User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <
Black Death at the Golden Gate - 9780393609455

Product Details

  • Product code: BXJPM
  • ISBN: 9780393609455
  • Publisher: WW Norton & Co
  • Format: Hardback
  • Dimensions: 16.7cm x 24.3cm
  • Pages: 304
  • Publish date: 28/05/2019

Black Death at the Golden Gate (Hardback)

Black Death at the Golden Gate - 9780393609455

David K. Randall


  • Our price £18.99
Quantity

Add to wish list
The death of a Chinese immigrant, Wong Chut King, in San Francisco in 1900 would have been unremarkable if a swollen black lymph node-a sign of bubonic plague-hadn't been noticed on his groin. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials quarantined Chinatown. If the disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicentre of an outbreak that had claimed ten million lives worldwide. To local press, railway barons and officials, such a possibility was inconceivable-or inconvenient. As they proceeded to obscure the threat, it fell to health official Rupert Blue to save the city and America from a gruesome fate. In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, best-selling author David K. Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue's race to understand the disease and contain its spread.

Share Black Death at the Golden Gate on Pinterest

Product Details

  • Product code: BXJPM
  • ISBN: 9780393609455
  • Publisher: WW Norton & Co
  • Format: Hardback
  • Dimensions: 16.7cm x 24.3cm
  • Pages: 304
  • Publish date: 28/05/2019

Reviews

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?

Rate & Review
  • Our price £18.99
Quantity