Janet Ellis Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Janet Ellis. Book People

Janet Ellis

Former Blue Peter presenter and actress Janet Ellis was born on 16 September, 1955 and published her debut novel, the critically acclaimed The Butcher's Hook, in 2016.

Janet was a presenter of Blue Peter from 1979 to 1987 and is the mother of Sophie Ellis-Bextor. She was born in Chatham, Kent and worked on many children's shows and did voiceover work before attending a writing course in 2014. She then submitted The Butcher's Hook to various publishers under a pseudonym.



Janet Ellis Books

  • BHOK
    • £4.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £10.00Save 65.9999999999999982946974341757595539093017578125%
    The Butcher's Hook is the debut novel from former Blue Peter presenter Janet Ellis. Submitted to publishers anonymously after graduating from the Curtis Brown creative writing school, it's set in Georgian London and tells the story of 19-year-old Anne Jaccob - the daughter of a well-to-do family who decides to swerve her arranged marriage in favour of finding her own happiness.

    When Anne meets butcher's apprentice Fub, she begins to imagine a life of passion with him... but her parents have found someone who they deem to be far more suitable for her. Fiercely independent and idiosyncratic, she makes the decision to follow her own dreams - even if that means getting some blood on her hands.

    An atmospheric and riveting story that has plenty of dark and twisted turns, this is a page-turning novel that will appeal to fans of The Miniaturist and We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves.
  • AVHGG
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30Save 3.00%
    'KNOWS HOW TO KEEP HER AUDIENCE HOOKED' The Times 'A MASTERFUL STORYTELLER' Clare Mackintosh 'DARK, WEIRD AND GLORIOUSLY FEMINIST' Elle Georgian London, in the summer of 1763. At nineteen, Anne Jaccob, the elder daughter of well-to-do parents, meets Fub the butcher's apprentice and is awakened to the possibilities of joy and passion. Anne lives a sheltered life: her home is a miserable place and her parents have already chosen a more suitable husband for her than Fub. But Anne is an unusual young woman and is determined to pursue her own happiness in her own way...even if that means getting a little blood on her hands. 'A SHARP EYE AND A SHARPER WIT' Guardian 'A SPIRITED, DARK DEBUT' Woman & Home 'STRANGE, DARK AND UTTERLY MESMERIC' Hannah Kent