Rachel Hore Books & Bio. Cheap Books by Rachel Hore. Book People

Rachel Hore

Rachel Hore worked in publishing for many years before giving up her job in 2001 to focus on writing what would eventually become her debut novel, The Dream House. She grew up in Hong Kong and used to love receiving parcels full of books from British relatives. After a childhood of reading, she went on to study history at university before becoming an editor at a publishing company.

Rachel didn't start writing until after her three children were born. Similar in style to Jojo Moyes, among her bestselling books are A Place of Secrets, The Memory Garden and The House on Bellevue Gardens. She now lives in Norwich and also teaches publishing and creative writing at the University of East Anglia



Rachel Hore Books

  • Rachel Hore Collection - 3 Books - Collection - 9781471166334 - Rachel Hore
    LHOR
    Rachel Hore
    • £5.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £17.98
    • Just £2.00 per book
    Rachel Hore is a bestselling author whose books will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop. This collection brings together three sweeping stories full of secrets, heartbreak and everlasting love.

    A Gathering Storm follows recently bereaved photographer Lucy Cardwell as she learns about an uncle she never knew. Intrigued, she visit her late father's childhood home and meets an old lady called Beatrice who has an extraordinary story to tell: it's one that harks back to the war and unveils a huge secret that changes everything she has ever known.

    A Place of Secrets finds Jude waking up from the same dream once again. She's a successful auctioneer but she's struggling to come to terms with the death of her husband. She's asked to value a collection of scientific instruments and manuscripts that once belonged to a lonely 18th century astronomer, but she soon realises there are links to the present in all these articles.

    The Memory Garden will transport you to Cornwall; a place where Mel Pentreath is trying to put her life back together after the death of her mother and the ending of a love affair. Mel and her landlord, Patrick Winteron, find some old paintings and as they investigate the identity of the painter, they find themselves drawn into a tale of illicit passion that really resonates.
  • AOWEC
    Rachel Hore
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.10
    In a tiny stained-glass shop hidden in the backstreets of Westminster lies the cracked, sparkling image of an angel. The owners of Minster Glass have also been broken: Fran Morrison's mother died when she was a baby; a painful event never mentioned by her difficult, secretive father Edward. Fran left home to pursue a career in foreign cities, as a classical musician. But now Edward is dangerously ill and it's time to return. Taking her father's place in the shop, she and his craftsman Zac accept a beguiling commission - to restore a shattered glass picture of an exquisite angel belonging to a local church. As they reassemble the dazzling shards of coloured glass, they uncover an extraordinary love story from the Victorian past, sparked by the window's creation. Slowly, Fran begins to see her own reflection in its themes of passion, tragedy and redemption. Fran's journey will lead her on a search for the truth about her mother, through mysteries of past times and the anguish of unrequited love, to reconciliation and renewal. Rachel Hore is also the author of the bestseller A Week in Paris and Richard and Judy Book Club selection A Place of Secrets.
  • The House on Bellevue Gardens - Hardback - 9781471130786 - Rachel Hore
    HOBG
    Rachel Hore
    • £3.49
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £11.50
    When Rosa arrives in London from Poland in a search for her missing brother, she finds herself alone; a shy young man, Rick, is living in limbo as he seeks a place to nourish his creativity; while Stef is running away from her boyfriend, Oliver, and the claustrophobic life she's been living in his opulent flat...

    These three strangers all find refuge at 11 Bellevue Gardens - the shabbiest house of a smart Georgian terrace in North London. Its owner, Leonie, found sanctuary in this house back in the '60s after a brief career as a model and a destructive marriage. Now, she opens the house to others in need.

    However, this house is now under threat itself. Will Leonie be able to rescue the place that saved her?
  • AUOTK
    Rachel Hore
    • £7.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.60
    The stunning new novel from the bestselliing Richard and Judy Book Club author. Bellevue Gardens is a tranquil London square, tucked away behind a busy street. You might pass it without knowing it's there. Here, through the imposing front door of Number 11, is a place of peace, of sanctuary and of secrets. It is home to Leonie; once a model in the sixties, she came to the house to escape a destructive marriage and now, out of gratitude, she opens her house to others in need. Rosa, Stef and Rick are running from their own problems. They have all found their way to Leonie's home, each seeking refuge and searching for a new start. But then Leonie discovers that the house which has provided sanctuary for so many is under threat. Can she rescue the place that saved her all those years ago...? Turn the key to enter Rachel Hore's most compelling novel yet...
  • AANFX
    Rachel Hore
    (1)
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.10

    In Rachel Hore's A Place of Secrets, Jude begins to wonder if dreams can be passed down through families. As a child, she suffered a recurrent nightmare - running through a dark forest, crying for her mother. Now her six year-old niece is having the same dream and Jude is frightened for her. While grieving for her husband, Jude is asked to value a collection of 18th century astronomy instruments and manuscripts in Norfolk. She leaps at the chance to escape London and visit her home county, but once there she discovers threatening links to the present. With the help of local naturalist Euan, she searches for answers in the wild splendour of the Norfolk woods. Can she learn to love again?

  • BMKLF
    Rachel Hore
    • £11.99
    • RRP £14.99
    • Save £3.00
    From the bestselling author of A Week in Paris, and the Richard & Judy Bookclub pick A Place of Secrets, comes a gripping and moving story spanning 70 years, set in Italy and in Norfolk. On holiday with friends, young historian Briony Andrews becomes fascinated with a wartime story of a ruined villa in the hills behind Naples. There is a family connection: her grandfather had been a British soldier during the Italian campaign of 1943 in that very area. Handed a bundle of letters that were found after the war, Briony sets off to trace the fate of their sender, Sarah Bailey. In 1939, Sarah returns with her mother and sister from India, in mourning, to take up residence in the Norfolk village of Westbury. There she forms a firm friendship with Paul Hartmann, a young German who has found sanctuary in the local manor house, Westbury Hall. With the outbreak of war, conflicts of loyalty in Westbury deepen. When, 70 years later, Briony begins to uncover Sarah and Paul's story, she encounters resentments and secrets still tightly guarded. What happened long ago in the villa in the shadow of Vesuvius, she suspects, still has the power to give terrible pain ...Praise for Rachel Hore's novels: `A tour de force. Rachel's Paris is rich, romantic, exotic and mysterious' JUDY FINNIGAN `An elegiac tale of wartime love and secrets' Telegraph `A richly emotional story, suspenseful and romantic, but unflinching in its portrayal of the dreadful reality and legacy of war' Book of the Week, Sunday Mirror 'Pitched perfectly for a holiday read' Guardian 'Engrossing, pleasantly surprising and throughly readable' SANTA MONTEFIORE