User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Brian McGilloway

  • Flash

    Brian McGilloway Collection - 3 Books

    Brian McGilloway

    Product Code: BMCG
    Collection
    Hand-picked favourites
    Crime fiction fans will be fully absorbed by these captivating, heartbreaking and shocking thrillers from Brian McGiloway. They all follow Inspector Benedict Devlin as he investigates all kinds of sinister situations...

    Bleed a River Deep finds a US diplomat being attacked during the opening of a Donegal gold mine - and Devlin being disciplined for a lapse in security. But when the environmentalist shooter is found dead near the mine, Devlin realises something far more wide-reaching is afoot...

    In The Rising, Devlin is looking into a case of arson that takes him into a world of disappearing teenagers, drug dealers and horrific murders; while The Nameless Dead finds a cold case leading him to the desolate Islandmore where he uncovers a horrifying secret...

    For fans of authors like Peter James, Mark Billingham, Neil Cross

    This collection contains books 3-5 in Brian McGilloway's Inspector Benedict Devlin series
    Format: paperback
    • £2.00
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £21.97
    Just £0.67 per book
    More info
  • Bad Blood

    Brian McGilloway

    Product Code: BPPCA
    Paperback
    'Brian McGilloway blends timeless values with ripped-from-the-headlines issues to produce some of the very best crime fiction being written today' Lee Child A young man is found in a riverside park, his head bashed in with a rock. The only clue to his identity is an admission stamp for the local gay club. DS Lucy Black is called in to investigate. As Lucy delves into the community, tensions begin to rise as the man's death draws the attention of the local gay rights group to a hate-speech Pastor who, days earlier, had advocated the stoning of gay people and who refuses to retract his statement. Things become more complicated with the emergence of a far right group targeting immigrants in a local working-class estate. As their attacks escalate, Lucy and her boss, Tom Fleming, must also deal with the building power struggle between an old paramilitary commander and his deputy that threatens to further enflame an already volatile situation. Hatred and complicity abound in the days leading up to the Brexit vote in McGilloway's new Lucy Black thriller. Compelling and current, Bad Blood is an expertly crafted and acutely observed page-turner. 'Set just before the Brexit vote, this book explores important questions of community and identity. McGilloway shies away from easy answers; instead he gives us a tense and beautifully-written crime novel that takes the reader into lives that aren't seen often enough' Ann Cleeves
    • £8.09
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.90
    More info
  • Preserve the Dead

    Brian McGilloway

    Product Code: AQHFI
    Paperback
    Detective Sergeant Lucy Black is visiting her father, a patient in a secure unit in Gransha Hospital on the banks of the River Foyle. He's been hurt badly in an altercation with another patient, and Lucy is shocked to discover him chained to the bed for safety. But she barely has time to take it all in, before an orderly raises the alarm - a body has been spotted floating in the river below...The body of an elderly man in a grey suit is hauled ashore: he is cold dead. He has been dead for several days. In fact a closer examination reveals that he has already been embalmed. A full scale investigation is launched - could this really be the suicide they at first assumed, or is this some kind of sick joke? Troubled and exhausted, Lucy goes back to her father's shell of a house to get some sleep; but there'll be no rest for her tonight. She's barely in the front door when a neighbour knocks, in total distress - his wife's sister has turned up badly beaten. Can she help? In Preserve The Dead, Brian McGilloway weaves a pacy, intricate plot, full of tension to the very last page. DS Lucy Black's third outing since the bestselling Little Girl Lost, confirms her as one of the decade's most original female detectives: strong, sensitive and ever determined.
    • £8.59
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.40
    More info
  • Hurt

    Brian McGilloway

    Product Code: AIHWT
    Paperback
    Late December. A sixteen-year-old girl is found dead on a train line. Detective Sergeant Lucy Black from the Public Protection Unit is called to identify the body. The murdered girl, Karen Hughes, having a father in prison and an alcoholic mother, had no choice but to live in residential care. With not much to go on DS Black finds the only clue to the girl's movements are her mobile phone and social media and soon discovers her 'friends' may not be all they seem...Meanwhile Lucy's mind is consumed with the recurring trauma of a previous case, where a child lost their life in house fire and the killer runs free. But Lucy has to tread carefully: with a new DI to contend with and the Assistant Chief Constable looking over her shoulder, she can't afford to make a mistake. Hurt is a tense and page-turning crime thriller about the abuse of power and how the young and vulnerable can fall prey to those they should be able to trust. Praise for Little Girl Lost: "Effortlessly blending Black's personal woes into her professional life, McGilloway weaves a taut police procedural in an unadorned style that belies the stories complexity". (Irish Times). "Cleverly constructed, packed with vibrant and believable characters...It confirms him as one of the most original voices in the notably expanding field of Irish crime fiction." (Irish Independent). "Assured and grittily realistic tale from an author who is being compared to James Lee Burke and Ian Rankin". (Sunday Business Post).
    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info