Brian Conaghan Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Brian Conaghan. Book People

Brian Conaghan

Born on 6 October, 1971, Brian Conaghan is a Scottish author who is based in Dublin. He has written The Boy Who Made it Rain, the Carnegie Medal-shortlisted Mr Dog Bits and Costa Children's Book Award 2016 winner The Bombs that Brought Us Together. He worked as a decorator and teacher before becoming and author and his work will appeal to fans of John Boyne.



Brian Conaghan Books

  • The Bombs that Brought Us Together - Hardback - 9781408855744 - Brian Conaghan
    CSCTD 13 years +
    13 years +
    • £4.79
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £8.20Save 63.0000000000000017053025658242404460906982421875%
    Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award 2016, Brian Conaghan's The Bombs that Brought Us Together is a powerful tale of survival and morality that will appeal to fans of John Boyne and Patrick Ness.

    Charlie Law is a 14-year-old who has lived in Little Town his whole life. On the border with Old Country, he's had to live by a string of rules: no drinking, no litter, no fighting. But then he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country and everything changes...

    Bombs start to fall and then Old Country's soldiers arrive... Charlie soon learns that to keep the people you love safe, sometimes you have to do bad things. Charlie finds himself sucked into a dangerous game that includes a gun, a bad man, his closest friend and his dearest enemy.
  • AWNIU
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60Save 20.00%
    Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever. Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town's rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There's a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy. Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will ...Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness, John Boyne and Malorie Blackman.
  • APWAW 12 years +
    12 years +
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30Save 3.00%
    Dylan Mint has Tourette's. His life is a constant battle to keep the bad stuff in - the swearing, the tics, the howling dog that seems to escape whenever he gets stressed. But a routine visit to the hospital changes everything. Overhearing a hushed conversation between the doctor and his mum, Dylan discovers that he's going to die in March. So he makes a list of things he must do before he dies: first, he wants to have real sex with gorgeous Michelle Malloy; second, he's got to find his autistic best friend Amir a new best bud; third, he's got to get his dad back home from the army so they can say goodbye properly. It's not a long list, but it's ambitious, and he doesn't have much time. Sometimes you've just got to go for it - no holding back - and see what happens ...This is the launch of a major new writing talent. Brian Conaghan makes you travel every step of the way in Dylan's shoes, laughing and crying - often at the same time - as Dylan faces the twists and turns of an unfair world with glorious optimism and wit. Shortlisted for The CILIP Carnegie Medal in 2015.
  • BPXGD
    • £8.79
    • RRP £10.99
    • Save £2.20Save 20.00%
    Angry, stirring and tender, this is a bold, questioning exploration of the lengths to which we'll go for the people we love. From the Costa Children's Book Award winning author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Bobby Seed has questions. What's another word for `thesaurus'? How can I tell Bel I want her as my girl friend, not my girlfriend? How much pain is Mum in today? Has she taken her pills? And sometimes, secretly, Why us? Bobby's little brother Danny has questions too. Will Bobby let him have Rice Krispies for dinner? And can he stay up late on the computer? And why won't Mum's stupid illness just GO AWAY? But it's Mum's question for Bobby that could turn everything on its head. It's the Big One. The Unthinkable One. If Bobby agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it. Would he? Could he? Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.
  • AKYBO
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    Dylan Mint has Tourette's. Being sixteen is hard enough, but Dylan's life is a constant battle to keep the bad stuff in - the swearing, the tics, the howling dog that seems to escape whenever he gets stressed... But a routine visit to the hospital changes everything.

    Overhearing a hushed conversation between the doctor and his mother, Dylan discovers that he's going to die next March. So he grants himself three parting wishes or 'Cool Things To Do Before I Cack It'.

    But as Dylan sets out to make his wishes come true, he discovers that nothing - and no-one - is quite as he had previously supposed.

    When Mr Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan has been shortlisted for 2015's CILIP Carnegie Medal.
  • BEWCS
    • £9.49
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £0.50Save 5.00%
    Recommended age 16+. When a school tragedy happens, you may lay the blame on society, the Internet, TV or violent films. Not many of you think it could be the parents' or teachers' fault, do you? But then, is it? We have our say, spout off opinions in different directions according to our view of the world. In this novel, too, they all have their say, but who's right? At only sixteen Clem's world is turned upside down. His Willy-Loman-like father, a travelling salesman and a loser, is transferred from Eastbourne to Glasgow and along with him go Clem and his meek accommodating mother. But Glasgow is rough and Clem's posh English accent is not well-accepted in the sink school he attends. And he's a brilliant scholar. He soon becomes the target for McEvoy's group of thugs for whom slashing faces is the most important ambition in their depraved lives. When a school tragedy happens, you probably lay the blame on society, the Internet, TV or violent films. Not many of you think it could be the parents' or the teachers' fault, do you? But then, is it? We all have our say, spout off opinions in different directions according to our view of the world.In this novel, too, they all have their say, but who's right?