Books by Louise Candlish

  • Price Drop
    LCAN

    Louise Candlish Collection - 3 Books (Collection)

    Louise Candlish

    Hand-picked favourites
    Our House author Louise Candlish writes gripping contemporary novels packed with twists and turns that will have you reading long into the night.

    The Disappearance of Emily Marr finds the title character finding herself at the centre of a media witch hunt when her affair with a married neighbour is made public; Other People's Secrets follows Ginny and Adam Trustlove as they head to Italy on holiday despite being torn apart by personal tragedy; and The Second Husband finds a new neighbour making Kate Easton and her two children's lives hell...

    Three expertly crafted tales of scandal, obsession and adultery that you won't want to put down.

    For fans of authors like: Clare Mackintosh, S.J. Watson, Maria Semple
    Format: paperback
    • £5.99
    • RRP £26.97
    • Save £20.98
    • Just £2.00 per book
    More info
  • ANJIG

    The Sudden Departure of the Frasers (Paperback)

    Louise Candlish

    My name is Amber Fraser. I've just moved in at Number 40, Lime Park Road. You'll come to think of me as a loving wife, a thoughtful neighbour and a trusted friend. This is a lie. When Christy and Joe Davenport are handed the keys to Number 40 on picture-perfect Lime Park Road, Christy knows it should be a dream come true. How strange though that the house was on the market for such a low price. That the previous owners, the Frasers, had renovated the entire property yet moved out within a year. That none of the neighbours will talk to Christy. As her curiosity begins to give way to obsession, Christy finds herself drawn deeper into the mystery of the house's previous occupants - and the dark and shocking secret that tore the street apart...Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jane Shemilt, The Sudden Departure of the Frasers is a Rear Window for modern times. Praise for Louise Candlish: "A master of her craft." (Rosamund Lupton). "Louise Candlish's stories don't shy away from life's more painful and emotional moments." (Glamour). "I loved this book. Full of complicated yet sympathetic characters and riven with the kind of dilemmas that characterise real lives. I honestly didn't see the twist coming. Perfect." (Jojo Moyes on The Day You Saved my Life). "Tense, twisty and completely addictive, will keep you guessing right until the end..." (Good Housekeeping). "Absorbing, perceptive and gripping." (Daily Mail). Louise Candlish studied English at University College London and worked as an editor in art publishing and as a copywriter before writing fiction. Though her stories are about people facing dramatic dilemmas, she tries to live an uncomplicated life in London with her husband and daughter.
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.10
    More info
  • BXWTU

    Those People (Hardback)

    Louise Candlish

    FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF OUR HOUSE, SHORTLISTED FOR A BRITISH BOOK AWARD 'Prepare to be gripped; Those People is nail-bitingly tense from the first page to the last. Louise Candlish shows us the dark side of suburbia - and of ourselves' Erin Kelly `Sharp satire and a plot that builds to a roiling boil with a couple of oh-so-clever final twists in close succession: Louise Candlish is one very clever writer' Sarah Vaughan You don't like them. They're not like you. Are you one of Those People? Until Darren and Jodie move in, Lowland Way is a suburban paradise. Beautiful homes. Friendly neighbours. Kids playing out in the street. But Darren and Jodie don't follow the rules and soon disputes over loud music and parking rights escalate to threats of violence. Then, early one Sunday, a horrific crime shocks the street. As the police go house-to-house, the residents close ranks and everyone's story is the same: They did it. But there's a problem. The police don't agree. And the door they're knocking on next is yours. Praise for Louise Candlish: `Addictive, twisty and oh so terrifyingly possible' Clare Mackintosh, author of I See You `Masterfully plotted, compulsive page-turner' Laura Wilson, Guardian `Louise Candlish is a great writer; she inhaled me into her nightmarish world where everything we think we know is ripped from under our feet' Fiona Barton, author of The Widow and The Child `Such a smart idea. Twisty, warped, credible. Brilliantly plotted and compelling. Deserves to be such a hit' Sarah Vaughan, author of Anatomy of a Scandal
    • £10.39
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £2.60
    More info
  • BRVHY

    Our House (Paperback)

    Louise Candlish

    From the internationally acclaimed author, Louise Candlish. This disturbing yet addictive story would be enjoyed by fans of Jane Shemilt and Tammy Cohen.

    It's a bright morning in January and a family moves into a house in Trinity Avenue in the London Suburbs. But that house isn't for sale. And it belongs to someone else.

    Fiona Lawson sees strangers moving into her house and she is sure there must've been a mistake. She and her husband, Bram, had no intention of selling the house.

    When Bram and their children disappear, Fiona is left to deal with events spiraling out of control. She soon discovers the web of lies that her husband has created and how little they really know each other. But he isn't the only one hiding things...Some secrets are best kept to yourself.
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • BOHQB

    Our House (Hardback)

    Louise Candlish

    On a bright morning in the London suburbs, a family moves into the house they've just bought on Trinity Avenue. Nothing strange about that. Except it's your house. And you didn't sell it. 'If 2018 brings a better book than Our House I will eat my hat. Addictive, twisty and oh so terrifyingly possible' Clare Mackintosh, author of I See You `I raced through it this weekend. Such a smart idea. Twisty, warped, credible. Brilliantly plotted and compelling. Deserves to be such a hit' Sarah Vaughan, author of Anatomy of a Scandal `I loved the wonderful hook of Our House, which plays with our modern obsession with property - and the vulnerability that exposes. Louise Candlish is a great writer; she inhaled me into her nightmarish world where everything we think we know is ripped from under our feet' Fiona Barton, author of The Widow and The Child FOR BETTER, FOR WORSE. When Fi Lawson arrives home to find strangers moving into her house, she is plunged into terror and confusion. She and her husband Bram have owned their home on Trinity Avenue for years and have no intention of selling. How can this other family possibly think the house is theirs? And why has Bram disappeared when she needs him most? FOR RICHER, FOR POORER. Bram has made a catastrophic mistake and now he is paying. Unable to see his wife, his children or his home, he has nothing left but to settle scores. As the nightmare takes grip, both Bram and Fi try to make sense of the events that led to a devastating crime. What has he hidden from her - and what has she hidden from him? And will either survive the chilling truth - that there are far worse things you can lose than your house? TILL DEATH US DO PART. 'Our House is one of the best books I have ever read ... FACT' Isabelle Broom, author of My Map of You `Gripping and heartbreaking with an undercurrent of unease running through it' Louise Jensen, author of The Gift `Heart-stopping, toe-curling, breath-taking! Half can't bear to read/half can't bear to put it down. It's marvellous - so tautly plotted and don't see the twists coming! Will be a smash hit! Veronica Henry, author of The Forever House `Finished in two days. Absolutely brilliant. It has bestseller written all over it' Kate Furnivall, author of The Betrayal `What a book! Fast, edge-of-your-seat stuff. Each time I set the book down I had to remind myself to breathe' broadbeanbooks 'What a sensational book this is, with a plot that unrolls like clockwork, and simmering tension that never lets up. Betrayal, double-crossing and the most delicious sting in the tail... I couldn't put it down' Lucy Diamond, bestselling author of The House of New Beginnings `A great read - lots of surprises and an excellent ending' Cesca Major, author of The Silent Hours `Jaw-droppingly brilliant' Catherine Isaac, author of You Me Everything `Oh Louise Candlish, you are a genius! Our House is just brilliant. Scarily believable with the BEST ending I have read in a long time. I devoured it!' Claire Frost, Fabulous magazine `A high-stakes domestic thriller that is utterly absorbing. Twists and turns abound, and Our House will have you locking your doors and checking your windows. Candlish delivers a frightening portrait of one woman's worst nightmare. Trust no one!' Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author
    • £11.29
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £1.70
    More info
  • AAAXE

    Other People's Secrets (Paperback)

    Louise Candlish

    Ginny and Adam Trustlove arrive on holiday in Italy torn by personal tragedy. Two weeks in a boathouse is exactly what they need to restore their faith in life and each other. 24 hours later, the silence is broken. The Sale family have arrived at the main villa: wealthy, high-flying Marty, his beautiful wife Bea, and their privileged, confident offspring. It doesn't take long for Ginny and Adam to be drawn in, especially when the teenage Pippi introduces a new friend into the circle. For there is something about Zach that has everyone instantly beguiled, something that loosens old secrets - and creates shocking new ones. And, yet, not one of them suspects that his arrival in their lives might be anything other than accidental. Other People's Secrets is a startling read from Louise Candlish that will keep you guessing.

    • £7.09
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.90
    More info