User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Alan Gibbons

  • Early Reader: Weirdibeasts: Weird Snowy Day

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: BQD2
    Paperback 5 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    A full colour blue Early Reader story from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel. Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey. Katie Cat saw it first. It was a single white flake drifting down from the sky. It's a snowy day, and that means snowball fights and playing outside with friends. Even the littlest animals can have fun in the snow. A delightful new Weirdibeasts story from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel, and illustrated by Jane Porter.
    • £2.00
    • RRP £4.99
    • Save £2.99
    More info
  • Home Ground

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: BWKNM
    Paperback
    Sam's team are edging closer to the bottom of the league this season and team captain Jordan's bad attitude isn't helping anyone. When Sam spots Hasan playing on the refugee team, he can see that Hasan's got talent and invites him along to practice. Hasan and his friend Faisal prove to be exactly what the team need - but Jordan's not going to accept his new teammates so easily. Can Sam get the boys to pull together and win? Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+
    • £6.89
    • RRP £6.99
    More info
  • Dream Team

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: BMQXS
    Paperback
    East End United are struggling to make this season work. Cairo is their best shot but as Captain he just can't seem to make the team work together. When Coach Ayo suggests heading to the library for some historical research the boys think he's having a laugh but the secret to a great team might just lie in the past. Fabulous football story featuring facts about the best from past to present. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+
    • £5.59
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £1.40
    More info
  • They Saw Too Much

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: BMJRL
    Paperback
    Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?
    • £7.09
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.90
    More info
  • A Strange Land

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: BAJDY
    Paperback
    The Blokes rule Jack's school. They're bullies, racists and meaner than anyone around. And they've targeted Jack's new friend Hassan as their latest victim. Hassan has escaped war in his homeland only to be faced with the wrath of the Blokes. Can Jack stand up for his friend or will he break under pressure? Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 12+
    • £5.59
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £1.40
    More info
  • The Lion Roars

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AYZFU
    Paperback
    Jimi dreams of playing in the all-white kit of the Lions of Senegal but he can't see how his dream will ever come true. Even though he is the best footballer in the region, the bigger boys never let him play with them. But can he change their minds? With huge support from his family, Jimi finds that there is nothing that he can't achieve!Interwoven with lots of facts about the history of African football and African-born footballing superstars such as Didier Drogba, Samuel Eto, Patrick Viera and Yaya Toure, this book is ideal to engage reluctant reading football fans. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 8+
    • £5.89
    • RRP £5.99
    More info
  • End Game

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AYVXC
    Paperback
    A real-life thriller about memory loss, arms dealing, and fathers and sons from million copy selling, prize-winning author, Alan Gibbons. 'He was here again last night, the man with the dead eyes. He was in my room and in my head.' There are not many things Nick Mallory knows for sure. He knows there was a car crash. He knows he is in hospital. And he knows he feels furious with his father. What he doesn't know is why. As his memories start to return, Nick finds himself caught in a net of secrets and lies - where truth and perception collide and heroes and villains are not easy to tell apart.
    • £7.09
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.90
    More info
  • Vampyr Legion

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AWUEM
    Paperback
    A gripping, virtual reality thriller - the second title in The Legendeer trilogy. What if there are places where our nightmares live and wait for us? Phoenix has found one and it's alive. Armies of bloodsucking vampyrs and terrifying werewolves, the creatures of our darkest dreams, are poised to invade our world. After his battle with the evil Gamesmaster in SHADOW OF THE MINOTAUR, Phoenix knows this is for real. As he prepares to enter the second deadly computer game in The Legendeer series, he knows he must win or never come back. The Legendeer is more than just a game. Play it if you dare.
    • £6.89
    • RRP £6.99
    More info
  • Warriors of the Raven

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AWTZM
    Paperback
    The Legendeer opens the gateway between our world and the world of the myths, between triumph and tragedy. The Gamesmaster almost has us at his mercy. Twice before fourteen-year-old Phoenix has battled against him in Shadow of the Minotaur and Vampyr Legion, but Warriors of the Raven is the game at its most complex and deadly level. Set in the world of Norse myth, Phoenix enters the arena for the final conflict. Join him in Asgard to fight Loki, the Mischief-maker, the terrifying Valkyries, dragons and fire demons - and hope for victory. Our future depends on him. The Legendeer is more than just a game. Play it if you dare.
    • £6.89
    • RRP £6.99
    More info
  • The Edge

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AWTYO
    Paperback
    Winner of the Angus Book Award, THE EDGE is crackly with tension. How will this mother and son escape their abuser and start a new life? We've got to go. Now. It's early morning and Danny's mother is at his bedside, urging him to get up. They're on the run from Chris, his mother's boyfriend, a violent man who beats them both up, and won't let them go. Chris pursues Danny and his mother from London to the north, where they take refuge with Danny's grandparents. But even there, nothing is safe. Danny is conspicuous as the only mixed-race boy in their small community, and with the ever-present threat of discovery, he has to learn how to live continually on the edge. A tense and chilling story with terrific drama, THE EDGE shows the depth of character and the understanding of the predicaments of children today that gives Alan Gibbons his special quality.
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info
  • Trap

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AWODY
    Paperback
    Terrorism, heroism and everything in between...THE TRAP is a teen thriller about espionage, a missing brother and the ever-raging war on terror by million-copy-selling author, Alan Gibbons. MI5 agent, Kate, receives a tip-off about an asset, who seems too good to be true. Amir and Nasima are trying to make friends at their new school but struggling to keep a terrible secret. A group of jihadists are planning something. And behind it all stands Majid. Brother. Son. Hero. Terrorist. Spanning Iraq, Syria and England, THE TRAP grapples with one of the greatest challenges of our time.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info
  • Street Corner Dad

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AMBPF
    Paperback
    Family drama set during World War II. It's the height of World War II. Jimmy and his sister Molly are a couple of the only kids to have not been evacuated to the countryside and with no school to speak of, they lead fairly carefree lives despite the war raging around them. But tragedy strikes when their mother is killed in an air-raid and Nan, blaming their father for her death, forbids him to see the children ever again. Can Jimmy and Molly figure out a way to see their father? Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 7+
    • £5.89
    • RRP £6.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info
  • The Greatest

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AKRYK
    Paperback
    Great sporting title, packed with facts about Muhammad Ali. When Ali's bike is stolen by a local bully, he turns to the story of Muhammad Ali for inspiration - the greatest boxer of all time, inspiring the fight of Ali's young life. A brilliant read about standing up to bullies and overcoming the odds. From firm favourite Alan Gibbons. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 12+
    • £6.89
    • RRP £6.99
    More info
  • Raining Fire

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AIQGP
    Paperback
    The gun is the coward's fist. The gun is power. Alex and Ethan are growing up on an estate where there are just two choices: sport or crime. Ethan is selected for a football training programme in the US, his chance to escape the gangs that terrorise his neighbourhood. But Alex is drawn into an explosive feud with a gun at its heart. In this gripping and absorbing real life thriller, Alan Gibbons explores the complex issue of gun crime, and the far reaching consequences it can have.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info
  • The Number 7 Shirt

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: AFDYW
    Paperback
    The story of a boy's journey to becoming a professional footballer. Will the advice of 5 of Manchester United's greats help him achieve his dream? A must for football fans everywhere. Jimmy has always dreamed of becoming a pro footballer and gets one step closer when he's invited to go for a trial for the Man U Academy! But he still has lots to learn. Follow Jimmy's progress with the help of 5 of Man U's heroes, all legends of the number 7 shirt. Fabulous football story featuring facts about Best, Beckham, Cantona, Robson and Ronaldo.
    • £6.89
    • RRP £6.99
    More info
  • An Act of Love

    Alan Gibbons

    Product Code: ADNZW
    Paperback
    Childhood friends Chris and Imran celebrate the Millenium as inseparable blood brothers, they are both seven years old. But by 2011 their lives have taken very different paths. One has joined the Army and served in Afghanistan, the other is a potential jihad recruit. They are no longer friends, and there are bitter wounds between them which remain unhealed. Will their childhood bond be strong enough to overcome an extremist plot? In a highly-charged, honest and life affirming story, told in flashback from both Chris and Imran's viewpoint, Alan Gibbon's cleverly explores the very real issue of terrorism that affects everyone today.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info