Books by James Runcie

  • TRTG

    The Road to Grantchester (Hardback)

    James Runcie

    (2) Hand-picked favourites
    This touching novel is the captivating prequel to James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries series, which has been adapted into ITV's prime-time show starring James Norton and Robson Green.

    Fans of William Boyd and Sebastian Faulks will enjoy this surprising origin story that follows the life, loves and losses of 18-year-old Sidney Chambers in post-war London. After gaining a Military Cross and losing his best friend on the battlefields of Italy, Sidney's carefree youth has been blown apart and he must now decide what to do with the rest of his life.

    But he has heard a call: constant, quiet and growing ever more persistent. Despite the incredulity of his family and the derision of his friends, Sidney must negotiate his path to God - the course of which never runs smooth...

    Why should you buy this book? It's the first full-length novel in the popular series of short stories. It reveals how Sidney found God and will delight fans of the adaptation, too!
    • £5.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £9.00
    More info
  • BOJFZ

    Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester which stars James Norton as Sidney Chambers. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton. It is May 1971 and the Cambridgeshire countryside is bursting into summer. Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador Byron when they stumble upon a body. Plunged into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker. This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths beneath the tranquil surface of the diocese: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; the authentication of a lost masterpiece proves a slippery business; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing. Endeavouring to fit in his clerical duties around sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, a progressive new secretary, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • AZPIF

    Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love (Hardback)

    James Runcie

    The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester which stars James Norton as Sidney Chambers. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton. It is May 1971 and the Cambridgeshire countryside is bursting into summer. Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador Byron when they stumble upon a body. Plunged into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker. This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths beneath the tranquil surface of the diocese: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; the authentication of a lost masterpiece proves a slippery business; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing. Endeavouring to fit in his clerical duties around sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, a progressive new secretary, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.
    • £14.99
    More info
  • AWXWQ

    Sidney Chambers and the Dangers of Temptation (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    The eagerly anticipated fifth instalment in The Grantchester Mysteries series, now a major ITV drama Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is beginning to think that the life of a full-time priest (and part-time detective) is not easy. So when a bewitching divorcee in a mink coat interrupts Sidney's family lunch asking him to help locate her missing son, he hopes it will be an open and shut case. The last thing he expects is to be dragged into the mysterious workings of a sinister cult, or to find himself tangled up in another murder investigation. But, as always, the village of Grantchester is not as peaceful as it seems...From the theft of an heirloom to an ominous case of blackmail, Sidney is once again rushed off his feet in this eagerly anticipated fifth instalment in The Grantchester Mysteries series.
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • ASMUN

    Sidney Chambers and the Forgiveness of Sins (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    Loveable full-time priest and part-time detective Canon Sidney Chambers is back, continuing his investigations. A mysterious stranger seeks sanctuary in Grantchester's church; a shooting weekend in the country has a sinister end; a friend receives poison pen letters; a piano falls on a musician's head; a school cricket match has an explosive finish; and on a holiday in Italy, Sidney is accused of stealing a priceless painting. On the home front, his new curate has become irritatingly popular with the parish and his daughter is starting to walk and talk.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • ANHOX

    Sidney Chambers and the Problem of Evil (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    It is the 1960s and Canon Sidney Chambers is enjoying his first year of married life with his German bride Hildegard. But life in Grantchester rarely stays quiet for long. Our favourite clerical detective soon attempts to stop a serial killer who has a grievance against the clergy; investigates the disappearance of a famous painting after a distracting display of nudity by a French girl in an art gallery; uncovers the fact that an 'accidental' drowning on a film shoot may not have been so accidental after all; and discovers the reasons behind the theft of a baby from a hospital in the run-up to Christmas, 1963. In the meantime, Sidney wrestles with the problem of evil, attempts to fulfil the demands of Dickens, his faithful Labrador, and contemplates, as always, the nature of love. The third in 'The Grantchester Mysteries' series - six detective novels spanning thirty years of British history - these four longer stories are guaranteed to delight the many fans of Canon Sidney Chambers.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info
  • ALCBX

    Sidney Chambers and the Perils of the Night (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    Grantchester is scheduled to be a major, prime-time six-part series for ITV in autumn 2014 1955. Canon Sidney Chambers, loveable priest and part-time detective, is back. Accompanied by his faithful Labrador, Dickens, and the increasingly exasperated Inspector Geordie Keating, Sidney is called to investigate the unexpected fall of a Cambridge don from the roof of King's College Chapel, a case of arson at a glamour photographer's studio and the poisoning of Zafar Ali, Grantchester's finest spin bowler. Alongside his sleuthing, Sidney has other problems. Can he decide between his dear friend, the glamorous socialite Amanda Kendall and Hildegard Staunton, the beguiling German widow? To make up his mind Sidney takes a trip abroad, only to find himself trapped in a web of international espionage just as the Berlin Wall is going up.
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info
  • ALCBC

    Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    Published to coincide with a primetime six-part ITV series, Grantchester Sidney Chambers, the Vicar of Grantchester, is a thirty-two year old bachelor. Sidney is an unconventional clergyman and can go where the police cannot. Together with his roguish friend Inspector Geordie Keating, Sidney inquires into the suspect suicide of a Cambridge solicitor, a scandalous jewellery theft at a New Year's Eve dinner party, the unexplained death of a well-known jazz promoter and a shocking art forgery, the disclosure of which puts a close friend in danger. Sidney discovers that being a detective, like being a clergyman, means that you are never off duty...Sidney Chambers will be played by James Norton (Death Comes to Pemberley), and Robson Green (Reckless) will take on the role of Geordie Keating. Other cast members include Morven Christie (Twenty Twelve) as the beautiful heiress Amanda Kendall, while Tessa Peake-Jones (Only Fools and Horses) will play Sidney's housekeeper, and Kacey Ainsworth (Eastenders) is to join them as Geordie's wife.
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • AJXUF

    Sidney Chambers and the Perils of the Night (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    1955. Canon Sidney Chambers, loveable priest and part-time detective, is back. Accompanied by his faithful Labrador, Dickens, and the increasingly exasperated Inspector Geordie Keating, Sidney is called to investigate the unexpected fall of a Cambridge don from the roof of King's College Chapel, a case of arson at a glamour photographer's studio and the poisoning of Zafar Ali, Grantchester's finest spin bowler. Alongside his sleuthing, Sidney has other problems. Can he decide between his dear friend, the glamorous socialite Amanda Kendall and Hildegard Staunton, the beguiling German widow? To make up his mind Sidney takes a trip abroad, only to find himself trapped in a web of international espionage just as the Berlin Wall is going up.
    • £8.39
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.60
    More info
  • AGPLZ

    Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death (Paperback)

    James Runcie

    Sidney Chambers, the Vicar of Grantchester, is a thirty-two year old bachelor. Sidney is an unconventional clergyman and can go where the police cannot. Together with his roguish friend Inspector Geordie Keating, Sidney inquires into the suspect suicide of a Cambridge solicitor, a scandalous jewellery theft at a New Year's Eve dinner party, the unexplained death of a well-known jazz promoter and a shocking art forgery, the disclosure of which puts a close friend in danger. Sidney discovers that being a detective, like being a clergyman, means that you are never off duty...
    • £7.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info