User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Chris Mooney

  • The Snow Girls

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: BSVKD
    Paperback
    A gripping new thriller from the bestselling Chris Mooney - perfect for readers of Karen Rose, MJ Arlidge or Lisa Gardner 'One of the best thriller writers working today' Lee Child It's been eleven years since Claire Flynn disappeared - abducted without trace from a snowy hillside, leaving her parents heartbroken. Investigator Darby McCormick remembers the case. She knows there's only ever been one suspect, Father Richard Byrne, linked inconclusively to two similar disappearances. Finally, terminally ill, Byrne is willing to talk. But he'll only talk to Darby. She's expecting a confession - but what she hears is far more disturbing. And it soon becomes clear that someone is willing to kill to keep this cold case on ice...
    • £7.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • Every Pretty Thing

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: AWYEA
    Paperback
    In Every Pretty Thing serial killer hunter Darby McCormick finds herself in Montana, looking for a friend. Little does she realise that a murderer is waiting for her ...She came to find her friend. Instead she found a killer. Serial killer expert Darby McCormick gets a call from FBI Agent Jackson Cooper, who has been contacted by a woman who's been in hiding for twenty years. She was one of the only survivors of a murderer who has been carving a dark path across America for decades. Cooper believes he may have tracked this psychopath to the wilds of Montana. Now, he needs Darby's help to bring him in. But when she arrives Cooper has vanished without a trace. Something is very wrong - and as the trail goes cold, Darby is all alone in a strange town, stalked by an unseen predator who wants to add another victim to his collection...(Praise for Chris Mooney) 'One of the best thriller writers working today' Lee Child 'Chris Mooney is a wonderful writer. Compelling, thrilling and touching' Michael Connelly 'Harrowing, gripping, haunting' Harlan Coben 'It will keep you up past your bedtime' Karin Slaughter 'A scary, breakneck ride with thrills that never let up' Tess Gerritsen
    • £7.59
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.40
    More info
  • The Dead Room

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: AUAXZ
    Paperback
    "A compelling story that will keep you up past your bedtime." (Karin Slaughter). "One of the best thriller writers working today." (Lee Child). A dead murderer. A living lie. A mother and her son have been executed in their home. Fingerprint matches reveal their murderer died twenty years ago. Crime Scene Investigator Darby McCormick must solve this disturbing puzzle. But the deeper she digs the more horrors come to light...What is the dark, long-held secret linking these sinister crimes? Is it possible to steal an identity - or are dead men following Darby's footsteps? The line between the living and the dead has never been finer - and the answers lie in the darkest shadows of The Dead Room...Praise for Chris Mooney: "Chris Mooney is a wonderful writer...Compelling, thrilling and touching." (Michael Connelly). "If you want a thriller that will chill your blood, break your heart and make your pulse race, Chris Mooney is your man." (Mark Billingham). "A scary, breakneck ride with thrills that never let up." (Tess Gerritsen). "Harrowing, gripping, haunting, gut-wrenching and beautifully written." (Harlan Coben). "Chris Mooney is an exceptional thriller writer. I envy those who have yet to read him." (John Connolly).
    • £7.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £2.00
    More info
  • The Secret Friend

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: ATZQI
    Paperback
    "One of the best thriller writers working today." (Lee Child). "A wonderful writer...Compelling, thrilling and touching." (Michael Connelly). They're Dying to Meet Him...The discovery of a body in Boston harbor has crime scene investigator Darby McCormick looking into related cases: two dead female students wash up, both abducted months earlier, each carrying a Virgin Mary figurine. It's a troubling mystery that suddenly turns desperate when a third girl goes missing. But when Darby makes a breakthrough, she crosses paths with Malcolm Fletcher, an ex-FBI agent turned vigilante - now on the Most Wanted list - on the hunt for the same predator. Should Darby trust Fletcher or turn him in? Or can she find the killer alone? And just who is this murderer who believes he is a 'secret friend' to his victims...? Praise for Chris Mooney: "If you want a thriller that will chill your blood, break your heart and make your pulse race, Chris Mooney is your man." (Mark Billingham). "A compelling story that will keep you up past your bedtime." (Karin Slaughter). "A scary, breakneck ride with thrills that never let up." (Tess Gerritsen). "Harrowing, gripping, haunting, gut-wrenching and beautifully written." (Harlan Coben). "Chris Mooney is an exceptional thriller writer. I envy those who have yet to read him." (John Connolly).
    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info
  • The Missing

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: ATYOT
    Paperback
    This is the First Darby McCormick Thriller. "Scary story, scary talent. I love this book." (Lee Child). "I devoured The Missing in one greedy, breathless sitting. This is a scary, breakneck ride with thrills that never let up." (Tess Gerritsen). "The Missing is an absolutely gripping mix of suspense and mystery...Compelling, thrilling and touching." (Michael Connelly). The Man with no face is coming...CSI Darby McCormick finds an emaciated, terrified woman hiding in the shadows of a crime scene. A DNA search reveals the woman was abducted five ago and, somehow, she's escaped the dungeon in which she was caged. With a teenage girl also missing, Darby knows the clock is ticking and this woman is their only lead. But what she doesn't know is that this is a serial killer who has been prowling America for decades. A killer who Darby knows. The Man With No Face. Once, long ago, he tore her life apart. Now he wants to finish the job...More praise for The Missing: "The Missing is the season's most unrelenting thriller. It will keep readers enthralled from its gripping opening chapters to its last shocking page." (George Pelecanos). "A page-turner written with great empathy, filled with strong, resilient characters that the reader will cheer and champion." (Laura Lippman). "A masterful thriller; dark and disturbing, with a tearing pace. Mooney writes like a man on fire." (Linda Fairstein). Praise for Chris Mooney: "One of the best thriller writers working today." (Lee Child). "This will keep you up past your bedtime." (Karin Slaughter). "Chris Mooney is a wonderful writer." (Michael Connelly). "If you want a thriller that will chill your blood, break your heart and make your pulse race, Chris Mooney is your man." (Mark Billingham). "Harrowing, gripping, haunting, gut-wrenching and beautifully written' Harlan Coben 'Chris Mooney is an exceptional thriller writer. I envy those who have yet to read him." (John Connolly).
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info
  • Every Three Hours

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: AQXVI
    Paperback
    This is the new pulse-pounding latest instalment in the outstanding Darby McCormick series. "One of the best thriller writers working today." (Lee Child). Who lives and who dies? Only time will tell...Forensic investigator Darby McCormick queues to enter Boston Police Headquarters on a freezing winter morning. Lured back to her home town to help solve a cold case, Darby won't get far inside the station - and this will be no ordinary homecoming...Because someone suddenly takes a woman hostage and a stand-off ensues. The man has explosives strapped to himself and other bombs hidden around the city, rigged to explode - every three hours - until he gets what he wants. Working desperately against the clock, Darby realizes she is trapped between a kidnapper who would kill to expose the truth and people who would let others die to hide their lies...Praise for Chris Mooney: "Chris Mooney is a wonderful writer. Compelling, thrilling and touching." (Michael Connelly). "If you want a thriller that will chill your blood, break your heart and make your pulse race, Chris Mooney is your man." (Mark Billingham). "A compelling story that will keep you up past your bedtime." (Karin Slaughter). "A scary, breakneck ride with thrills that never let up." (Tess Gerritsen). "Harrowing, gripping, haunting, gut-wrenching and beautifully written." (Harlan Coben). This is an exceptional thriller writer. I envy those who have yet to read him." (John Connolly).
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • Fear the Dark

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: AMHTO
    Paperback
    This is the nail-biting new serial killer thriller from the critically acclaimed Chris Mooney, Fear the Dark. A killer watches. A town waits. Fear grips a town in Colorado as a murderer targets entire families in their own homes. As police and the FBI struggle to contain the situation, they bring in forensic investigator and serial killer expert Darby McCormick. What she finds is a brutal and elusive predator who stays one step ahead of their investigation. As Darby navigates the blood-ties and broken promises that divide the locals, she knows that all the while the killer is watching, waiting and circling his next target: her. She must not only meet evil - and somehow survive - but also be prepared to face this small town's dark heart...If you love the novels of bestselling thriller writes like Michael Connelly, Karin Slaughter, and Lee Child then this is the next book you must read. Praise for Chris Mooney: "One of the best thriller writers working today". (Lee Child). "Chris Mooney is a wonderful writer. Compelling, thrilling and touching". (Michael Connelly). "It will keep you up past your bedtime". (Karin Slaughter). "A scary, breakneck ride with thrills that never let up". (Tess Gerritsen). "Harrowing, gripping, haunting". (Harlan Coben). Chris Mooney is the author of eight previous thrillers, of which Remembering Sarah was nominated for the prestigious Edgar Award for Best Novel. The Missing, The Secret Friend and The Soul Collectors are available as Penguin paperbacks. Chris lives in Boston with his wife and son.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • The Soul Collectors

    Chris Mooney

    Product Code: ADBOH
    Paperback
    Ten years ago CSI Darby McCormick investigated a sinister child abduction case. Today, the missing child is back from the dead and holding his family hostage. He makes only one demand. Bring me Darby McCormick ...Charlie Rizzo has his family at gunpoint and when Darby arrives to defuse the scene, she finds him horrifically mutilated, with a mask of human skin sewn in place over his own face. Within minutes, a group of men disguised as SWAT officers bursts in and releases deadly Sarin gas, killing the Rizzo family outright and leaving Darby herself barely alive. Where has Charlie Rizzo been held all these years? Who are The Twelve who have been executing this gruesome torture? And why are the FBI running scared in the face of this particular, chilling episode? Darby is facing the toughest case of her career ...and, as the body count rises, one that will bring her into great personal danger and leave her in fear of losing her mind, if not her soul. For the Soul Collectors are the monsters from your worst nightmares.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £2.10
    More info