User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Books by Susin Nielsen

  • Price Drop

    Susin Nielsen Collection - 3 Books

    Susin Nielsen

    Product Code: NIEL
    Collection 12 years +
    Hand-picked favourites
    Susin Nielsen writes fresh and contemporary teen tales that are warm-hearted and cover tricky subjects with wit and candour. Perfect for fans of Wonder and Annabel Pitcher, these heartfelt stand-alone stories cover themes of families, inclusivity and fitting in.

    My Messed-up Life finds Violet's dad leaving her and her mum for a 'new' and improved family. She's not impressed with her mum's new boyfriend so sets her sights on a man who will be the perfect partner and stepdad: George Clooney.

    We Are All Made of Molecules finds Stewart missing his late mum. His loneliness is even more apparent now he's moved in with the popular Ashley and her mum. Stewart can't quite fit in at school and Ashley can't get used to her awkward new home. And then they both attract the attention of the school hunk, Jared...

    Word Nerd is about a friendless nerd called Ambrose Bukowski and what happens when bullies try to kill him by putting a peanut in his sandwich...
    Format: paperback
    • £5.99
    • £4.99 £5.99
    • RRP £23.97
    • Save £18.98
    Just £1.66 per book
    More info
  • My Messed-Up Life

    Susin Nielsen

    Product Code: BPZGZ
    Paperback
    Violet is not impressed with her TV director dad: he's decided to abandon his family in Vancouver to start over with a new younger wife in LA. To Violet, it's like he's traded his old life for a better one - complete with new and improved children. To make matters worse, her mom has taken up with a dorky new man called Dudley Wiener. Violet decides to take control. She needs a new stepfather who is perfect, charming and will show Dad what he's missing: she needs George Clooney, Hollywood superstar.
    • £7.69
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.30
    More info
  • Optimists Die First

    Susin Nielsen

    Product Code: BMPVZ
    Paperback
    Ever since tragedy struck her family, Petula has learned to see danger everywhere - whether it's crossing the road or eating a poached egg. Petula's determined not to let her guard down, even if this means allowing herself to be ruled by anxiety and grief, and losing her best friend. Then Jacob walks into her therapy group. Strikingly tall and confident, he's survived a different kind of disaster and still come out smiling. At first Petula is repelled by his optimism, yet even she can't deny their chemistry together. But optimism is blind - and so is love. What will happen if Petula gives in to both?
    • £7.29
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £0.70
    More info
  • Word Nerd

    Susin Nielsen

    Product Code: AVGZO
    Paperback
    Ambrose Bukowski is a twelve-year-old with a talent for mismatching his clothes, for saying the wrong thing at the worst possible time, and for words. In short, he's a self-described nerd. Making friends is especially hard because he and his overprotective mother, Irene, have had to move so often. And when bullies at his latest school almost kill him by deliberately slipping a peanut into his sandwich to set off his allergy, it's his mother who has the extreme reaction. From now on, Ambrose has to be home-schooled. Then Ambrose strikes up an unlikely friendship with the landlord's son, Cosmo, an ex-con who's been in prison. They have nothing in common except for Scrabble. But a small deception grows out of control when Ambrose convinces a reluctant Cosmo to take him to a Scrabble club. Could this spell disaster for Ambrose?
    • £6.89
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.10
    More info
  • We are All Made of Molecules

    Susin Nielsen

    Product Code: ASOFD
    Paperback 12 years +
    Meet Stewart. He's geeky, gifted and sees things a bit differently to most people. His mum has died and he misses her all the more now he and Dad have moved in with Ashley and her mum. Meet Ashley. She's popular, cool and sees things very differently to her new family. Her dad has come out and moved out - but not far enough. And now she has to live with a freakazoid step-brother. Stewart can't quite fit in at his new school, and Ashley can't quite get used to her totally awkward home, which is now filled with some rather questionable decor. And things are about to get a whole lot more mixed up when these two very different people attract the attention of school hunk Jared...
    • £6.39
    • RRP £7.99
    • Save £1.60
    More info
  • The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen

    Susin Nielsen

    Product Code: AQWRV
    Paperback
    Thirteen-year-old wrestling fanatic Henry used to have a normal life. Now, his therapist wants him to keep a journal so he can express his feelings about what happened. Henry has moved with his dad to a new city, where nobody knows their name. He lives off a diet of pizza, whilst hiding from the comically overbearing neighbours and avoiding being an obvious target for bullies at his new school. But then he meets Farley and Alberta, social misfits who refuse to let him be alone. And bit by bit, the past begins to come out. Heartbreaking, surprising and laugh-out-loud funny, The Reluctant Journal of Henry K Larsen is about the things that remain after your life has fallen to pieces.
    • £7.89
    • RRP £7.99
    More info