User Heart Menu Basket

Books by Alison Croggon

  • The Riddle

    Alison Croggon

    Product Code: AUJBB
    Paperback
    Ideal for fans of Tolkien and Garth Nix, The Riddle is the thrilling follow-on from The Gift, part of the bestselling Books of Pellinor series. Maerad is a girl with a tragic and bitter past, but her powers grow stronger by the day. Pursued by both the Light and the Dark, she and her mentor, Cadvan of Lirigon, seek the Riddle of the Treesong. This mysterious Riddle holds the key to restoring peace to her ravaged kingdom and defeating the enemies she is fated to battle. But what is the true nature of those enemies, and of the Riddle? And is Maerad herself the greatest riddle of all?
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • The Singing

    Alison Croggon

    Product Code: AUJBA
    Paperback
    The Singing is the final instalment in Alison Croggon's highly acclaimed fantasy series The Books of Pellinor, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Trudi Canavan and Garth Nix. The final book follows the separate journeys of Maerad and Cadvan, and Maerad's brother, Hem, as they desperately seek each other in an increasingly battle-torn land. The Black Army is moving north and Maerad has a mighty confrontation with the Landrost to save Innail. All the Seven Kingdoms are being threatened with defeat. Yet Maerad and Hem hold the key to the mysterious Singing and only in releasing the music of the Elidhu together may the Nameless One be defeated. Can brother and sister find each other in time to fight the Nameless One, and are they strong enough to defeat him?
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • The Crow

    Alison Croggon

    Product Code: AUJAZ
    Paperback
    The penultimate instalment in the Books of Pellinor series, The Crow focuses on Maerad's brother, Hem, as he wages his own battle against the forces of the Dark. This compelling novel will delight fans of Tolkien, Ursula le Guin and Tamora Pierce. Whilst his sister, Maerad, pursues her dangerous destiny in the frozen North, Hem is sent south to Turbansk for his own safety. But soon the forces of the Dark overrun the great city and Hem flees with his mentor, Saliman, his white crow, Irc, and a young orphan girl, Zelika, to join the resistance. He agrees to help fight the Nameless One by spying on the child armies of the Dark. Now Hem has a vision - he too has a part to play in Maerad's quest for the Treesong. But Zelika has been captured by the child army. Hem chooses to put his destiny on hold and try to rescue her from the Dark stronghold ...with perilous consequences.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • Black Spring

    Alison Croggon

    Product Code: AFSRT
    Paperback
    This is a fantasy reworking of "Wuthering Heights" which interweaves wizard lore and vendetta with Emily Bronte's beloved classic. "Black Spring" takes the passionate story of Emily Bronte's "Wuthering Heights" and re-imagines it in a fantasy nineteenth-century society set in savage lands sustained by wizardry, where its people live by the vengeance code of vendetta. Like "Wuthering Heights", it's a story within a story, featuring the brooding young Damek, who is swept along by his emotions. The object of his affections is Lina, daughter of the village lord, whose magical powers make her a witch - and witches are not tolerated in this brutally patriarchal society. When Lina is sent away and forced to become a servant, Damek promises revenge and, like Heathcliff, spends a lifetime securing and refining it. This book has strong crossover potential and will appeal as much to adult fans of sophisticated fantasy and the Brontes as to teen fantasy readers. This is a beautifully written and unique take on "Wuthering Heights" which mixes wizard lore and the Armenian vendetta tradition with the epic romance of the original classic.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info