User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by James MacManus

  • James MacManus Collection - 3 Books

    James MacManus

    Product Code: JMCM
    Collection
    Hand-picked favourites
    Can love overcome the threat of war?

    It's Berlin in 1938 and newly appointed military attache Noel Macrae and his extrovert wife Primrose have arrived at the British Embassy. Prime Minister Chamberlain is intent on placating Nazi Germany, but Macrae is less so...

    Convinced that Hitler can be stopped by means other than appeasement, he soon finds that he is not the only dissenting voice in the Embassy, and discovers senior officers in the German military are prepared to turn against the Fuhrer...

    From the beginnings of the Second World War to a dangerous affair set against the fiery nights of the Blitz and a vivid reimagining of General Eisenhower and Kay Summersby's love affair, James MacManus' gripping and atmospheric thrillers are inspired by real-life people and events that changed the course of history.

    For fans of authors like David Downing, Alan Furst, John Le Carre
    • £3.00
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £23.97
    Just £1.00 per book
    More info
  • Ike and Kay

    James MacManus

    Product Code: BYARL
    Paperback
    From the fogbound streets of London reeling from the Blitz, acclaimed author James MacManus, conjures a compelling historical novel based on the true story of the secret love affair at the heart of the Second World War. It is 1942, and war-battered London plays host to the imposing figure of General Ike Eisenhower on a vital mission for the US army. Kay Summersby, an ambulance driver who survived the horrors of the Blitz, is chosen to be his aide, a role that will change her life forever. Charmed by Ike's affable and disarming nature so different from the stiffness of British military convention she accompanies him during the North African campaign against Rommel and the war in Europe against Nazi Germany. Amid the carnage a secret affair unfolds between the General and Kay but rumours of Ike's infidelity reach across the ocean to Washington - and worse yet, to his wife. In a time where scandal and war threaten to break them apart, can Ike and Kay hold on to their love? Ike and Kay is a thrilling tale of wartime romance, brimming with love, duty, sacrifice and heartbreak, set against the backdrop of the most tumultuous period of the twentieth century.
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • Ike and Kay

    James MacManus

    Product Code: BMJSC
    Hardback
    Highly acclaimed author and managing director of The Times Literary Supplement, James MacManus, creates a compelling historical novel that brings to life an unbelievable but true love story set during the Second World War. In 1942, Cork-born Kay Summersby's life is changed forever when she is tasked with driving General Eisenhower on his fact-finding visit to wartime London. Despite Eisenhower's marriage to Mamie, the pair takes an immediate liking to one another and he gifts Kay a rare wartime luxury: a box of chocolates. So begins a tumultuous relationship that against all military regulation sees Kay travelling with Eisenhower on missions to far flung places before the final assault on Nazi Germany. She becomes known as "Ike's shadow" and in letters Mamie bemoans his new obsession with `Ireland'. That does not stop him from using his influence to grant Kay US citizenship and rank in the US army, drawing her closer when he returns to America. When the US authorities discover Eisenhower's plans to divorce from his wife they threaten the fragile but passionate affair and Kay is forced to take desperate measures to hold onto the man she loves...
    • £13.59
    • RRP £16.99
    • Save £3.40
    More info
  • Sleep in Peace Tonight

    James MacManus

    Product Code: AQSKG
    Paperback
    It is January 1941, and the Blitz is devastating England. Food supplies are low and tube stations have become bomb shelters. As the U.S. maintains its sceptical isolationist position, Winston Churchill knows that Britain is doomed without the aid of its powerful ally. As bombs rain down over London a weary Harry Hopkins, President Roosevelt's most trusted advisor, is sent to London as his emissary and comes face to face with the Prime Minister himself and an attractive and determined young female driver who may not be what she seems. In Sleep in Peace Tonight, a tale of loyalty, love, and the sacrifices made in the name of each, James MacManus conjures to life not only Blitz-era London and the behind the scenes at the White House, but also the poignant lives of personalities that shaped the course of history during Britain's darkest hour.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info