J D Davies Books & Bio. Cheap Books by J D Davies. Book People

J.D. Davies

J.D. Davies is a historian who writes fiction and non-fiction about naval history. Born on 1 April, 1957 in Llanelli, Carmathenshire - an active port for centuries - he is best known for writing the Matthew Quinton novels.

After a few years working as a teacher specialising in history and politics, J.D. Davies decided to head back to Jesus College, Oxford to study naval history during the Restoration period. He now lives in Bedfordshire with his partner.



J.D. Davies Books

  • J.D. Davies Quinton Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781908699954 - J.D. Davies
    QSER
    (1)
    • £3.89
    • RRP £24.97
    • Save £21.08Save 84.00000000000000682121026329696178436279296875%
    • Just £1.30 per book
    Set in the 17th century, J.D. Davies' Quinton series finds England in an unsettled period of transition. Cromwell is dead and England's king has been restored... yet rumours of treason in the Scottish Isles abound - enter Matthew Quinton, an inexperienced but loyal 22-year-old sea captain.

    Hailing from a family of staunch loyalists, Quinton's first command was lost at sea and he only barely survived. This time around, he is determined to complete his mission with no losses. Vital to this mission is young mariner Kit Farrell, who has promised to teach him how to master the sea in return for Quinton teaching him how to read and write. But the duo face many obstacles as they embark, not least a resentful Cornish crew, a suspicion of murder and a feeling that treason may be closer to home than anyone thought...

    Written by a respected historian, this is a swashbuckling adventure series for fans of Conn Iggulden, Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester.

    This collection contains books 1 to 3 in J.D. Davies' Quinton series.