Craig Russell Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Craig Russell. Book People

Books by Craig Russell

  • BUMUX
    • £13.59
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £3.40Save 20%
    'A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller . . . ingenious' (A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window) Six confined psychopaths. A killer on the loose. 1935. As Europe prepares itself for a calamitous war, six homicidal lunatics - the so-called 'Devil's Six' - are confined in a remote castle asylum in rural Czechoslovakia. Each patient has their own dark story to tell and Dr Viktor Kosarek, a young psychiatrist using revolutionary techniques, is tasked with unlocking their murderous secrets. At the same time, a terrifying killer known as 'Leather Apron' is butchering victims across Prague. Successfully eluding capture, it would seem his depraved crimes are committed by the Devil himself. Maybe they are... and what links him with the insane inmates of the Castle of the Eagles? Only the Devil knows. And it is up to Viktor to find out. 'Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading... With all the lights on. Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!' Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author of The Yard 'A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller - elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I've ever visited. You'll enter both with dread. You'll dwell in them with relish' A. J. Finn, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 'Sensational serial killer novel . . . in which twists are both jaw-dropping and logical . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris' Publishers Weekly 'Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind' Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse 'A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller . . . an ending that left me dazed' Lincoln Child, New York Times bestselling author 'Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists, The Devil Aspect stayed with me long after I'd turned the final page. Part Gothic horror, part crime thriller, it's an astonishing piece of work' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show 'A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive . . . a taut and chilling tale, expertly crafted . . . I was gripped from the very first page right up to that haunting denouement' Laura Carlin, author of The Wicked Cometh 'Well-crafted gothic crime . . . A smart, atmospheric and entertaining read' Kirkus Reviews 'A Gothic masterpiece in psychological horror and creeping dread, The Devil Aspect is as disturbing as it is compelling. Be prepared to read it in one sitting - and to sleep with the lights on for a long time to come' Neil Broadfoot, author of No Man's Land 'Deliciously authentic and darkly atmospheric . . . a game-changer for the world of crime fiction' Graham Smith, author of Death in the Lakes Join other readers in discovering the The Devil Aspect 'A fabulously gothic tale . . . I was reminded of the writing of Bram Stoker and Robert Louis Stevenson' Netgalley Reviewer 'An astonishing virtuoso piece of gothic horror writing. This is a must read for all fans of literary fiction, great crime and horror writing' Netgalley Reviewer 'Skilfully written and richly imagined' Netgalley Reviewer 'Details are doled out in delicious morsels . . . the prose is extremely cinematic with intense and provocative images' Netgalley Reviewer 'Sophisticated, polished . . . the story has a decidedly Gothic feel' Netgalley Reviewer 'Fascinating, compelling, horrifying' Netgalley Reviewer 'I would be shocked to see this not made into a movie' Netgalley Reviewer 'A kaleidoscopic melange of myth, history, politics, bigotry, psychology, romance, crime, mystery and sublime horror' Netgalley Reviewe...
  • AUAPY
    • £7.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £2.00Save 20%
    Two high profile victims - a former Left-wing radical turned environmental campaigner and a geneticist researching the possibility of inherited memory - are found murdered within 24 hours of each other. Both men have been scalped. Forensic tests reveal that single red hairs left at each scene belong to neither victim, but were cut from the same head - twenty years earlier. Jan Fabel and his murder team find themselves under political and media pressure to track down a killer whom the press has already christened 'The Hamburg Hairdresser'. Connections in the victims' pasts begin to emerge, but Fabel's team is working against the clock. Fabel is caught in a web of intrigue, obsession and revenge that seemingly spans sixteen centuries. He must discover the crucial link between an ancient mummified body, a long-disbanded terrorist group and its infamous leader and a killer who believes he has been reincarnated to exact a terrible revenge on those who betrayed him in a previous life.
  • ATWJC
    • £7.99
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £2.00Save 20%
    Jan Fabel is a troubled man. His relationships with the women in his life are becoming increasingly complicated: his partner, Susanne, is looking for a deeper commitment. His daughter is considering joining the police and his ex-wife holds him responsible. If that weren't enough, after a gap of ten years, a female serial killer - the Angel of St Pauli - again makes the headlines when an English pop star is found in Hamburg's red-light district, dying of the most savage knife wounds. Links emerge with a series of apparently unrelated events. A journalist murdered in Norway. The death of a Serbian gangster. And a long-forgotten project by East Germany's Stasi conceived at the height of the Cold War, involving a highly-trained group of female assassins, known by the codename Valkyrie. Fabel's hunt for the truth will bring him up against the most terrifyingly efficient professional killer. The ultimate avenging angel.
  • ATWJD
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    A girl's body lies, posed, on the pale sand of a Hamburg beach, a message concealed in her hand. 'I have been underground, and now it is time for me to return home...' Jan Fabel, of the Hamburg murder squad, struggles to interpret the twisted imagery of a dark and brutal mind. Four days later, a man and a woman are found deep in woodland, their throats slashed deep and wide, the names 'Hansel' and 'Gretel', in the same, tiny, obsessively neat writing, rolled tight and pressed into their hands. As it becomes clear that each new crime is a grisly reference to folk stories collected almost two hundred years ago by the Brothers Grimm, the hunt is on for a serial killer who is exploring our darkest, most fundamental fears - a predator who kills and then disappears into the shadows. He is a monster we all learned to fear in childhood.
  • ATWQI
    • £8.43
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £1.56Save 15%
    Two women are killed in the same horrific, ritualistic manner. The murderer taunts the police with e-mails. It seems clear that a serial killer is at work, selecting victims at random and living out some twisted fantasy. But, as Jan Fabel and his murder team investigate further, nothing is as it first seems. They are drawn into a dark half-world of Viking myth and legend, of obscure religious cults, of political intrigue and of a violent struggle to seize control of the city. And as Fabel desperately races to track down the killer before more killings take place, he and his team come face to face with a cold, brutal menace they could never have predicted. A greater evil than they could ever have imagined.
  • ATZHZ
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80Save 20%
    The Cologne police know a woman is going to die. They know the day it will happen. And they're powerless to stop it. They call on an outside expert: Jan Fabel, head of Hamburg's Murder Squad and Germany's leading authority on serial killers. Fabel is on the point of leaving the police for good, but Carnival in Cologne is a time when the world goes crazy, and he is drawn into the hunt for the Carnival Cannibal. What he doesn't know is that he is on a collision course with a crack special forces unit from Ukraine and a disturbed colleague with a score to settle. Fabel finds himself on a trail of betrayal and vengeance, violence and death. And once more he faces his greatest enemy. The true Master of the Carnival.
  • ADSJA
    • £8.09
    • RRP £9.99
    • Save £1.90Save 19%
    Just as a major environmental summit is about to start in Hamburg, a massive storm hits the city. When the flood waters recede, a headless torso is found washed up. Initially, Jan Fabel of the Murder Commission fears it may be another victim of a serial rapist and murderer who stalks his victims through internet social network sites, then dumps their bodies in waterways around the city. But the truth of the situation is far more complex and even more sinister. Fabel's investigations lead him to a secretive environmental Doomsday cult called 'Pharos', the brainchild of a reclusive, crippled billionaire, Dominik Korn. Fabel's skills as a policeman are tested to their utmost as he finds himself drawn into an unfamiliar, high tech world of cyberspace, where anyone can be anybody or anything they want. And he quickly realises that he is no longer the hunter, but the hunted.
  • BGVOC
    • £12.79
    • RRP £15.99
    • Save £3.20Save 20%
    Original story by NEIL GAIMAN Adaptation, art and cover by P. CRAIG RUSSELL P. Craig Russell's comics adaptation of Neil Gaiman's epic fantasy novella is now in trade paperback. A young monk and a shape-changing fox find themselves romantically drawn together. But when the fox learns of a plot to steal the monk's life, she'll need the aid of Morpheus to save the man she loves. On sale SEPTEMBER 29 * 144 pg, FC, $19.99 US * MATURE READERS