Cathy Sharp Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Cathy Sharp. Book People

Books by Cathy Sharp

  • AOVMY
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60Save 6%
    Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope...It's 1948 and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven. One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice's strict regime. New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy's past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?
  • ARGHL
    • £9.09
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £0.90Save 9%
    A gritty drama that will appeal to fans of The Throwaway Children and authors Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. When little Terry and Nancy arrive at the door of St Saviour's Children's Home, they seem shellshocked after being orphaned in the fire that killed their parents. Terry is terribly damaged by his experiences, though the concerned staff, especially Angela Morton, suspect that there is something more sinister behind his disturbing behaviour. Angela shares her anxieties with Mark Adderbury, a psychiatrist volunteering at the home. They've grown closer recently but Angela, still grieving the loss of her husband, feels that Mark needs more from her than she can give. Then why does she feel so jealous at the arrival of Staff Nurse Carole, who seems to have captured Mark's attention? They must all pull together to get to the bottom of what really happened to Terry and Nancy, but the truth may be harder to take than they realise ...
  • AVHQZ
    • £7.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £2.00Save 20%
    A gritty and compelling drama from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries. Little twin sisters, Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her. Now he's finally abandoned them both and they've found sanctuary at St Saviour's Children's Home in London's East End. It seems they're doomed to be separated; no one wants to take Sarah on, but life apart will break their hearts. Alice, a former worker at the home who is now a mother and happily married to Bob, finds her happiness under threat when a face from the past reappears. Jack Shaw, East End bad boy, has always been Alice's weak spot but is she really about to throw everything away? Angela Morton has her hands full; she's now in sole charge. But with Christmas approaching, and more than one orphan in desperate need, St Saviour's is crying out for a miracle...
  • AXHHU
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60Save 6%
    Heartache and hardship in London's East End, from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street It's the 1950's and the orphans of Halfpenny Street have found a new home in the Essex countryside at Halfpenny House. Meanwhile, back among the slum clearances of Bethnal Green, St Saviour's has now been partially given over to a home for disturbed girls though it still serves as a reception centre for local children who are in desperate need. Amongst these are Archie and his sister June. They've been 'latch key' kids; fending for themselves while their caring but harassed and careworn mum tries to make ends meet. Now she's been accused of theft and prison seems inescapable. Archie has no intention of letting his mum go down. He knows she's innocent and will do anything to prove it. But can he help his mum before adoption, and the authorities, take him and June away forever?
  • BSJAM
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30Save 3%
    Cathy Sharp's The Girl in the Ragged Shawl: The Children of the Workhouse is a heartbreaking and uplifting tale about a workhouse orphan called Eliza.

    When she reaches 11 years old, Eliza has survived sickness, near-starvation and harsh beatings. Master Simpkins and his cruel daughter rule the workhouse with a rod of iron, but when Romany boy, Joe, arrives at the workhouse, his spirit and courage give Eliza hope that another life is waiting for her outside...
  • BXKRD
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30Save 3%
    The Orphans of Halfpenny Street author Cathy Sharp returns with The Barefoot Child - a heartbreaking story set in a Victorian workhouse.

    When Lucy and her brother, Joshua, are orphaned, it falls to Joshua to provide for them both, but he is barely into his teens and in his naivety, falls prey to bad influences and drink.

    Lucy is desperate to avoid the workhouse, but when Joshua loses their meagre savings they are thrown out onto the street and, in dire poverty, it isn't long before Lucy finds herself at its gates - almost a fate worse than death. Inside the workhouse, Lucy meets with unkindness and cruelty and she knows she must dig deep within herself if she is to survive, let alone thrive...
  • BMMUX
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60Save 20%
    Cathy Sharp's An Orphan's Courage is a tale of heartache and hardship that will take you back to a bygone era in London's East End.

    New Orphans of Halfpenny Street St Saviours staff member Jinny is glad to escape the lewd advances of her drunken and slovenly mother's rotten boyfriends, but can she prove she isn't a chip off the old block?

    As ever, the staff are tested when orphaned brother and sister Andy and Beth are brought to the home - they are clearly terrified of something, but what?
  • BUQPB
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60Save 20%
    Heartache and hardship in London's East End, from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street Kathy Cole, is a determined young woman. She refuses to stay at home with her bitter, drunken father and is instead determined to do her bit for the men in the Great War by training to be a nurse. While in training, she meets up with a face from the past - Tom O'Rourke - now a doctor with many responsibilities. He doesn't initially take much notice of the young, innocent Kathy and she knows it's wrong to think of Tom as anything other than a friend, especially as she's promised to Billy Ryan back home in the East End. However, Kathy and Tom find themselves thrown together and, like so many other young couples during the war, they become closer than they should. But when the war is finally over, Kathy makes a life-changing decision about her future, believing it to be the only possible solution...with disastrous effects.
  • BUQPA
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60Save 20%
    Heartache and hardship in London's East End, from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street Amy Robinson and her fiance Matthew are struggling to resist the temptations faced by a soon-to-be-wed couple. To avoid these, Matthew throws himself into a new job and she goes to work in an exclusive new dress shop, where she meets Mary Maitland. As her relationship with Matthew deteriorates, Amy becomes increasingly attracted to Mary's cousin, Paul, and a bitter rivalry ensues...
  • BUQFY
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60Save 20%
    Heartache and hardship in London's East End, from the bestselling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street Bridget has always been the one to take on the responsibility for looking after her family. With a drunken, violent mother, an unemployed brother who can't stay out of pub brawls and a wayward sister vulnerable to the smooth talk of shady men, it's hardly surprising when she falls for cheeky local lad, Ernie. But when he breaks her heart, she is drawn to the kind figure of Joe, despite the bad boys of the criminal underworld who lurk in the shadows and seem to have him in their sights. Bridget and Joe try hard to keep a hold on their livelihoods and to keep to the straight and narrow path, but misfortune dogs them and it seems that happiness is always just out of reach...