User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Jonathan Harvey

  • Sale

    Jonathan Harvey Collection - 3 Books

    Jonathan Harvey

    Product Code: JONH
    Collection
    Hand-picked favourites
    All She Wants author Jonathan Harvey writes intelligent contemporary novels that will make you laugh and cry in equal measure. This collection contains three powerful page-turners.

    The Secrets We Keep finds a woman's perfect life being turned inside out when her husband leaves for a pint of milk and never comes back; The Girl Who Just Disappeared follows Holly Smith as she tries to uncover the secrets of her past; and The History of Us reveals what happens in the past doesn't always stay in the past over the course of a 30-year friendship.

    For fans of authors like JoJo Moyes, Liane Moriarty, Marian Keyes.
    Format: paperback
    • £3.00
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £20.97
    Just £1.00 per book
    More info
  • Songs and Haiku

    Jonathan Harvey

    Product Code: CCGKV
    Other
    Songs and Haiku is a previously unreleased collection of songs for mezzo-soprano and piano, published to mark what would have been Jonathan Harvey's 80th birthday in 2019. Two haiku (the first for piano alone - the only piece here to have been published before - the latter by Basho) bookend three love songs dedicated to Harvey's wife Rosa. The grouping of the pieces into a 8-minute cycle was the composer's own idea, and it mixes Eastern and Western poets in a totally characteristic manner. Both Tagore and E. E. Cummings are represented, poets who feature in some of Harvey's finest works (Song Offerings and Forms of Emptiness, respectively), and a third song sets Tennyson's 'Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal'.
    • £11.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £3.00
    More info
  • Speakings

    Jonathan Harvey

    Product Code: CCDRL
    Other
    Speakings for large orchestra and electronics is undoubtably one of Jonathan Harvey's most important and ambitious works. Composed in 2008, it utilises a unique process of electronic transformation developed at IRCAM to explore the possibility that an orchestra could be made to 'speak'. Winner of the prestigious Monaco Prize, the 25-minute work belongs to a fascinating clutch of works composed around the time of Harvey's final opera, Wagner Dream, which contain musical allusions to Wagner, in this case Parsifal. Unfolding over three continuous movements, the music moves from the babbling of a baby and the frenetic chatter of human life in all its expressions, to music of unity, a hymn which is close to Gregorian chant in which, in Harvey's words 'the paradise of the sounding temple is imagined'. Typeset, and with input from Gilbert Nouno who collaborated with Harvey on the electronic element, this long-awaited new edition makes this stunning piece even more accessible to conductors and enthusiasts.
    • £31.99
    • RRP £39.99
    • Save £8.00
    More info
  • The Years She Stole

    Jonathan Harvey

    Product Code: BMJGF
    Paperback
    2017Pregnant Rachel Taylor is enjoying a holiday in Morocco when she gets the phone call to say her mother hasn't got much time left to live. With a head of mixed emotions she returns to the village where she grew up to say her last goodbyes. It's true to say their relationship had often been strained and Rachel had never quite understood why. When clearing out her mother's things she thinks she finds an answer, and her world is changed forever.1978Shirley Burke is on a family holiday at Butlin's when she first sets eyes on Doug, a man considerably older than herself. When his daughter goes missing one night, Shirley's the one who finds her and returns her to him. When his gratitude turns into something else, Shirley realizes this is her time to shine. But Doug is married, and her young life is about to get very complicated.Rachel and Shirley. Two women from different decades in Jonathan Harvey's The Years She Stole. Somehow their lives are entwined and neither can know the impact one woman will have on the other until it's way too late . . .
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • The Confusion of Karen Carpenter

    Jonathan Harvey

    Product Code: AHLYA
    Paperback
    Hello. There are two things you should know about me: 1) My name is Karen Carpenter. 2) Just before Christmas my boyfriend left me. I'm not THE Karen Carpenter. I just have the most embarrassing name in Christendom. Particularly as I'm no skinny minny and don't play the drums. I can't even sing. I'm tone deaf. I work in a school in the East End. (Where I came third in a 'Teacher we'd most like to sleep with' competition amongst the Year 11 boys) My Mum's driving me mad. She's come to stay and is obsessed with Scandi crime shows and Zumba. Oh yeah. The boyfriend. After eleven 'happy' years he left me. No explanation just a post it on the kettle when I got in from work. I think I'm handling it really well. I don't think I'm confused at all. What was my name again?
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info