User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Ali Shaw

Ali Shaw is the author of The Girl with Glass Feet, a Desmond Elliot Prize for First Novels-winning book. He grew up in Dorset and studied English literature and creative writing at Lancaster University. He worked as a bookseller in a library in Oxford and is also the author of The Trees and The Man Who Rained.


Other authors you may like

Ali Shaw Books

  • The Trees

    Ali Shaw

    Product Code: AUWKI
    Paperback
    A compulsive, mesmerising and wildly imaginative novel in the vein of Pan's Labyrinth and Station Eleven from the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet There came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a suburb, there was now only woodland standing amid ruins...There is no warning. No chance to prepare. The trees arrive in the night: thundering up through the ground, transforming streets and towns into shadowy forest. Adrien Thomas has never been much of a hero. But when he realises that no help is coming, he ventures into this unrecognisable world. Alongside green-fingered Hannah and her teenage son Seb, Adrien sets out to find his wife and to discover just how deep the forest goes. Their journey will take them to a place of terrible beauty and violence, to the dark heart of nature and the darkness inside themselves.
    • £8.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.80
    More info