User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Lynne Truss

  • Price Drop

    The Man That Got Away

    Lynne Truss

    Product Code: MTGA
    Hardback
    (1)
    Hand-picked favourites
    Following A Shot in the Dark, The Man That Got Away is the second book in Lynne Truss' wonderfully quirky Constable Twitten mystery series.

    This book finds Constable Twitten, Inspector Steine and Sergeant Brunswick investigating the murder of a hapless romantic; an aristocratic con man on the prowl; and a dodgy Brighton nightspot...

    It's a glorious summer on the south coast and the Brighton Belles will answer ANY holidaymaker's query - from the number of pebbles on the beach to what exactly happened to the young man lying in the deckchair with blood dripping from him?
    Could this murder be linked to a notorious nightspot and the family that runs it? Set in the 1950s and packed with witty dialogue and unexpected twists, we'd recommend this page-turner for fans of Ann Granger and Suzette A. Hill.
    • £4.99
    • £3.99 £4.99
    • RRP £12.99
    • Save £9.00
    (1) More info
  • A Shot in the Dark

    Lynne Truss

    Product Code: BYJFL
    Paperback
    The charming first novel in a new comic crime series, from one of Britain's most-loved writers, the incomparable Lynne Truss 'More Marx Brothers than Agatha Christie, this is crime fiction turned on its head - a giddy spell of sheer delight' Daily Mail Brighton, 1957. Inspector Steine rather enjoys his life as a policeman by the sea. No criminals, no crime, no stress. So it's really rather annoying when an ambitious - not to mention irritating - new constable shows up to work and starts investigating a series of burglaries. And it's even more annoying when, after Constable Twitten is despatched to the theatre for the night, he sits next to a vicious theatre critic who is promptly shot dead part way through the opening night of a new play. It seems Brighton may be in need of a police force after all...
    • £8.69
    • RRP £8.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info
  • Talk to the Hand

    Lynne Truss

    Product Code: ADDKQ
    Paperback
    A battle-cry for civilised behaviour from the author of the multi-million selling Eats, Shoots and Leaves. "Talk to the hand 'cause the face ain't listening," the saying goes. When did the world get to be so rude? When did society become so inconsiderate? It's a topic that has been simmering for years, and Lynne Truss says that it has now reached boiling point. Taking on the boorish behaviour that has become a point of pride for some, Talk to the Hand is a rallying cry for courtesy. Like Eats, Shoots and Leaves, Talk to the Hand is a spirited conversation, not a stuffy guidebook. It is not about forks, for a start. Why hasn't your nephew ever thanked you for that perfect Christmas present? What makes your builder think he can treat you like dirt in your own home? When you phone a utility with a complaint (and have negotiated the switchboard), why can't you ever speak to a person who is authorised to apologise? What accounts for the appalling treatment you receive in shops? Most important, what will it take to roll back a culture that applauds rudeness and finds it so amusing? For anyone who's fed up with the brutality inflicted by modern manners (and is naturally too scared to confront the actual yobs), Talk to the Hand is a colourful call to arms from the wittiest defender of the civilised world.
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • Tennyson & His Circle

    Lynne Truss

    Product Code: AJJBO
    Paperback
    Tennyson and His Circle by Lynne Truss. Tennysons ascendency as England's foremost poet coincided with one of the most significant inventions of the nineteenth century: photography. As Poet Laureate, Tennyson and those who moved in his circle became targets for the photographers lens. The resulting portraits by such pioneering spirits as Julia Margaret Cameron, offer a fascinating insight into an age when England felt itself to be the envy of the world. Lynne Truss' insightful and often amusing text captures the spirit of the age through images of the famous, and provides a glimpse into the lives of a group of people crossing the threshold into the modern world.
    • £9.89
    • RRP £9.99
    More info
  • A Certain Age

    Lynne Truss

    Product Code: AEIXZ
    Paperback
    From the bestselling author of 'Eats Shoots & Leaves', a wonderfully funny collection of twelve monologues. In the tradition of Alan Bennett's 'Talking Heads' come Lynne Truss's twelve bittersweet tales about love, romance, friendship and family. Her six men and six women each have very different stories to tell, ranging from the wife who feels better when her husband disappears to the pedant who undergoes a TV makeover and the swimmer who can't escape the shadow of her sister!but all are funny, touching and as beautifully observed as would be expected from the bestselling author. Whether describing fathers and daughters, married men, cat-lovers or 'other women', she is always brilliantly perceptive.
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info
  • Eats, Shoots and Leaves

    Lynne Truss

    Product Code: AABZD
    Paperback
    'If Lynne Truss were Roman Catholic I'd nominate her for sainthood.' Frank McCourt The international bestseller, reissued and with a new introduction. A witty, entertaining, impassioned guide to perfect punctuation, for everyone who cares about precise writing. When social histories come to be written of the first decade of the 21st century, people will note a turning point in 2003 when declining standards of punctuation were reversed. Linguists will record Lynne Truss as the saviour of the semi-colon and the avenging angel of the apostrophe. 'This book will stimulate and satisfy. It's worth its weight in gold.' Boyd Tonkin, Independent 'A witty, elegant and passionate book that should be on every writer's shelf.' Observer 'Lynne Truss deserves to be piled high with honours.' John Humphrys 'It can only be a matter of time before the new government seizes the chance to appoint her as minister for punctuation. The manifesto is already written.' Guardian 'She's a soul sister. She's one of us.' Richard Madeley
    • £8.89
    • RRP £8.99
    More info