User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Lyn Andrews

Also known as Lynda M. Andrews, Lyn Andrews was born and raised in Liverpool and many of her stories centre around Merseyside and Ireland. The daughter of a hairdresser and a commercial artist, Lyn’s real father passed away while on active duty on D-Day, 1944 when she was just nine months old. From the age of 3, she was brought up by a policeman who she fondly recalls as her ‘Dad’.

In her career, Lyn Andrews has written 35 original stories and is one of the top 100 bestselling authors in the UK. She was shortlisted for The Romantic Novel of the Year award in 1993. She now resides on the Isle of Man but remains a frequent visitor to Liverpool when visiting family. She has also lived in Ireland for 11 years.


Other authors you may like

Lyn Andrews Books

  • Liverpool Sisters

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: BGNHB
    Paperback
    LIVERPOOL SISTERS is a nostalgic, heart-warming and dramatic Merseyside saga from bestselling author Lyn Andrews - not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale. Liverpool, 1907. Thanks to their father's success, sisters Livvie and Amy Goodwin are moving from their cramped home to a roomier house on the outskirts of Liverpool. But tragedy strikes when their adored mother dies in childbirth. The girls are still grieving when Thomas introduces their new stepmother - a woman just a few years older than Livvie. Thomas has plans for his daughters. He wants Livvie to marry a wealthy neighbour's son - not Frank Hadley, the kind and handsome factory manager she is attracted to. Their relationship is a dangerous enough secret, but Livvie's interest in the Suffragettes could drive Thomas to the edge. For the Goodwin girls, the happy future they once took for granted is far from certain...
    • £7.19
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.80
    More info
  • Heart and Home

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: AULYH
    Paperback
    HEART AND HOME is a poignant saga of shop girls in 1930s Liverpool from Lyn Andrews, the Sunday Times bestselling author of FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE and THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET. Not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn. Cathie Kinrade is all too used to hardship. Growing up on the Isle of Man in the 1930s, she sees her da set sail daily on dangerous seas while her mam struggles to put food on the table. Cathie has little hope for her own future, until a chance encounter changes her fortunes for ever. Fiercely determined, Cathie leaves for Liverpool, a bustling modern city full of possibility. With a lively job as a shop girl in a grand department store, and a firm friend in kind-hearted Julia, Cathie has found her niche. But the discovery of an explosive secret could put everything at risk. And when love comes calling, Cathie's new friends fear that she may be set to trust the wrong man with her heart...
    • £6.89
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info
  • Take These Broken Wings

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ARMVY
    Paperback
    Lyn Andrews' powerful Liverpool saga TAKE THESE BROKEN WINGS is perfect for readers of Dilly Court and Kate Thompson. Since she was six, Hannah Peckham has known how hard the world is. Thrown into the workhouse by the cousin to whom her desperate soldier father entrusted her, she emerges determined to make the most of what life has to offer, however little that might be. But the narrow confines of the workhouse have left Hannah ill-prepared for the hurly-burly of the Liverpool household in which she finds work. Naive and impetuous, when she loses the man she loves she rushes into a violent marriage from which there seems no escape - without terrible consequences...
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • A Wing and a Prayer

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ARMJT
    Paperback
    Lyn Andrews's engaging saga of Liverpool life in the twentieth century, A WING AND A PRAYER, is the perfect read if you love the novels of Kate Thompson and Katie Flynn. For Mary Callaghan marriage has brought heartaches and disappointment. But with it have come joys, the greatest of which are her daughters, Daisy and Nell. Mary longs for them to have the one thing denied to her - a husband who will offer them kindness, security and love. But when Daisy confesses she's pregnant, the future looks grim, for the father's a rough, pleasure-loving man. As Nell watches her sister sink into bitter poverty, and as the world around her grows more uncertain, with war more likely by the day, risking all for love seems to Nell a foolish game...
    • £7.99
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £1.00
    More info
  • Every Mother's Son

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ARMIU
    Paperback
    Lyn Andrew's warm-hearted novel of Liverpool during the Blitz is not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Kate Thompson. Molly and Bernie have been friends forever. As young girls they left Ireland seeking new beginnings in Liverpool. Now they are marrying their sweethearts and looking forward to enjoying the lives they've worked so hard to build. But as the Liverpool Blitz begins, it seems as if their dreams are about to be destroyed. Night after night, horrific bombing tears the city apart. As wives and mothers, both women know that they could face great tragedy. But they also know that their friendship, and their love for their husbands and sons, will give them the strength to find the happiness they deserve...
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • The House on Lonely Street

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ARCGZ
    Paperback
    If you love the novels of Kitty Neale and Donna Douglas, don't miss Lyn Andrews' Sunday Times bestseller THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET. For Katherine Donovan the slums of Dublin are a lonely place. Her father, a pawnbroker, is the most hated man in the district, and Katherine an outcast. Her only friend is tiny Ceppi Healy, underfed, irrepressible and, the youngest in a neglected family of eight, as much an emotional orphan as eighteen-year-old Katherine. Then, one night, the unthinkable happens. Katherine's father is murdered, a victim of local revenge for an act of cruelty even she couldn't have anticipated. Fearing for her life, Katherine flees, taking with her the desperate young Ceppi. Liverpool is her longed-for haven and, with the last of her father's money, she rents a lodging house in a street decimated by the sinking of the Titanic. But, far from finding a refuge for herself and little girl she promised to protect, she realises she has put them into the path of terrible danger...
    • £8.09
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.90
    More info
  • My Sister's Child

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ARCGY
    Paperback
    Lyn Andrews' heart-warming and dramatic story of early twentieth-century Liverpool is essential reading for fans of Kate Thompson and Maureen Lee. For the inhabitants of Liverpool's Milton Street a steady income and a roof over their heads are luxuries. The Ryan family have barely grown accustomed to such things when a fire destroys their father Jack's modest coal haulage business, leaving Jack broken and his family facing ruin. They're forced to turn to Conor, Jack's brother from Ireland, a man whose noisy joviality seventeen-year-old Ellen Ryan suspects hides a mean viciousness. She's right, and with her mother sick and her half-sister Annie becoming increasingly feckless, it's down to Ellen to fight Conor's tyranny. But when Annie disappears, leaving her baby on their doorstep, Ellen begins fear for herself and for the life of the innocent child she has learnt to love...
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • Liverpool Angels

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: AKKBE
    Paperback
    Liverpool Angels
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info
  • Maggie May

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ADEOV
    Paperback
    One of Lyn Andrews' first eight novels, transferring from the original publisher to Headline; already steady sellers, they will be targeted for a huge increase in sales. Maggie May, born into the slums of Liverpool in the 1880s, had many difficulties to cope with - a drunken father, the early death of her gentle mother, and the grinding poverty of their lives. But most of all, she had to endure the shame of her name - that of the city's most notorious prostitute. Taking care of her younger brother and desperately trying to live down her name, Maggie manages to escape from Liverpool to enjoy an idyllic new life. But fate forces her back again and into the arms of a stranger who is to bring her both heartbreak and the greatest happiness she will ever know.
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • Ellan Vannin

    Lyn Andrews

    Product Code: ADEOR
    Paperback
    Life was not easy for widowed George Vannin and his young daughter but somehow George had raised the child alone and Ellan adored her father. She was ten when the shaft at Foxdale Mine collapsed, and her father never came up. From then on she lived with Aunt Maud, a dour woman with a quick temper. Her husband had died in a mining accident too, and she never forgave the family at the Big House for their part in the tragedy. When Ellan was offered a chance to better herself at the Big House, Aunt Maud savagely forbade it. Ellan's chance was yet to come, but it was to be many years before happiness was finally within her grasp.
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info