure.
  • AAIGQ
    Alan Furst
    • £9.89
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £0.10
    September, 1939. The invading Germans blaze a trail of destruction across Poland. France and Britain declare war, but do nothing to help. And a Polish resistance movement takes shape under the shadow of occupation, enlisting those willing to risk death in the struggle for their nation's survival. Among them is Captain Alexander de Milja, an officer in the Polish military intelligence service, a cartographer who now must learn a dangerous new role: spymaster in the anti-Nazi underground. Beginning with a daring operation to smuggle the Polish National Gold Reserve to the government in exile, he slips into the shadowy and treacherous front lines of espionage; he moves through Europe, changing identities and staying one step ahead of capture. In Warsaw, he engineers a subversive campaign to strengthen the people's will to resist. In Paris, he poses as a Russian poet, then as a Slovakian coal merchant, drinking champagne in black-market bistros with Nazis while uncovering information about German battle plans. And a love affair with a woman of the French Resistance leads him to make the greatest decision of his life.
  • AYEGP
    Alan Furst
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    Spring, 1941. Britain is losing the war. Paris is occupied by the Nazis, dark and silent at night. But when the clouds part, and moonlight floods the city, a Resistance leader called Mathieu steps out to begin his work. The fighters of the French Resistance are determined not to give up. These courageous men and women - young and old, aristocrats and nightclub owners, teachers and students - help downed British airmen reach the border with Spain. In farmhouses and rural churches, in secret hotels, and on the streets, they risk everything to open Europe's sealed doors and lead Allied fighters to freedom. But as the military police heightens surveillance, Mathieu and his team face a new threat, dispatched from the Reich to destroy them all.
  • AKDOS
    Alan Furst
    • £8.99
    Salonika, 1940. To the bustle of tavernas and the smell of hashish, a secret war is taking shape. In the backrooms of barbers, envelopes change hands, and in the Club de Salonique the air is thick with whispers. Costa Zannis is the city's dashing chief detective - a man with contacts high and low, in the Balkans and beyond. And as unknown ships and British 'travel writers' trickle through the port, he is a man very much in demand. Having helped defeat Italy in the highlands of Macedonia, Zannis returns to a city holding its breath. Mussolini's forces have retreated - for now - but German sights are fixed firmly on the region. And as the situation in Germany worsens, Zannis becomes involved in an audacious plot - smuggling Jews to Istanbul, through the back door of Europe. The British hear he can penetrate the continent's closed borders, and soon Zannis is embroiled in the resistance, and in a reckless love affair that could jeopardise everything. With a remarkable cast of operatives, SPIES OF THE BALKANS is a brilliant espionage novel from Alan Furst.
  • APIZU
    Alan Furst
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.10
    Paris, 1938. Democratic forces are locked in struggle as the shadow of war edges over Europe. Cristian Ferrar, a handsome Spanish lawyer in Paris, is approached to help a clandestine agency supply weapons to beleaguered Republican forces. He agrees, putting his life on the line. Joining Ferrar in his mission is an unlikely group of allies: idealists and gangsters, arms dealers, aristocrats and spies. From libertine nightclubs in Paris to shady bars by the docks in Gdansk, Furst paints a spell-binding portrait of a continent marching into a nightmare - and the heroes and heroines who fought back.
  • BHGTM
    Alan Furst
    • £8.99
    From the master of the wartime espionage novel; a thrilling story of subterfuge at sea May 1941. At four in the morning, a rust-streaked tramp freighter steams up the Tagus river to dock at the port of Lisbon. She is the Santa Rosa, flies the flag of neutral Spain, and is in Lisbon to load cork oak, tinned sardines and drums of cooking oil bound for the Baltic port of Malmo. But she is not the Santa Rosa. She is the Noordendam, a Dutch freighter under the command of Captain Eric DeHaan. She sails for the intelligence division of the British Royal Navy and is involved in a secret mission. On board are a Polish engineer and British spy, Spaniards who fought for Franco and Germans who fought against Hitler. For them, this is a last desperate flight to freedom.
  • AGDEU
    Alan Furst
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.10
  • BHNCA
    Alan Furst
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    Andre Szara, survivor of the Polish pogroms and the Russian civil wars, is a journalist working for Pravda in 1937. War in Europe is already underway and Szara is co-opted to join the NKVD, the Soviet secret intelligence agency. He does his best to survive the tango of pre-war politics by calmly obeying orders and keeping his nose clean. But when he is sent to retrieve a battered briefcase the plot thickens and is drawn into even more complex intrigues.Szara becomes a full-time spymaster and as deputy director of a Paris network, he finds his own star rising when he recruits an agent in Berlin who can supply crucial information. DARK STAR captures not only the intrigue and danger of clandestine life but the day-to-day reality of what Soviet operatives call special work.
  • BHJBM
    Alan Furst
    • £8.99
    Utterly gripping spy thriller set in the glittering world of European high society, just before the Second World War. November, 1940. I.A. Serebin, a writer from Odessa and former decorated Hero of the Soviet Union, is on his way to Istanbul following a cryptic letter from a former lover. Ostensibly there on official business for the International Russian Union, an emigre organisation based in Paris, he is drawn into a clandestine world of international spies and political players. With war in Europe drawing nearer, Serebin is recruited by the British secret services - his mission to stop the export of Romanian oil to Germany. In a race against time, Serebin's journey will take him from the glittering salons of Paris to the back alleys of Bucharest and the Black Sea ports, in a covert operation to staunch the flow of oil, the precious 'blood of victory'.
  • BHMJT
    Alan Furst
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    Paris 1940. The civilised, upper-class life of film producer Jean Casson ends with the German occupation of the city. Out of money and almost out of luck, Casson attempts to work with a German film company but finds himself drawn into the dark world of espionage and double agents. More used to evading jealous husbands than the secret police, Casson beomes a reluctant spy, torn between honour, patriotism, love and survival.
  • AYZDG
    Alan Furst
    • £13.99
    From the undisputed master of historical espionage, a story of courage, love and treachery during the French Resistance. 'Furst's ability to recreate the terrors of espionage is matchless' Robert Harris 'If you are a John le Carre fan, this is definitely a novel for you' James Patterson on Mission to Paris 'As delicately crafted as John le Carre at the height of his George Smiley years' Daily Mail on Spies of the Balkans Spring, 1941. Britain is losing the war. Paris is occupied by the Nazis, dark and silent at night. But when the clouds part, and moonlight floods the city, a Resistance leader called Mathieu steps out to begin his work. The fighters of the French Resistance are determined not to give up. These courageous men and women - young and old, aristocrats and nightclub owners, teachers and students - help downed British airmen reach the border with Spain. In farmhouses and rural churches, in secret hotels, and on the streets, they risk everything to open Europe's sealed doors and lead Allied fighters to freedom. But as the military police heightens surveillance, Mathieu and his team face a new threat, dispatched from the Reich to destroy them all.
  • BHMMM
    Alan Furst
    • £8.99
    The sequel to THE WORLD AT NIGHT featuring Jean Casson Set in the underworld of Paris in 1941. Reluctant spy Jean Casson returns to occupied Paris under a new identity. He is wanted by the Gestapo therefore must stay away from the civilised circles he knew as a film producer and learn to survive in the shadowy backstreets and cheap hotels of Pigalle. Yet as the war drags on, he finds himself drawn back into the dangerous world of resistance and sabotage ...
  • BHMQF
    Alan Furst
    • £7.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £2.00
    Bulgaria, 1934. A young man is murdered by the local fascists. His brother, Khristo Stoianev, is recruited into the NKVD, the Soviet secret intelligence service, and sent to Spain to serve in its civil war. Warned that he is about to become a victim of Stalin's purges, Khristo flees to Paris. Night Soldiers masterfully re-creates the European world of 1934-45: the struggle between Nazi Germany and Soviet Russia for Eastern Europe, the last desperate gaiety of the beau monde in 1937 Paris, and guerrilla operations with the French underground in 1944. Night Soldiers is a scrupulously researched panoramic novel, a work on a grand scale.