Ali Shaw Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Ali Shaw. Book People

Ali Shaw

Ali Shaw is the author of The Girl with Glass Feet, a Desmond Elliot Prize for First Novels-winning book. He grew up in Dorset and studied English literature and creative writing at Lancaster University. He worked as a bookseller in a library in Oxford and is also the author of The Trees and The Man Who Rained.



Ali Shaw Books

  • AUWKI
    Ali Shaw
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80Save 20.00%
    A compulsive, mesmerising and wildly imaginative novel in the vein of Pan's Labyrinth and Station Eleven from the award-winning author of The Girl with Glass Feet There came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a suburb, there was now only woodland standing amid ruins...There is no warning. No chance to prepare. The trees arrive in the night: thundering up through the ground, transforming streets and towns into shadowy forest. Adrien Thomas has never been much of a hero. But when he realises that no help is coming, he ventures into this unrecognisable world. Alongside green-fingered Hannah and her teenage son Seb, Adrien sets out to find his wife and to discover just how deep the forest goes. Their journey will take them to a place of terrible beauty and violence, to the dark heart of nature and the darkness inside themselves.
  • BHPDA
    • £12.99
    A mysterious and frightening alchemical metamorphosis has befallen Ida Maclaird - she is slowly turning into glass, from the feet up. She returns to St Hauda's Land, where she believes the glass first took hold, in search of a cure. Midas Crook is a young loner, who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart, and they begin to fall in love... What they need most is time - and time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass? The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and gripping first novel, a love story to treasure.
  • BSZFJ
    • £11.39
    • RRP £11.99
    • Save £0.60Save 5.00%
    Bipolar? No one really knows what it is. Even today it's still misunderstood and badly affected by stigma. Ali Douglas was no different when she was diagnosed in 2009. Beautiful Chaos is the story of one woman's triumph against Bipolar II and a no-holds-barred account of the reality that comes with the diagnosis. An established television presenter for more than 20 years, Ali Douglas presented the ITN national news, and made history by becoming the first woman to present football's Scottish Premier League. Despite her outwardly glamorous, showbiz lifestyle, mixing with sports personalities and TV celebrities, Ali was secretly fighting wild mood swings and devastating depression, and turned to drugs and alcohol as a way to escape. At her lowest point, she came dangerously close to ending her life. After 35 years of battling serious mental illness, Ali was eventually diagnosed with bipolar disorder II. The diagnosis changed her life beyond recognition. In a journey of self-discovery, healing and acceptance, Ali's first non-fiction book, `Beautiful Chaos', describes her chaotic, heart wrenching, but at times amusing existence, prior to receiving treatment and finding the determination to seek out a meaningful and happy life. Compassionate, informative and funny, `Beautiful Chaos' depicts a breathtakingly honest account of what it's really like to live with bipolar.