User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Imogen Edwards-Jones

  • The Witches of St. Petersburg

    Imogen Edwards-Jones

    Product Code: BWKUH
    Paperback
    'Sumptuous, sexy and haunting' Santa Montefiore. Brimming with black magic, sex and intrigue, a gorgeous historical novel for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore. The Russian Empire is on the verge of collapse. Revolution is in the air. The starving stalk the streets of St Petersburg and yet the Imperial Court still commute between their estates and organise their lavish balls. Two sisters arrive in the city. Princesses from Montenegro; they are famed for their wild beauty and mystical powers. Initially ridiculed and outcast as the daughters of a provincial 'Goat King', they react in the only way they know how. They befriend the isolated Tsarina Alexandra and, using their gifts, they help her in her increasingly desperate quest to give birth to a son and heir. The circle closes. The girls are the gateway. Gurus, clairvoyants, holy fools and charlatans all try their luck. Then in one last, doomed, throw of the dice, the sisters introduce Rasputin into the Russian Court... Based on the true story of the lives of Princess Militza and Princess Anastasia of Montenegro during the dying days of the Russian Empire, The Witches of St Petersburg is a tale of love, lust, power and betrayal at the heart of the Romanov Court. 'With precision and razor-sharp accuracy ... A brilliant take on the historical novel' CANDACE BUSHELL. 'Rasputin rocks the Romanovs! A richly imagined glimpse into the bizarre world of the Russian court ... A rip-roaring read' DAISY GOODWIN.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • The Witches of St. Petersburg

    Imogen Edwards-Jones

    Product Code: BSMSL
    Hardback
    'Sumptuous, sexy and haunting' Santa Montefiore. Brimming with black magic, sex and intrigue, a gorgeous historical novel for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Santa Montefiore. The Russian Empire is on the verge of collapse. Revolution is in the air. The starving stalk the streets of St Petersburg and yet the Imperial Court still commute between their estates and organise their lavish balls. Two sisters arrive in the city. Princesses from Montenegro; they are famed for their wild beauty and mystical powers. Initially ridiculed and outcast as the daughters of a provincial 'Goat King', they react in the only way they know how. They befriend the isolated Tsarina Alexandra and, using their gifts, they help her in her increasingly desperate quest to give birth to a son and heir. The circle closes. The girls are the gateway. Gurus, clairvoyants, holy fools and charlatans all try their luck. Then in one last, doomed, throw of the dice, the sisters introduce Rasputin into the Russian Court... Based on the true story of the lives of Princess Militza and Princess Anastasia of Montenegro during the dying days of the Russian Empire, The Witches of St Petersburg is a tale of love, lust, power and betrayal at the heart of the Romanov Court.
    • £15.19
    • RRP £18.99
    • Save £3.80
    More info
  • Beach Babylon

    Imogen Edwards-Jones

    Product Code: BIRGM
    Paperback
    How does it feel to live and work in the world's most beautiful and luxurious tropical island resort, surrounded by white sandy beaches and aquamarine seas? How does it feel to be in the lap of luxury when you're thousands of miles from anywhere else? And when the guests are some of the richest and most demanding people in the world, where do you find the energy every day to smile, smile and smile again?"Beach Babylon" takes you behind the scenes at a five-star tropical island resort. Do all the stories which take place behind the closed doors of the exclusive spa have happy endings? What do the world's richest people expect from room service during their fortnight in paradise? What does the windsurfing instructor do to keep sane after hours? In the bestselling tradition of her previous Babylon books, Imogen Edwards-Jones investigates the rivalries and alliances between the staff at a resort where pandering to the guests' most extravagant whims is de rigueur. With a cast of millionaires, celebrities, hangers-on and prostitutes, "Beach Babylon" takes you to a world where extreme luxury is the norm and where excess somehow isn't always enough.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • Pop Babylon

    Imogen Edwards-Jones

    Product Code: BHQMX
    Paperback
    How do you make it as a pop star? Why does one boy band make it big and another disappear off the pages of the magazines altogether? Why do girls cost more than boys? And who should you sleep with to get to number one? Packed with scandal and intrigue, Pop Babylon takes you to the dark heart of one of the world's most wicked and secretive industries. It's a world where money talks, bullshit walks and drugs are a way of life. And where talent isn't always at the top of the list of priorities...Tracking a year in the making of a brand-new boy band, "Pop Babylon" is pure, unadulterated reading pleasure - stuffed with stories about pop's most demanding divas, which jocks do shock and just how long you can chop a line of cocaine. Disgraceful, revelatory and great down-and-dirty fun, it's essential reading for anyone who wants to know what it really takes nowadays to be top of the pops.
    • £7.29
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.70
    More info
  • Restaurant Babylon

    Imogen Edwards-Jones

    Product Code: AJNAR
    Paperback
    What makes a restaurant hot? Whose name do you need to drop to get a table? Why is one place booked solid for the next nine months while somewhere equally delicious is as empty and inhospitable as the Gobi desert? Welcome to the restaurant business, where the hours are punishing, the conditions are brutal and the Chef's Special has been languishing at the back of the fridge for the past three days. This is an industry plagued with obsessives. Why else do some chefs drive themselves crazy in pursuit of elusive Michelin stars, when in reality all they're doing is 'making someone else's tea'? Nothing is left to chance: the lighting, the temperature or even the cut of the salmon fillet. There's even a spot of psychology behind the menu. What do they want you to order? What makes them the most money? And why should you really hold back on those side dishes? In Restaurant Babylon, Imogen Edwards-Jones and her anonymous industry insider lift the lid on all the tricks of the food trade and what really makes this GBP90 billion a year industry tick. So please do sit down, pour yourself some heavily marked-up wine and make yourself comfortable (although we'll need that table back by 8.3 0 sharp).
    • £11.69
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £1.30
    More info
  • Hospital Babylon

    Imogen Edwards-Jones

    Product Code: AETFH
    Paperback
    "Hospital Babylon" is an in-depth, amusing and highly insightful expose of the extraordinary world of modern medicine. It will take the reader on a journey through the various departments and wards where babies are made, thighs are reduced, noses straightened and spare kidneys are flown in from the Indian subcontinent. We will meet doctors who sleep with nurses; doctors who sleep with patients; doctors who fiddle their insurance forms; doctors who suck fat, pump up breasts, plump lips and lengthen penises; the doctor who specialises in flatulence; the doctor who shoots up before he operates; doctor Feelgood who will give you anything and everything you need; as well as, the doctor who makes a fortune doing buttock enlargements in the Caribbean. En route, we will discover what touches them, what amuses them and quite how obsessively insane you have to be to make it to the top. Why does a private room cost over GBP1000 a night? Who are the people changing your bedpan? Holding your hand as you go to sleep? What do they do to you while you're out cold? Why are drugs so expensive? How easy is it for the pharmaceutical companies to grease the good doctor's palm? Who exactly is profiting from your illness, embarrassing affliction or brand new nose? And, of course, what happens when it all goes wrong? Packed with true stories, anecdotes and revelations, "Hospital Babylon" is a riveting, entertaining and shocking look at 24 hours in the life of a hospital. Both amusing and appalling, it will make you question whether you should sign that consent form after all...
    • £10.39
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £2.60
    More info