J D Davies Books & Bio. Cheap Books by J D Davies. Book People

J.D. Davies

J.D. Davies is a historian who writes fiction and non-fiction about naval history. Born on 1 April, 1957 in Llanelli, Carmathenshire - an active port for centuries - he is best known for writing the Matthew Quinton novels.

After a few years working as a teacher specialising in history and politics, J.D. Davies decided to head back to Jesus College, Oxford to study naval history during the Restoration period. He now lives in Bedfordshire with his partner.



J.D. Davies Books

  • J.D. Davies Quinton Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781908699954 - J.D. Davies
    QSER
    J.D. Davies
    (1)
    • £3.99
    • RRP £24.97
    • Save £20.98
    • Just £1.33 per book
    Set in the 17th century, J.D. Davies' Quinton series finds England in an unsettled period of transition. Cromwell is dead and England's king has been restored... yet rumours of treason in the Scottish Isles abound - enter Matthew Quinton, an inexperienced but loyal 22-year-old sea captain.

    Hailing from a family of staunch loyalists, Quinton's first command was lost at sea and he only barely survived. This time around, he is determined to complete his mission with no losses. Vital to this mission is young mariner Kit Farrell, who has promised to teach him how to master the sea in return for Quinton teaching him how to read and write. But the duo face many obstacles as they embark, not least a resentful Cornish crew, a suspicion of murder and a feeling that treason may be closer to home than anyone thought...

    Written by a respected historian, this is a swashbuckling adventure series for fans of Conn Iggulden, Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester.

    This collection contains books 1 to 3 in J.D. Davies' Quinton series.

  • AGXWA
    J. D. Davies
    • £15.19
    • RRP £18.99
    • Save £3.80
    Wales has a long coastline, and nowhere is more than about forty miles from the sea or a navigable river. From the earliest times, Welshmen have used the sea and the sea has shaped the history of the country. Seapower was arguably one of the most decisive factors in ending the nation's independence. The Welsh contribution to piracy has long been recognised, and "Britannia's Dragon" will present much new and sometimes surprising evidence, such as the fact that relative to the populations of the retrospective countries, proportionately more Welshmen fought at Trafalgar than Scots, Irishmen or even Englishmen. The book will also examine the invaluable contribution made by Welsh industry - especially coal and copper - to naval history, and will also consider such themes as shipbuilding and shipwrecks.